We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with excellent service”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

June 2013 Long overdue review - found key card in jacket today. 4 of us on a motorcycle trip on the way back to Canada booked the Madison on-line to be able to walk downtown Memphis. From the doorman helping us park our bikes in the back, to the elegant and friendly receptionist and the great bar staff on the rooftop lounge - great place to stay. Rooms are outstanding with top grade bedding, furniture and fixtures. Highly recommended with great view of the Mississippi from the rooftop and an easy walk to the Beale Street bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrysler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

A wonderful hotel in an excellent location. Our room was large, functional, clean and had a real feeling of character. The lobby and reception area was well appointed and had a nice Christmas seasonal feel also. Breakfast had an excellent choice and was very good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful, would note how helpful Kenya was. WE thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here apart from one small issue, the hotel has a real class but why or why are the pillows in the bed so poor? Can honestly say the pillows smacked of a two star hotel not a four star one. Sort your pillows out and we will have not hesitation in returning again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newsatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

First I would like to say, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the pillows in your accommodation. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information. I am glad to see that this did not impact your overall stay and ultimately you were pleased and will return. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have reviewed the Madison in the past, but after another stay at the hotel felt compelled to write another review. This has to be one of, if not the, best hotels in Memphis. The hotel has a great feel to it from the time you enter the door and the staff could not be more accommodating or more courteous. We were only there for a night, but it was great. Since our last stay, they have re-done the rooftop and it looks great. The view is fantastic! Highly recommend if you are in Memphis.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This renovated boutique hotel was quite charming and we had a most enjoyable, though short, stay. Good downtown location. Very nice rooms and baths, a Keurig coffee maker in the room. The bar/restaurant downstairs was a pleasant place to have a cocktail. The hamburger we had there the next day for lunch was wonderful! Since it was pouring rain during our visit there I wish we had seen the umbrella in the closet available for borrowing! (A nice touch). The hotel is pricey, and I suggest you get a firm price quote when you make a reservation. They have assorted discounts which help if you mention them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MizTDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. I would first like to apologize for there not being an umbrella in your room. It is our standard to have this “nice touch” and our Executive Housekeeper will follow up with team regarding the missing item. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Madison for 3 nights in September and we loved it. We booked thru Priceline for a very reasonable rate. Our room was located next to the elevator, was small with one double bed and a view of the brick building next door but for the price that we paid, we had no complaints. The bed was comfortable with modern furnishings and the room was quiet. The hotel is well-located downtown - about a block from the trolley station and within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants. There's a beautiful view of the Mississippi River from the roof top bar which seemed to be a very popular spot when we were there. I can't compliment the hotel staff enough. Everyone we met at the hotel was pleasant, friendly and very helpful with suggestions of what to see/do on our first trip to Memphis. Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Robyn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property. We couldn't agree more with your assessment of our location. Our guests find that we are conveniently located to all the best restaurants and entertainment including our restaurant, eighty3 and our lounge, Twilight with those great views of the Mississippi River that you mentioned. We also appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff and will be sure to let them know of your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Make sure you write down their cancellation policy when you make your reservations. I booked a room in August and cancelled it 48 hours prior to my stay in December. I just realized that they charged me for the room. I understand cancellation policies (72 hours prior), but it would have been nice for them to inform me when I cancelled that I would still be charged for the room.. But, it is not their policy to tell you that you will be charged when you cancel your reservation, they only tell you this when you book your room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank mefe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding your reservation and our cancellation policy. I hope you will allow us an opportunity to recover from this experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My boyfriend and I took the Amtrak train from New Orleans and stayed at the Madison for a long weekend over Thanksgiving. The Madison was a fantastic hotel with wonderful staff, rooms, amenities, and food! The room was a Jr. Suite with a nice sized living room and king bed. The bathroom was huge with a shower and tub. The weather was a little chilly for the Twilight Sky bar to be open for the whole weekend, but it was a great view nonetheless. Our last night in Memphis, we took a cab to Restaurant Iris for a special dinner. The New Orleans chef and cajun inspired food was incredible!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Mississippi River!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solarchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving Holiday with us. We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,257 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £139 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing