We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Muncie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Fabulous hotel. Clean and spacious rooms. The shower was incredible. Comfortable beds. The pillows were just right -- I slept like a baby. The hotel was close to Beale Street and other important points of interest. We were able to walk to our restaurant and to the FedEx Forum for a game. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karate_Kid100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
We are glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and location and truly appreciate your recommendation. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    453
    185
    83
    54
See reviews for
260
868
74
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Easy check in. Had mailed bag ahead through UPS and it was quickly brought up to room. Need to call room service for ice which comes neatly tied. Easy access to downtown, Beal street and waterfront Ask for Rose to arrange pick up from airport. Best service you will EVER receive. Made a couple of stops on way to hotel from airport. No extra charges. Nice restaurant attached to hotel. Think you will enjoy it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkblot_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel! We appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent two nights at the Madison using a Living Social voucher we purchased. The voucher was for a deluxe king room and included parking, a bottle of wine and box of chocolates. Upon arrival, I requested a room with a river view if available. We were upgraded to a beautiful king suite with a partial river view. For this and other staff encounters we give the Madison very high marks for customer service. The modern room decor and amenities were delightful. Nearly all downtown attractions are within walking distance of the Madison and the streetcar runs outside the hotel if you don't care to walk. Our only minor disappointment was breakfast. On our last day, the restaurant kindly packed our continental breakfast to go. The fruit was good but the pastries tasted stale.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writeanote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff are so glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the Madison Hotel in May for my sister's graduation from pharmacy school. The hotel was a little pricey, but it was clean and the staff was very pleasant. The rooftop bar was awesome and had a much better view than the Peabody's. Location is great...near all the bars and restaurants and very easy to get around. The only complaint I have is that I received a strange charge on my bill for about $100 bucks. I called the hotel and they said it was a bottle of wine taken from the mini-bar. We never took anything from the mini-bar or ordered room service. I had to call a couple of times, but they finally credited my card for the charge. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay and would probably stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Congratulations to your sister on graduating from pharmacy school. I am glad we were able to share in the celebration. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked a Bed and Breakfast package for a birthday celebration. Now the hotel is nice, but for the price we paid, I don't think it was really worth it. The room was listed as a suite, but we found it to be small and crowded. They gave us free drink coupons which we used, but after I checked my bill, they charged us for the "free" drinks. We love the location and the staff was nice. Would I stay again? probably not, just because I think its overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theckenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

We choose this hotel mainly due to its modern decor , its proximity to Beale street and the rooftop terrace that promised a great view . It met all our expectations . Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate and we couldn't take advantage of the rooftop bar. We did take a look and it looked like it would have been awesome. Breakfast was not complimentary contrary to some of the reviews that stated it was and we wanted to try the restaurant for dinner but we were not prepared to wait 30 minutes for a table especially since 1/2 the tables were unoccupied . We assumed they were short staffed and there were so many great restaurants in the area we opted not to wait. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwerethere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel. This year we transitioned from breakfast voucher to a $10 dining credit that is included in the $10.95 service charge and can be applied to any meal. The restaurant eighty3 accepts reservations and can fill quickly and I apologize that we were not able to accommodate you based upon the reservations scheduled. I trust on your next visit you will have an opportunity to enjoy this award winning restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Don't get the Packages..ripe-off..just get the room & add on any extras. We stayed in the junior suite which had 2 separate rooms connected but the tv was in the living area so when you are sitting in bed the tv is 15 ft. away...:-(.....can't see!!!!!!.....we asked for extra blankets which they brought but had moth-eaten holes in them all over. Spoke to manager & he gave us $50 off our dinner room service .We then looked at our blanket on the bed which had a duvet on it and yes that had holes in it too...YUK!!!!!!Mattress not comfortable either.
The hotel is on the border of a very seedy area of downtown Memphis...could of stayed at the Peabody....but booked this trip by reading Trip Advisor saying how nice it was!.....Peabody nicer!!!!!!!!!p.s...no q-tips or cotton balls.:-(

Room Tip: don't get a suite.....tv 15ft. away from bed!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing