We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room for the price”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very small room for the price”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Madison is a luxury hotel, so the bed and bathroom were as expected. However the room was very small for a 200 dollar a night room. The rooftop bar is quite lovely, but only on weeknights. On weekends, it turns into a loud club with a cover charge - no room for the hotel occupants. Wifi in the room was spotty. Valet parking only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review. I am sorry about the confusion with the rooftop; we do not charge a cover for hotel guest. I hope that you will come back to Madison when you are back in Memphis.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    486
    196
    90
    60
See reviews for
278
919
80
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The bad...Check-in was a horrible experience. The clerk was NOT helpful or friendly at all. The hotel at first glance was NOT inviting. They messed up on my bed choice and blamed me. It was NOT my fault. Than they were going to charge me an extra $60 per night to have two beds instead of one queen. It did get all straighten out and they honored my original price. Rose was really bad at giving the valet my messages to bring my car up. She forgot twice. It takes about 15-20 minutes to bring your car up from valet...so CALL EARLY but DONT talk to Rose. I do not believe it was a Valet issue but a communication from Rose issue.

The good....My favorite employees were Cynthia, Desiree and Sharita. My hotel maid was awesome, but I never got her name. After a disastrous check-in, the remainder of my 9 night stay was perfect. We had an amazing room (1605) with river views. The restaurant downstairs had amazing service and great food. The Elvis waffles are AMAZING. The hotel was in a perfect location for us to walk everywhere. The bedding is great and comfortable to sleep in. Great turn down service with chocolate.

So...would I stay here again? With the exception of the Valet and check-in issues, yes I would. With that being said, those issues really put a damper on our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Your feedback is invaluable to me and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences from your most recent stay. I also want to thank you for including both the good and the imperfect encounters with the Associates. I will address your concerns with the appropriate team members and I will share your kind accolades at our next all team meeting. I am glad you will return and look forward to showcasing our true Award Winning Service culture.

Sincerely,
Angie Hines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed two nights in a junior suite: small kitchenette, living room, bedroom and luxurious bathroom. The couch in the living room was not that comfortable for sitting and watching TV but the bed was super comfy and the whole suite was very clean. All of the staff we encountered were friendly, professional and helpful. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance to Beale Street. Wifi was included and we used valet parking ($29). We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant and it was ok - they mixed up my order with my husband's so my grits were on his plate and his potatoes were on mine. Next day we ordered room service for breakfast - there was only one napkin for the two of us and they forgot to include forks. These little oversights are the only reason we didn't give this hotel a 5-star rating. Had drinks one night at the rooftop terrace - excellent view overlooking the Mississippi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Maria,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your room and the hotel. I am sorry for the issues in the restaurant and I will have our food & beverage director look into the issues that you encountered. I look forward to seeing you at the Madison the next time you are in Memphis.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Smallish, but certainly an adequate sized room for a downtown hotel. The price compares favorably to other downtown Memphis hotels. The rooftop view is outstanding and highly recommended.

Valet parking, as usual, was too high, but during our second night we parked in a covered garage for eight dollars. (It was the same garage that a nearby hotel uses for their valet parking). Included internet was spotty.

The walk to Beale Street is a short one, but at night one must pass a lot of empty and rundown storefronts. During my stay 12 years ago, the trolley was running, which made the trip feel safer.

Room Tip: Our corner room next to an elevator didn't have much of a view, but we couldn't hear the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Joe,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and Twilight. Look forward to having you back at the Madison.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff was phenomenal. The check-in, and concierge were super friendly.The room was modern, clean. The bar upstairs was a destination on its own. We didn't use the valet but reasonable parking across the street from the hotel. Beautiful artwork on the walls. Other gusts told us the restaurant was great .

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everywheremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of the hotel. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Memphis. See you soon!

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel multiple times and have never had and issues. The location is great!
It's within walking distance to Beale Street and the river. Good workout facility. The room is little worn down but very clean. The Madison roof top has the best view. Carlos at the Twilight bar (yes, the same guy from the Westin bar) is hilarious and our favorite bartender in Memphis. His service was outstanding and we want to bring him home. Downtown Memphis is the best for great restaurants and live music.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Mary,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed Twilight and Carlos. Hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Another great stay. Second time this month. Moved from the Peabody to here. Service great, rooms clean and well redecorated. Highly recommend this place. Hands down the best roof top views in the city. I suggest you eat the green tomatoes Benedict.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Jim,

Thank you for your review. It has been a pleasure having you at Madison and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,195 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing