We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful little secret, in the heart of downtown Memphis.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful little secret, in the heart of downtown Memphis.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Madison Hotel for my 40th birthday. We booked for our first time with Hotwire, at the suggestion of a friend. We were initially concerned that we might recieve "bargain" treatment, since we paid a "bargain" price. Nothing could have been further from the truth. The staff was incredibly friendly without being overbearing and intrusive. It is a beautiful hotel. Despite being in a historical building, we found the accomodations to be anything but. The rooftop terrace has probably the best views found anywhere in Memphis. We live in the area, but really had heard relatively little about the Madison. We've stayed at some larger hotels both in and out of Memphis, including the Peabody, the Westin and the Hard Rock. Although definitely impressive, our stay at the Madison was truly above them all. It is a quaint, charming hotel, with lots of character. I really can't say enough about the hotel and it's staff. We will be back, and definitely recommend the Madison over any other hotel in Memphis.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    436
    174
    79
    54
See reviews for
252
844
73
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

I was hoping to get the Peabody when I put in 4 star or greater for $150 on Priceline, but I ended up with the Madison. The front desk staff was exceptional, and knowledgeable. The bell staff was sitting in a chair in the foyer most times I walked by, not that welcoming. The bedding was great, toiletries good, TV selection good, location was excellent, but this is not a 4 star hotel. Ok, it is an older hotel, but the grout in the shower was cracked and falling out, inconsistently patched in places, and brown in others. The coffee maker in my room did not work. The breakfast was decent, a huge amount of fresh fruit, which was exaclty what I would expect for a 4 star hotel. I am in the hospitality business, and would say the manager needs to be walking this property, and inspecting the details of the rooms and the bell staff. For the price I would recommend it, but not for rack rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Although this hotel was advertised on all most of the travel sites as a 4 star hotel and on Hotwire as a 4 1/2 star hotel, I would not hesitate to say that this hotel has been highly over rated. Although nice enough, clean, and a very friendly staff, three stars should be all that The Madison receives. Very average. The rooms are tiny. Ours had one queen bed, two windows overlooking a beautiful parking garage that had lights shining in our eyes all night long. The bathroom was decent, with a pedistal sink and tub/shower combination. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were the absolute worst I have EVER slept on. The hotel staff came by to offer turn down service, after we were already in bed. The complimentary breakfast was rather boring, with cereal, toast, bagels, muffins etc. and a tasteless fruit presentation. Coffee (with plenty of grounds at the bottom of my cup---uugh), juice and milk were available. We requested a cab for 8:30 AM to go to the airport and were called at 7:45 AM by the front desk to tell us that our cab was waiting. We told them to have the cab come back at 8:30 as we had asked. I'm sorry, but in my book...... to receive a 4 1/2 star rating, you have to do a little bit more than have robes, an umbrella and a safe in the guest room closet. We would have done just as well reserving a 3 star hotel for about half the price. Both the Peabody and The Westin run circles around The Madison in service, comfort and ammenities and are a much better choice for just a few more dollars. The location would better suit a business traveler rather than a liesure traveler. Virtually EVERYTHING in the blocks surrounding the hotel is boarded up, closed or under renovation. This economy must have really hit downtown Memphis hard !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

What a great find. The staff, ameneties, location and decor of this first class hotel are all equally wonderful. Starting with a friendly door man, beautiful entry and lobby, and ending with the housekeeping and concierge staff, this was among my most impressive hotel experiences in my many years of travel.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nancydHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Everything about the Madison met or exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room (King Suite) was fantastic with really nice amenities, and the continental breakfast topped off the experience. Also notable was the fact that while the hotel is very nice and lives up to its ratings, it was not as pretentious as I feared it would be.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

I recently spent two glorious nights in a suite at The Madison Hotel, in which I felt so cozy and comfortable, as if I were in my own home. The rooms were not only spacious but the bathroom met all of my prerequisites, most important of which was a good counter space on which I could spread out the many cosmetics that I can’t leave home without. Secondly, the lighting in the bathroom as well as throughout the suite was excellent.

I could certainly tell that the staff at The Madison really aim to please and, in doing so, each and every member of the staff was always gracious and friendly.

Most of all, while enjoying a fabulous dinner in the softly lit, very tastefully decorated dining room, I was thinking how I couldn’t wait to tell friends and acquaintances how delicious everything was, down from the appetizers to the fabulous chocolate soufflé –the best I’ve ever tasted. You must not miss this dining experience!

My hat’s off to the owners of The Madison, who really haven’t missed an opportunity in making every aspect of their hotel top notch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Very pleasant and attentive staff. Very nice room. Tremendous restaurant. Great bar. Snag a drink at the bar and take it up to the roof lounge to watch the sun set. I count my 3 day stay there as one of my best ever hotel experiences. Might seem a bit pricey but worth every nickel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Al_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing