We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different than these big chains”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Madison in Memphis is a pearl in the midst of the barren desert of hotel chains. Don't know if they are part of a bigger group, but at least it didn't feel like it when I was there.

The hotel's interior design is awesome and tasteful, with a great friendly bar / restaurant on the ground floor and a rooftop bar / restaurant for a classy evening.

Walking distance from the Blues bars in town and far less expensive than the big chains without taste.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are operated by independent ownership and thrive on the pure definition of boutique hotel. Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great hotel near downtown Memphis. We were there for four days over Thanksgiving visiting our children who reside one door to the west of the hotel (how's that for convenience?). Odell and his front staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. He even braved one of our Greek ginger snap cookies we gave him. The doorman were friendly and always there. They helped us navigate downtown Memphis. Housekeeping was great and fast, always bringing us towels and extra coffee for the Keurig. Rooms are luxurious but a little small. My only gripe, if one, would be to place two queen-sized beds rather than two doubles. Beale Street, great food and music, the civil rights museum, and the Fed-Ex Forum (go Grizzlies!) are close-by. Besides location and accommodation, one of the jewels of the hotel is the restaurant, Eighty3. What a gem. Don't leave without trying the Mac n' Cheese waffles and chicken, the cheddar grits or the deep-fried Oreo cookies. To die for! We will miss how nice and helpful the people at this hotel/restaurant were. We hope to visit our kids again and THIS is where we'll stay. Thank you Madison for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewanderingewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and will be sure Odell and the front door gentlemen know of your kind remarks. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, accommodations, and the restaurant eighty3 and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed 3 days in November and was very impressed. Gerald on the desk welcomed us and his customer service skills were excellent...in fact all were very good. Rooms were big, beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean and plenty of room. would certainly return and stay again

Room Tip: Overlooked the main street which we thought was great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordercrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review, Gerald is one of our newest associates and we are lucky to have him a part of our team. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a really lovely hotel, an excellent location, a short walk from all the attractions. The hotel is well decorated and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and offer all mod cons. What really makes the hotel though is the roof top bar and some excellent cocktails to try as the sun sets over the Mississippi River. Highly recommend this hotel if you just have a couple of days to spend in the city. If you want to explore more than just Downtown ask for reception to call George - Yellow Cab who was absolutely amazing on giving us a guided tour of his city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Memphis following a business meeting in Jackson. The Madison Hotel was perfect. The service was very good. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was excellent and the rooftop bar was terrific. Sunset from the bar is a must see. The hotel was also conveniently located for touring the city but foot or by trolley but was in a quiet, peaceful area of the city. We would definitely stay there again if the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryJH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback, we appreciate our guests comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful boutique Hotel. The decor throughout the hotel is modern and nice. We stayed in a suite and it was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The service was great. Everybody is extremely polite. I would definitively come back.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a great time and didn't have any complaints. We actually had an incident with a guest of ours 'creating a ruckus' and the hotel staff was willing to work with us and not just kick us to the curb. We ordered towels and had multiple staffers check to make sure we got them. We had a few bites to eat in the bar downstairs, it was pretty decent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our staff and happy to see they were able to assist you. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,257 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £139 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing