We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Memphis!”
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay at The Madison Hotel! We booked it for the rooftop terrace and it was absolutely amazing, but the staff is what made the experience all the more outstanding. Every employee we met were so welcoming and friendly, and we felt so valued and appreciated for choosing to stay at their hotel. The rooms are exceptionally clean, comfortable and delightfully decorated. The Madison is a unique hotel in a great downtown location with exceptional staff. You can't go wrong if you choose to stay in this Memphis gem!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKCHurleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Robin,

Thank you for your great review. It is our employees that make the difference at the Madison. I hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I was thrilled with this hotel. Me and my sister shared a twin double and the room was a great size - more than big enough for both of us, with a great sofa and plenty of space to get ready in! The bathroom was a great size with a powerful rain shower.

The valet service was really good - and definitely cheaper if you book in advance. Loads of great restaurants around and a walgreens across the street which was great for some cheaper drinks for the room. Beale street is a 5 minute walk - so no noise but easy access to the fun!

The bar attached serves some great cocktails but really needs more staff working - the one woman working was SO nice but rushed off her feet. But the rooftop bar.....WOW....stay here just for that! Great views, great experience, plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 198katiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Katie,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. The rooftop bar has the best views of the city. Look forward to seeing you again soon at the Madison.

All the best,

Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Don't know where to start here but from the staff to the room to the restaurant...EVERYTHING was outstanding! We were so comfortable it was hard to leave the room! Excellent restaurants are just a few blocks away as well as 83 the one in the hotel

Room Tip: 6 blocks from Beale but they have great restaurants and nightlife right there around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank richie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that everything was amazing for you. We hope to see you soon at the Madison.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Chef Daris Leatherwood prepared an excellent pot roast! His food is exquisite! It was so delicious, I had to call him from the kitchen and shake his hand. Top Notch! You can tell the manner in which it was prepared was done with passion and expertise. Whatever he's being paid isn't enough. He definitely needs to a restaurant devoted to his food, that features him as the primary Chef!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes, we agree he is amazing. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had it not been for the great staff, especially Desiree, Miguel & Bryan at the Restaurant Eighty3, our stay would never had been as nice. The hotel is beautiful but we experienced the A/C not working in our room upon our arrival. They sent the engineer up to repair/restart and he thought he had it fixed. Came back hours later to find the room unbearable. They changed our room so we packed up our belongings and made the move. Next day we received a notice that there was a hot water valve replaced in the hotel and so we were asked to run the water to get the color back to normal. It was still running yellow after 45 minutes. Next morning the color was fine but we took a cold shower on day 3 and day 4. We also had a negative experience on day 3. We had been out of the room from 8:30am until 4pm. When we came back the room had still not been cleaned. They did send someone right away to tend to it. They comped one nights' stay which made us feel better but we were sent away with a cold shower. I would just say it's a ship run too loosely but a wonderful property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MyMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for the kind review despite the problems that occurred during your stay. I will share your accolades with the F&B team - truly deserved. I am saddened that so many things went wrong during your stay - from the AC in your original room to the hot water pump breaking. I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the team. My most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you return to Memphis in the future.
Sincerely,
Angie Hines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location within walking distance of everything but not on top of Beale Street. Fantastic check in and greeting staff. Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Had a problem getting wifi in our first room but we were moved very quickly and upgraded. Many thanks. Rooftop bar gives great views over the river. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Memphis.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lunchguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed the hotel and Memphis.

All the best,
Kristy Sellers
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a beautiful looking hotel in the heart of Memphis with luxurious rooms though it is not cheap. Unfortunately the service was a bit slow having to wait quite a while for our luggage to be delivered to our room on arrival, waiting for room service and for the car to be brought round. However the breakfasts were excellent and the rooftop bar overlooking the Mississippi River and flats of Arkansas was stunning, particularly at sunset.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael and Ant... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie H, General Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for the feedback - we consider it a gift. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, breakfast experience and the rooftop. I apologize for the slow service. We will discuss solutions to address the issues at our next meeting. Once again, thank you and I hope you will consider us your Memphis home the next time you visit.
Sincerely,
Angie Hines
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
953 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £124 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing