We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure on all points”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
401 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“A pleasure on all points”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Madison is a gem that boasts the spirit of Memphis. The design and decor of the hotel are both modern and vibrant. The entire staff from the rooftop waitresses to the doormen and front desk clerks on the main floor were courteous and eager to please. The room was clean and spacious. The comfy bed and quiet rooms allowed us to sleep soundly. The location is a quick walk to many restaurants, Beale St, and the trolley. It is also in an area that seemed a bit safer than areas around Beale and southward. The rooftop lounge and adjacent restaurant just added to what was already a great choice for a long weekend. The rooftop offered amazing views and sunsets over the town and river. This hotel is a solid value for the price. We are glad we did not stay at the Peabody - which seemed a bit stuffier and surprisingly offered nothing on their roof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and value your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    450
    184
    82
    54
See reviews for
258
865
73
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had booked a deluxe king, but were upgraded to the VIP suite!! We were thrilled, because it was a very spacious and well-appointed suite. The bathroom was nearly as large as the bedroom, and had two separate sinks, with lots of room for toiletries. We went up to the rooftop bar that evening, and loved the view of the Mississippi River and the bridge over to Ark. The music was great at the rooftop bar, and so were the drinks. The decor of the room was relaxing without being dull. The hotel was quiet, but close enough to Main St. and Beale St. to get to in just a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memphistraveller214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I am so glad we were able to make the exception and upgrade you to the VIP Suite. I also appreciate your recognition of our rooftop lounge, Twilight and the great views of the Mississippi River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The price is worth it!! Everyone from valets to the maintenance man made sure our stay was out of this world. Special thanks to FeliSha at front desk who went above and beyond to help us find Mingle wood Hall. Definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krybaby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your acknowledgement of the hotel and our team members. I will be sure to let Felicia know of your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. If you are going to Memphis stay here!

The room was very clean, modern and the bed was super comfortable. Bathroom was gorgeous and really spacious.

We loved the elevators with album covers on the walls, really clever decor!

The staff were really friendly and looked after us, even when a tornado was looming! Amazing view of Memphis and the river from the roof. A little disappointed that there were no sun loungers on the roof, but hey you can't have everything.

The tram also stopped on the corner of the hotel.

When we booked we were a little worried that this hotel would be a short walk away from Beale Street. In fact we were rather glad of this as it was quite seedy near to the Beale Street area.

Loved the hotel. We were disappointed with Memphis. It felt very quiet and very empty. Not what we expected.

Room Tip: Facing the river and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Wow! What an awesome distinction as the “The Best Hotel in Memphis”. Thanks for letting the guests know of the albums in the elevators they some of the new and wonderful additions to the hotel. We look forward to seeing on your next visit to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall, england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Staff are great. In a lovely part of the town. Away from the crazy part of Beale street. Room we had was amazing with views across the river. and the roof top bar is just as stunning. Try the hidden restaurant above BB Kings... it's not part of BB kings, you have to go up to top floor. A must to stay at this hotel if ever in Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraeasterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We appreciate your recommendation and acknowledgement of our staff and location. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Conveniently located near Beale Street, this was out favorite hotel in Memphis (and we also stayed at the Peabody). Huge mini -suite with everything, wonderful bathroom with tub and separate shower, comfortable bed, huge living room with good coffee maker, stocked frig,large desk, all possible connections, comfortable sofa, chairs, etc.
Wonderful downstairs bar, outstanding restaurant. Wonderful views from a rooftop bar.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a mini suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwilkecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you selecting to stay with us and hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked Madison Hotel on HOTELS.COM and it was everything excellent that it is made out to be. Tripadvisor gives it generally excellent reviews and I agree. Rooms were great, clean, well serviced, generous - the staff friendly, the rooftop deck perfect - location fantastic - just half a block from the main street and three or four short blocks to all the bar action - which means you are home in a few minutes whether you take the trolley for $1 which drops you off 100 feet from the door or enjoy the short walk.

What we did not like was that as soon as we got out of our car, the doorman (anthony bonds?) was quick to ask us how we booked and we said hotels.com. He said the hotel was fully booked and so it was unlikely we could have a room and that it would take some time before his hotel would even know I had a reservation. He said "let's not get you parked until we know where you are going to stay in case we have to walk you over to another hotel". This was all very strange. As soon as I was inside and picked up my one to call hotels.com, I gathered that my reservation was fine - it was busy but they had accomodated us in an upgraded king room which to be honest, is what I am pretty sure I booked. The gentleman at the desk and the doorman both said that anthony had made sure that it happened for me and he was happy to make sure I wasn't stuck in the city where there was no place to stay. I have to say, my sense is that it was all to get tips. It simply makes no sense to me. And since when you arrive - this is your first impression - then fair to say that my first impression was that I had arrived in a city with no room and was stuck trying to find a place to stay rather than the comfort of knowing my reservation would be honored. So that is a fail.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good - but higher is definitely better for the view. Try and look out over the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your detailed response regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for the confusion regarding your arrival experience. Anthony was under the impression that you did not have a confirmed reservation and was trying to not cause you any unnecessary inconvenience if that was the case. I am glad to see that besides this misstep you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing