We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel in Memphis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Memphis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Great hotel, we were upgraded due to only being able to stay on one of our booked nights and having to forfeit one full night which was a shame. We stayed in a suite room which was a great size with separate lounge to the bedroom. Ate in restaurant for dinner and I have read some other reviews about the staff being slow, we found the service to be very fast, our waitress in particular was fantastic she even helped us out with some travel tips and the chef came out a few times to check on people also which was a nice touch. The food was amazing.. The expensive steak they have believe me is worth every penny it was probably the best steak I have ever had! And their signature Oreo dessert is to die for! Only real negative was the $10.95 surcharge for pool and gym I believe, which we didn't use either so bit annoying not to mention an odd thing to charge for. Asides from that would recommend this hotel. We didn't find there was a lot to do in Memphis asides from Graceland but don't stay around that end of town it is not a nice area!

Room Tip: Suite rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codygizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
We are glad to see you enjoyed your accommodation and experience at the restaurant eighty3. The service charge of $10.95 that you mentioned covers in-room internet access and a $10 dining credit which can be applied to any meal. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    396
    150
    71
    49
See reviews for
218
764
67
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at The Madison having purchased a Travel Zoo voucher which gave us credit for food and drinks that was in addition to the $10 breakfast credit that the hotel gave us on arrival. This certainly made for the $10.95 charge less of a concern as well as giving us complimentary wifi in our room We stayed for 3 nights in a updated King room. The concierge was helpful in providing information for us such as providing google maps to Graceland and The Stax Record Museum as suggest at the bared riding the street car loop for just a dollar to acquaint ourselvves with downtown Memphis. Breakfast in the restuarant was fine is morning and we had dinner at the bar one night. We had no problen with the food. We had drinks each night on the rooftop bar even bringing our own wine up one night. The only downside to the stay,was the elevators were down for a part of stay. We used the stairs rather than wait.

Room Tip: Do the street car orientation loop for just a dollar a passenger. The street car stops just up the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianABfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you were able to enjoy our great rooftop and award winning restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here for our anniversary and it was lovely.We had a corner suite which was gorgeous.

The vibe and decor are similar to a W, but its nice that it isn't a chain. Drinks at sunset on the roof were amazing !

We had a reservation for dinner downstairs, but when we went down for a drink beforehand, the service was so bad that we cancelled! Manager took no interest, bartender had no idea what she was doing.. Just didn't seem anniversary-worthy. Breakfast there the next am was good though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
First I would like to apologize for your experience in the restaurant. We will be sure the Director of Food and Beverage is aware so that we can make changes to improve. It is good to see that despite this service breakdown you were able to enjoy your stay and the rooftop views. We look forward to celebrating your next anniversary with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

very nice hotel, short walk to Beihl (sp?) Street. Great bed, great shower. Smallish room. Valet only parking. I was on a motorcycle, but they were very accommodating, and allowed me to park behind the hotel which was well-lighted. The only thing that I didn't care for was the $10.95 charge for "recreation"--apparently to use the workout room, pool, whatever. I don't think that should be automatic, just like the food they stock in the room---if you don't use it, you don't get charged the outrageous price for it. Yet, they provide you a voucher for breakfast, and as long as you order the basic pancakes (3, with a bit of fruit on top), it's free. Staff were very professional. This might not be my first choice for a downtown upscale hotel, but I would not be disappointed if this was where Hotwire placed me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mst3kguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your overall stay. As you mentioned the service charge of $10.95 includes a $10 dining credit which can be applied to any meal and it also includes in-room internet access valued at $12 per day plus tax as well as other amenities of the hotel. We appreciate you selecting us as your first choice for downtown upscale properties and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Enjoyed a one-night staycation in a junior suite at the Madison. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The room was very nice, if not really spacious for a suite. I found the bed very comfortable but it might be too firm for a lot of people. As a Memphian, I love my city but bemoan the shortage of luxury options to refer visitors toward downtown. The Peabody is a lovely place but the rooms aren't as nice as the lobby and restaurants would lead you to believe and I feel it's just flat-out overpriced. Now that I've stayed in both The Madison and The Peabody, I'm not sure I would automatically recommend one over the other to a visitor. The rates are similar. The Peabody's location is ideal for a downtown stay but The Madison is just steps from the trolley line and its rooms are more modern as the hotel is only 10 years old. On the whole, I liked the hotel but didn't love it as much as I thought I would. In a city with three four-star options, it is a legitimate luxury hotel so don't rule it out if you insist on that level. However, I'm not sure it's worth paying the extra amount you would pay at other lower-rated hotels downtown like the Doubletree or Hampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments. We appreciate your affirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Most everything in town was booked up so we stumbled upon the Madison. Lucky for us. Our room has a view of the river and a large sitting area for less then we would have paid at the Hampton Inn and Suites. This hotel is close to everything downtown with out the noise of Beale Street. The bathroom has both a tub and a walk-in shower. The rooftop terrace is a nice bonus and we had free wifi!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N210is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you at the rooftop bar on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and nicely furnished. Bed was a bit hard and the tile grout in the shower needed some bleach in spots. This was not our first time to say here and it will not be the last time we stay here. Views from the rooftop are beautiful at night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alishaslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and look forward to seeing at the rooftop bar on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing