We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't hold your breath waiting for promised/paid for services”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't hold your breath waiting for promised/paid for services”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I checked in for the Valentine's Day special package. We also had dinner in 83 Grill. 83 has some of the very best food in Memphis. The service is good and the food is creatively prepared. Great.
Service at the hotel started out well enough--greet by name and all of that. However, the room was freezing. There were supposed to be flowers in the room, and when I called the front desk to ask about them, I was again greeted by name and told they would be delivered "soon." After dinner, still no flowers. I was told they would be delivered "soon." Since it was 9:45 p.m., we really were too interested. The room was close to a club, and was unbelievably noisy until 2:00 a.m. When we checked out early on Feb. 15, I was greeted by name, and when I asked about the flowers, I was told that there were some in the office, and the desk staff would get them! Frankly, I'd forego begin greeted by name if the hotel would deliver the goods it was paid for, heat the rooms, and provide some noise insulation along with a working coffeepot in the room.
When I arrived home, I had a call from the head of housekeeping to apologize for the hotel service during my stay. I was offered a voucher for another stay so the Madison could show me how great it is, but the voucher hasn't arrived. Could it be another promise that won't be kept? Oh, well, the second stay would probably be no better than the first. I'll be going back to the Peabody--consistent--good service, and the staff there remembers your name too.
Overall, I'd say the Madison is overhyped and under delivered. The one bright spot is the consistently great food at 83 Grill. I'll return there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of your concerns. I appreciate your honesty and candid feedback. I have followed up on the certificate that was being mailed to you. It has been sent - if you have not received it, please let me know. We will cancel it and resend another one. Once again, thank you and I sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Regards,
Angie Hines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    435
    173
    78
    53
See reviews for
251
840
73
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I booked the Madison on a busy holiday Valentine's Day. We arrived and everything was nice. The staff treated us with great hospitality. We used the valet and it was superior. We were greeted by name. Even when I had to call the front desk they greeted me by name.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you spending your special evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Madison hotel was pretty awesome! The best part of my stay had to have been the staff, especially the man at the front desk, Odell, who made sure we got what we asked for in a very nice and timely manner. I highly recommend this hotel if you ever visit memphis.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jccastro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for the recommendation. We are extremely proud of our staff will certainly pass on your compliments to Odell. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Madison while in town on for a graduate school class. Even though the hotel was filled with patrons for the the Farm and Gin Show the valet parking was prompt and check-in was fairly quick. We had a nice corner room on the sixth floor. It's a boutique style hotel with updated, modern furnishings as well as a well-stocked honor bar. My only complaint is that the vents in the room and the exhaust fan in the bathroom were so dusty that dust bunnies were falling out of them. However--the staff and location far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We are so glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and location. It is especially great to see how much you enjoyed our staff. I would like to apologize for the dust in your room and will follow up with our housekeeping team. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

There is nothing quite like walking up to a reception desk and finding a lovely drink and something sweet when you check in. The beds are unbelievably comfortable, and the amenities in the room are first class. The staff is very gracious, and they really make you feel welcome.

I had a bit of trouble with regulating my shower temperature, but otherwise my stay was perfect. I love the turn down service and finding a piece of chocolate on my pillow. The exercise facility is in an old bank vault and really quite funky. It has towels, and even a bowl of fresh fruit. While I would love it if they had the upper level Precor elliptical, the Precor equipment they have is first rate.

All around, a great place to stay in Memphis, and I try to stay here every time I come to town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromRoseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for continuing to stay with us. We are so glad to see you once again enjoyed the hotel's staff, location and amenities. We also appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice small Boutique Hotel recently updated décor, however they didn’t put in new double paned windows and when it gets cold outside, the hotel rooms are freezing cold and the old noisy heater with a loud fan motor can’t keep up with the incoming cold air. I had to get out the hair dryer to provide the extra heat needed. Avoid until new windows are installed and new quiet heaters.

Room Tip: Bring your own electric heater
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to make me aware of the Window situation in your guestroom. We will investigate both the heating situation and your window draft concerns. I apologize that your stay wasn't perfect and assure you that we will address these issues.
Sincerely,
Angie Hines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Came for a weekend get away. Hotel was lovely and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a corner room which was a bit small but comfortable. The mattress was perfect. Purchased the room on Hotwire and got a fantastic rate.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caezette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the feedback. We are very proud of our staff here and will certainly pass on your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing