We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT pet friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NOT pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel and staff were nice and very hard working. They were also very unwelcoming to pets so this is not a destination for families traveling with pets

The rooms are very clean but small bathrooms. Location was excellent and a short walk down Main Street has you at a lovely, fabulous food and Dog Friendly patio. The restaurant is called Flight. Our server, Rebecca, was lovely and very professional as well as adorable! Food was top notch and the wines were well paired

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice dining experience at Flight Restaurant. As you are already aware, we do not allow pets at our hotel. We will accept service animals with the proper paperwork. The Marriott brands that do accept pets are Residence Inn and Townplace Suits.

I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. If I can ever be of service in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    332
    115
    51
    18
See reviews for
274
193
21
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family stayed here in April for a pittstop on our way to Missouri. The trolley passes right in front of the hotel which was very convenient. It worked out great with the kiddos. The room was REALLY nice and spacious for our family of four (one year old and five year old). Our room had two queen beds, a sofa and coffee table, tv, desk and chair, bar with sink, and fridge/microwave. The vanity area was separate but that was fine.

The breakfast was pretty good. There was yogurt, fruit, cereal, sausages, breakfast potatoes, eggs, etc. the dining area at breakfast was very new and modern style. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel accommodations and the amenities that we offer our guests. I am also glad to hear that you may be staying with us again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of service .

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay was great. We were in the kress building which is a bit inconvenient but our suite was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. The breakfast is better than standard, I mean they have Nutella! I used the pool and while small it was fine for a morning swim. Staff was very helpful. Location is great if you are seeing downtown. We walked to rendezvous for dinner and walked to Beale Street twice. I also walked to the red birds stadium. The trolleys are gone--too bad, but that is the fault of the city. I will come back. We had no issues with the parking either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

I hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to Memphis. If I can ever be of service , please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night Memorial weekend. I checked in late about 10 p.m. When I got to the front desk, there were two ladies and one said she needed to call someone to check me in. I found myself wondering what the two ladies were then? The guy showed up to check me in, told me about parking, and gave me the options for self-park or valet, then told me welcome and went on chatting with the lady sitting on the other desk to his left. I just waited and watched him move around the area, still talking to the lady and valet guy and then he walked around like was he was walking away and I asked him where was the key card? He was like oh sorry I didn’t give it to you – subpar service.

There’s more hype put into this hotel that there needs to be. I’m a regular Marriott customer and prefer SpringHill Suites, but this one is not up to par. Its setup to sound very high class, but it’s not. For price they charge for a night’s stay, they need to up this hotel to that level. The reception area wasn’t very inviting; I didn’t like the carpets in the hallways or in the room either.

While I appreciated the room being neat and sorta clean, the furniture was old, I mean hecka old! In addition I had a few other qualms about the hotel: (a) While I appreciate there is parking available, I was bummed out to find out that it is $15 a day whether you self-park or valet park…I can live with that. (b) Breakfast area wasn’t very clean, not enough serving spoons and people seemed to use the same spoons for different items. (c) The food on the other hand….the eggs didn’t look appetizing…there was liquid running around, and neither did whatever those rounds things were, Canadian bacon or something – no uh!

I’m giving this hotel a 2-star rating mainly because it was convenient to get to it, and because I didn’t experience noise while at hotel. I was on the 7th floor which eliminated outside noise, and maybe because I checked in late, I didn’t have to deal with noise on the hallways and next door, assuming there was someone. In addition, I slept well.

Please note that if you are traveling with children or someone who needs a bathtub request in advance, I was surprised to find out that very few rooms come equipped with one.

When all is said and done, I wouldn’t stay here again or recommend this hotel – at least not in its current state.

Room Tip: Please note that if you are traveling with children or someone who needs a bathtub request in advanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladysons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and I will definitely share your comments with my staff. I can assure you this is not a typical guest experience at our hotel and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with me. This only helps us to improve and do better for our guests.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was traveling with an elderly family member. Our room was clean, modern and easy for her to navigate, only negative might be a request for better reading lights in the living room part of the suite. The room was in the old Kress building .The front desk staff was awesome, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The staff serving the best breakfast I have ever eaten (included in the room charge) was beyond compare. There was a fantastic selection of fruit, rolls , sausage, eggs, etc. The hotel is located on the downtown mall with a trolley pickup at the front door. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities the hotel has to offer our guests. And I really appreciate your feedback on the breakfast. I will definitely pass it along to my staff.

I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to Memphis . If I can ever be of service in the future, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are very disappointed with this facility. Being in the Marriott family, we assumed this hotel would hold a high standard for cleanliness, courtesy, and comfort. The suite we were in was old and dirty. All the furnishings had seen better days and needed a through cleaning, if not replacement. The air conditioning was inadequate even though maintenance "tweaked" it. The worst part was the pool and hot tub. The hot tub was filthy with thick green water. The front desk was less than cordial and efficient. If you decide to stay here, don't bother with a suite in the historic Kress building. You will definitely get someone else's history!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your accommodatons in the Kress Building. Your feedback is very important to us and only helps us to improve our guest experience. I will definitely pass your comments on to my staff!

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Address: 85 West Court Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
#25 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing