We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful place to stay- with or without your dog!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay- with or without your dog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our daughter goes to college in Memphis ( Rhodes) and we've stayed at The Madison a number of times now. We cant say enough about the wonderful, accommodating staff or our experiences at this hotel. They are wonderful and the rooms/beds are very comfortable. We travel with our small ( well-behhaved) dog, and we can stay with her at this hotel--- which is GREAT ( and the only nice hotel that is pet-friendly.). We highly recommend this hotel for its staff, location, and rooms. Great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and wonderful comments! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    396
    150
    71
    49
See reviews for
218
764
67
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

By far the best rooftop bar to watch a sunset I have ever seen! Make sure you get a chance to see it! The hotel and staff were great. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were really nice as well. We would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrswax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Your recommendation is greatly appreciate. Thank you letting other guests know about Twilight, our rooftop terrace. Our spring season is coming and we are looking forward to the re-launch. With the warmer weather more guests will have the opportunity to experience the great views you mentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for one night during the NCAA tournament. What a great hotel! Location was perfect- a few blocks from Beale St and the rooftop bar had an amazing view of the river. The bar in the hotel was great, the staff was friendly, and the room was fantastic. Clean, comfy, and very spacious. Would definitely stay here if we come back to Memphis!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borkjenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the NCAA Tournament. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for a weekend for a friend's wedding. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. I particularly liked the wooden flooring in the room, since hotel carpets can be kind of nasty. We had a great view over the river. Overall I thought it was a little on the pricey side, but had a good stay and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and wonderful comments! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the NCAA basketball tournament and were greeted by friendly staff and a stylish rock n' roll decor in the common areas. We had a junior suite, which was comfortable and large, with cool modern furniture. Great bar and restaurant (we had a delicious breakfast there). It's just a 10-15 min walk to Beale Street and FedEx Forum. (You can also take a $1 trolley ride down Main Street to shorten it a little.) no ATM in the lobby, which was inconvenient. But overall, a fun, unique place to stay in Blues City!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the NCAA Tournament. We appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Paid $289 for one night and it's a closet! I've seen bigger prison cells! They advertise the art in the rooms as an extension of the music culture of Memphis. I have a small fake print in the bathroom! Nothing else!! I complained to management and he gave me a $10 voucher at the restaurant. Big whoop!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenr2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angiehmemphis, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in the size of your room and in the price that you paid. We were originally a 1920's bank building and when we converted to a hotel - the footprint required many different room types. We have large corner suites to cozy banker guestrooms and everything in between. We price the rooms accordingly. The downtown Market was very busy during your stay and we were sold out of other room options. When we do have availability, we do our best to provide upgrades upon request. I am sorry that we weren't able to offer you that choice. Thank you for your comments,
Angie Hines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent three nights with my 13 year old grandson. Excellent staff: friendly, helpful with the smallest details. Steven made us feel like treasured family each morning when we came downstairs for breakfast: which was hot, tasty, and generous. Nichole was especially helpful when we checked in, after arriving by train early Saturday morning. Each employee worked diligently to make us feel welcome and appreciated. Our room although small was very clean, nicely appointed and had a great view of the city. A lovely well maintained pool at day's end. Hotel is right on the City Trolley and we use public transportation as we explored the city. Highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorDenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the recommendation! We are extremely proud of our staff will certainly pass on your compliments of Steven and Nicole. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing