We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but definitely room for improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Ranked #22 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine but definitely room for improvement.”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Convenient for downtown. Nice park across the street - I would ask for a view of that. Stayed in the historic building and had view of the roof tops and the air conditioning unit. The windows REALLY need to be cleaned - they were disgusting.

One very weird / unsafe thing: something we heated in the microwave caused the smoke alarm to go off and NOBODY CAME to check it out. I had to call down to the front desk to have them send somebody to turn off the smoke alarm.

Also, for some reason all the taxis the hotel ordered for us seemed to be at least $10 more expensive than all the ones we ordered for ourselves. Coincidence?

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room looking toward Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notfromhereEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. I do want to address the issue with the smoke alarm. The smoke alarms in the suites do not trigger the fire alarm system at the front desk . The fire alarm system is monitored 24 hrs per day and tested and inspected several times a year and approved by the Fire Marshall. The safety of our guests is very important to us and we are dedicated to providing a safe environment. As far as the concerns of the cost of transportation, if a guest asks us to call a cab for them, we have several companies that we contact. All of their prices are about the same. We are not making any profit from recommending one company over the other. Our main concern is the service that they provide our guests. Again, I appreciate your comments. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss this further, my direct line is (901) 522-2109 or email me at scovington@summitmgmtcorp.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    347
    119
    56
    21
See reviews for
291
197
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is your basic bargain hotel, The location is fantastic, with a streetcar stop right outside the hotel that will you get you to anywhere you would want to go downtown, for $1 a ride. The room rate was NOT a bargain, but I think that's because I was there for "Memphis in May", which is the local high season for tourism. The public areas of the hotel are clean and modern and pleasant, apparently very recently renovated. We chose a room in the "historic Kress building" because they're supposed to be bigger, but this wasn't really a plus. It was large with a high ceiling, but it's not really a suite - there's no door between the sleeping and living areas. There is an old standard (not flat screen) TV that swivels so it can be seen from either part of the "suite." The living area kind of dwarfed the furniture - a small loveseat and two chairs, and a simple desk. The "kitchen" area included a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker, with no dishes and only enough coffee to make one cup. (It was dreadful.) The room was a little tired, with cracked bathroom floor tiles, some crud oozing from the shower safety bar, and so forth, but over all it was adequate and quiet with comfortable beds. The guy who checked us at the front desk managed to not say a SINGLE word to us until he handed us the keys and told us where the elevator was - so obviously we had to figure out for ourselves that breakfast was included in the rate. The breakfast itself was pretty good, with eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, bagels, cereal, sweet rolls, juice, and all that - other than the crumbly scrambled eggs and weak coffee, it was really quite good. Kevin at the front desk (NOT the guy who checked us in) was incredibly helpful and friendly, and called a ride for us to the airport that worked out great. All in all, there's no reason not to stay here, as long as you're not expecting the Ritz.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My girls and I stayed at this property because it was close to our Memphis in May attraction. That and the fact that it had an in room safe were the only nice things for us here. Fold out bed...could not sleep on. Bumped my head on metal even trying to lay down. 'Queen' who checked us in acted pissed off because we were there and barked at me when I asked if AT 2 PM there were any rooms with a balcony. 'WE'RE SOLD OUT AND YOU SHOULD HAVE RESERVED THAT ROOM IF YOU WANTED THAT" .... Called down in the evening asking for extra wash clothes and was told the guy was the only one there and couldn't bring those for a while???? A sold out night and one person on duty?? GIVE ME A BREAK! The morning of checkout.....receipt under my door....0 balance because it had been charged to my CC on file....for $15.00 more per room night than what I had booked. Thinking that included parking....NO, went to front desk to give key cards back and was told they would be charging additionally for parking on my CC!!! Had not charged enough????WHAT? WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN and wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. I've been in the hospitality business most of my adult life. I would fire half of the staff I met at this property!!

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deneshagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the service you received during your recent stay. I also apologize that we were unable to accommodate you with a balcony suite. We only have 10 balcony suites, and they are always booked months in advance during special events. You are a valued customer and your comments only serve to make us better. I will share them with the staff . If you would like to contact me directly, you may do so at (901) 522-2109 or scovington@summitmgmtcorp.com.

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Room in the "kress" hotel. Old fashioned television with no guide for channels. When i called the front desk for a list i was told there is not one, i was told to flip channels. When i did this (fast) one of the channels was porno. Comfort inn nearby cheaper and better value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasminecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for your recent comments concerning your recent stay. Your input helps us to improve our overall guest experience and also gives us an opportunity to address your issues and concerns. We will be replacing all the televisions in the Kress Building suites with new LG flat screen televisions. We are currently planning to complete this project next month (June). We would love to have you come back and visit us again , so please contact me at scovington@summitmgmtcorp.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites for 3 nights on our trip to Memphis to visit Graceland. We had two very large rooms with an interconnecting door. Both rooms had two Queen beds and the rooms were very clean and modern. Nice bathroom. We had a safe and a fridge. The air conditioning was bit noisy. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Plenty of choice for breakfast - not used to eating with disposable plates and cutlery though! Didn't use the spa or pool but it looked nice. There were some dodgy characters hanging around the park over the road and we did receive a bit of harassment from them but nothing serious. The trolley bus is right outside which is very handy. Didn't think much of Beale Street - too noisy and a bit tacky. I would find a local bar to drink in. Make sure you pay a visit to Gus's for excellent fried chicken. Also remember to take ID out with you if you require an alcoholic drink as we were refused a drink in TGI Fridays and I am the wrong side of 40!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. It is our policy to knock at least 3 times before entering a guest room. I would like to contact you directly to discuss the details of your stay. Please feel free to e-mail me directly at scovington@summitmgmtcorp.com.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

This property is your cookie cutter springhill suites. Feels like it was recently renovated, all the usual amenities are present - the lobby has a nice little bar and seating area (first time I'd seen a bar that was staffed with bartender at a springhill suites).

Note if you drive: google maps takes you some weird backwards way down an alley to find the entrance. Ask to hotel for better directions.

Valet and self parking have exact same price, by the way. Only one valet so you may have to wait awhile to find him.

Our room was in the connected historical building which made it a little inconvenient to walk to/from the front entrance (up an elevator, down a hall to a hidden elevator, up again and down more halls to my room). Given that our building was 100 years old I was hoping for some charm but you really just get basic normal modern insides, except for some squeaky hallway floors. Room itself was fine - typical. Not much to complain about except the sink area for getting ready (two people can't fit at same time) and the complete lack of a full length mirror.

Also our room was right outside the housekeeping closet and you could easily hear their hallway conversations. further, the doors slam pretty loudly so get a room away from the stairs, which lots of people took to avoid the slow elevators - resulting in lots of slamming doors from the stairwell.

One warning: we had gone to breakfast and returned to our room, forgetting to latch the door from the inside. Sure enough, in walks a housekeeper without so much as a knock, even though the do not disturb sign was on the door. She was all the way through the living room before she realized we were inside, or even looked for that matter, which implied (to me anyway) that this is a regular habit.

Front desk staff were friendly but busy many times - had to wait to speak to them every time we needed anything (they were always on the phone or dealing with another guest in front of us).

Overall decent value - I may go back, due to convenient location on Main St. Trolley line and walking distance to Beale St. but there are about 3 other similar quality properties right next door that may be less likely to invade your room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasPillowTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Typical SpringHill Suites room layout. Loses points for not having an updated HD tv in room. I stayed in the separate "historic" Kress building which is connected to the main building, which was a pain because I had to use two spearate elevators every time to go from the lobby to my room. (And the elevators were pretty slow).

Breakfast was okay. Staff were friendly but not overly outgoing. Good location for exploring downtown Memphis.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the Kress building if I had a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bub99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites Downtown Memphis. I wanted to let you know that we are planning to replace all of the televisions in the Kress suites in the very near future. We appreciate your feedback, which only helps us to improve the experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
903 reviews
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#31 of 136 in Memphis
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Address: 85 Court Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2230
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
#25 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing