We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is outstanding... great location, service, staff and facility! Rooftop bar has fabulous view of the Mississippi River and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Highly recommend trying this place before any others in Memphis!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west, as high as possible in order to see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 465ThomasK465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for recommending the Madison Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    495
    202
    94
    60
See reviews for
286
934
82
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Madison for a night on the way to Ole Miss. The ladies at the front desk were exceptional and offered us great suggestions of stuff to do in the area. It's in the heart of Memphis, on a few blocks from Beale. Great views of the Mississippi River. Rooms were spacious and modern.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zachary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us as you passed through Memphis. We will let the front desk team know of your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Madison Hotel is a very friendly hotel in Memphis. We had a large double room with 2 very comfortable queen beds and spotlessly clean. Every single member of staff we came across was very friendly and smiley. We ate in the restaurant eighty3 which is attached to the Hotel where the breakfasts were really good, (but tables around us were never cleaned), and the dinners were OK. There is a lovely, comfortable, open air terrace overlooking Memphis and the Mississippi but it was very windy when we were there - but at least the sun was shining! Really pretty at night with the bridge over the River all lit up and all the lights over the city. The reason we were in Memphis was to visit Gracelands and the hotel arranged for a very helpful lady 'Gwen' the taxi driver to take us there. She also is very friendly, informative and efficient and reasonably priced and also took us to the airport (about half an hour's drive) for our onward journey. We walked to Sun Studios from the Hotel which took about half an hour. We also walked to the Peabody Hotel to look at the ducks. This hotel is much livelier and it was nice to come back to the serenity of the Madison Hotel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuvGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to let Gwen know of your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Madison has done a great job a creating a cool, modern comfortable hotel. It was raining cats and dogs when we arrived (5 inches fell that day), but the doormen were waiting with umbrellas to escort us into the hotel, take care of our luggage and park the car, so we stayed dry. The lobby and sitting areas are lovely and the tall windows are accentuated with lovely long curtains. We had a double king room which was nice and spacious. I was very pleased with the size! The love seat was especially fun. Beds were comfortable and the rain-head shower good. The room had it's own Keurig coffee maker with quite a few pod choices, which is a nice touch, until you realize there is only dry creamer and no Equal or Splenda. The addition of some super-pasteurized 1/2 and 1/2 would have allowed real enjoyment of coffee in the room in the morning. It seems a shame to have such a nice set-up. Instead, I went to the bar and purchased a cup of coffee.

The gym is terrific! Top notch equipment, and it's in an old bank vault that they've cut through. There's also a lap pool! These are nice amenities and added a lot to my stay.

We didn't get to enjoy the rooftop bar because it was closed, on account of the torrential rain. We did pop out there late at night during a break in the rain and the view was terrific. The regular bar is fine, but small, so if you don't get a seat at the actual bar, take your drinks out to the lobby, which is how we enjoyed ours.

This is a very good hotel and the staff was very nice. It's easy walking distance to Beale Street. I get to Memphis every few years, and this has just become my "go-to" hotel there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate you making us your “go-to” place when traveling to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

While I am giving this hotel an “average” rating, it is on the lower end of “average”.

The staff is friendly and the lobby is quite nicely decorated. The location is pretty good in that it is close to Beale St (about 20 min walk). The rooms need some renovation help. The rooms aren’t bad, but they are a little worn down. We could tell that our room had not been renovated in many years, based on the condition of the carpet and wallpaper. Additionally, the rooms are on the small side.

I would stay here again, but I would want them to do some renovations first.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us. We truly value and react to all guest feedback. I am glad that you felt the staff was service oriented and that you appreciated the hotel decor. I am surprised and sorry that you didn't enjoy your guestroom. We do have many different room types and some rooms are smaller than others. We have been renovating our guestrooms this year with new hardwood floors, new carpeting and new drapes - so I was surprised by the carpet and wallpaper feedback. I assure you that I will personally inspect your guestroom and address your concerns. Thank you again and I hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Sincerely,
Angie Hines, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed here several times and each time has been enjoyable. Small and comfortable with an edgy & eclectic feel. Not so much for children but a romantic place. Great to walk to Autozone or the Fedex.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetteA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for continuing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Overall our stay was great. The Madison is a good property with an excellent staff. We found a good sale booking through their website - $166 for a King Jr. Suite for 3 nights. Great deal. The bar on the Penthouse has excellent views, an exciting place for the sunset, good music, and they hand out sunglasses if you have forgotten yours! We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We are glad to see your overall stay was great and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,215 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing