We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Fun Hotel”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently were in Memphis for a basketball tournament. I selected the Madison based on reviews on this site. It was an incredible value. We had a lovely suite with beautiful views of the Mississippi and Mud Island for under $300 a night. The hotel is decorated in a Memphis music theme. It has very striking elevator decorations which are lined with album covers which have some connection to the Memphis music scene. The suite was reasonably spacious and the bathroom and shower were nice. The hotel is within walking distance of Beale street and many bars and restaurants and right on the streetcar line. The breakfast offerings were very nice and modestly priced. The view from the 17th floor bar area is spectacular and my friend, a Memphis resident, said it is the most striking view in Memphis. One can't miss Memphis recommendation is a visit to the newly renovated National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorain Motel. It is very moving and extremely well done. The last exhibit is a view of Room 306 where Dr Martin Luther King spent his last night before he was killed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We definitely have a great location and are always glad when our guests take advantage of this to enjoy the city as much as possible. The National Civil Rights Museum has done an awesome job with modernizing the exhibit while remaining true to the sentiments of the Civil Rights Movement. In our efforts to support the museum we have created a package that includes tickets. Thank you for highlighting this wonderful treasure in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wife and I came to Madison for NYE Event; ended up staying. Hotel is just wonderful. Love the historic feel but modern flare. Staff is attentive and easy to deal with; absolutely enjoyed everything about it. The Madison has become our special little get away - close to home. Stayed in a very posh high end suite with an incredible view. Yes - quite expensive but totally worth it. If you can afford The Madison - just do it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RebelforaCause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us for your New Year’s Eve celebration. We look forward to seeing you again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The room was spectacular! Excellent amenities, iPod speakers, kuerig coffee maker, big flat screen tv, etc. The shower was great, comfortable bed, very clean, and we had a nice view of the Mississippi River. It was extremely well located with lots of restaurants within easy walking distance.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We are glad to see you were pleased with our location and enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent a weekend recently in Memphis for a wedding and stayed at the Madison. What a great hotel experience we had. The accommodations and the staff were outstanding.The night manager, Odell, was especially gracious and helpful as we arrived at an unusual time. We would highly recommend the Madison to everyone visiting Memphis. The rooftop was spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for sharing this special weekend with us. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful from the moment you enter the front doors. We were greeted promptly and guided straight to our room. The accommodations were nothing less than pristine. And the staff was excellent, even after we returned from a late night on Beale street. This hotel was gorgeous, not to mention welcoming. We will definitely consider staying here again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As we now have family living and working in Memphis, we plan on visiting the area fairly often. This was our second visit to the Madison, the first being in 2012. We chose the Madison again mostly because we're looking for a regular, dependable accommodation each time we visit. Despite a few little glitches the first time around (2012), our overall experience was very good. The location and especially the staff at the Madison is top notch. The 83 Restaurant and adjacent bar serve a more than adequate fare. The trolley system is but a few steps from the front entrance. On our first visit, I wasn't crazy about the room location next to the elevators (noisy). Unfortunately, I'm pretty sure we had the exact same room this time!! On our second day, I reported a few issues to the front desk (obvious dirt around the HVAC vents, missing smoke detector, and a broken cabinet door) which they very quickly and courteously took care of. Realistically, I don't think I should have to request such repairs in a hotel of this standing. The room should have been perfect before I checked in, period. Two recommendations to the Madison management. First, from a marketing standpoint, I wouldn't feel nearly as nickel and dimed if you would just bury the parking fees into the room price. Those $29/day charges are really aggravating....make me feel like i'm getting something for free. Second, ask the housekeeping staff to ensure that the alarm clock isn't set to go off at 3:15 a.m. when they're turning over a room. All things considered, I would highly recommend the Madison but there is some room for improvement. My future visits to Memphis will probably include the Madison.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms to the immediate left and right of the elevators.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for selecting the Madison Hotel for a second time. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our location and staff and will be sure to pass along your comments. I would like to apologize for the problems you experienced with your accommodation but I am glad to see our Executive Housekeeper and Engineering team was able to take care of your requests to your satisfaction. You will be happy to know that we offer various packages that have inclusions and one of these packages is a parking package. Thank you for your recommendation and I trust on your next visit you will receive the consistent service we know our team is capable of providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A group of us stayed at the Madison Hotel last weekend in Memphis. The hotel was gorgeous. All of the room had really high vaulted ceilings so felt very spacious. They floors were hard wood and it felt very homey. We had friends at other hotels in the area and ours was by far the best. The service was excellent. Our room service person EVA was just lovely. She was so friendly and helpful in getting us excited for our day, The hotel all had a car servcie which we used to go to Graceland and the Airport. Both the drivers were very curteous and full of information on the local scene. The hotel is about 6 blocks or so from Beale Street. There is a trolley to take but it was not working the weekend we were there. Great hotel, Great service- a good experience

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms had the highest ceilings.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheritin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. We were delighted to see that you had a great stay and will be sharing your wonderful comments Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,255 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £142 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing