We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #17 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Could not get into the hotel we wanted in this area so choose the Homewood Suites because we've had such good experience with them. This hotel is a renovated old style Residence Inn. We were fortunate enough to be in the one section that had inside entry doors, but the outside door to the hallway didn't close all the way unless you pulled it, which was fine until the next person came in. Kids were running up & down the hallways forever!! I know, that happens on weekends in hotels but still aggravating. Must applaud maintenance for very quickly replacing one of the TV's that was not working properly.
Not sure I would stay here again unless nothing else was open right in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studlyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Staff is nice and friendly, but the hotel is outdated. Stay was for 2 nights and had roaches both nights. Checked out in the middle of second night because it was so bad. Hilton should not be associated with this facility!!! Very disappointed :(

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smithmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

smithmiller,

I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to our attention and regret the discomfort that caused you to cut your stay with us short. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we are working with our pest control company to correct the situation. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know.

Thank you,

Corey C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

These guys rock!! This is the best extended stay hotel in Memphis. Don't say anywhere but here. They are awesome!!!!! I was here during training and what a great experience. Staff is wonderful. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hi Barry B,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis East with the TripAdvisor Community! We greatly appreciate the feedback and will be sharing your comments during our team meeting. It was a pleasure to house you during your training here in Memphis and we look forward to welcoming you back HOME the next time you find yourself in town.

See you soon!

Corey C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our family also experienced trouble with the ice storm March 2-3. Due to the power surge in midtown, it caused a fire at our house and caught three other homes on fire as well. We love it here! Josh (the manager) and his excellent staff (front desk personnel, culinary, housekeeping) are very attentive to our needs. Since we have a teenage daughter, the two bedroom suite is perfect for us. The spacious rooms are clean and the beds are big. We do use the kitchen, but we really enjoy the delicious breakfasts and Monday –Thursday dinners. We have used the laundry room near the lobby and reception room, and hopefully will try the fitness room next week.
We have really enjoyed our stay here and after we leave in April when we close on a home, we will miss everyone here at Homewood Suites. Thank you Josh and everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanL614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hi JeanL614,

Thank you for sharing the kind words about our hotel and staff! We greatly appreciate the comments and are thrilled to hear that you've been enjoying your stay despite the unfortunate circumstances surrounding your home. Please do keep us in mind for any family members coming to town or if you just need a weekend away! We hope that you and your family will come back and see us soon!

Warm regards,

Corey C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

this hotel didn't live up to the hilton name. the rooms/furniture was very outdated. it looks like maybe it was an apt complex that hilton took over & made a hotel out of it. the staff was very friendly but like i said, not your typical hilton or homewood suites!! i won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Kiva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Kiva,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. Please note, we are a first generation Homewood Suites property and as a result, we do have both interior and exterior entry rooms that can cater to a variety of needs. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,

Corey C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a power outage in our city due to an ice storm. Called Homewood and they were very accommodating. The two bedroom suite was perfect for our family with two teens and a dog. Everyone had room to stretch out. The evening reception was very satisfying and the location and layout of the property was great for walking our dog. Staff was very friendly, attentive and showed genuine interest for our comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi Kenneth D,

Thanks for submitting your review of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis East to the TripAdvisor community. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the comforts of our hotel during last week's storm. As you mentioned, our hotel does offer Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom suites that can accommodate families and/or groups as these rooms have up to 4 beds in them. The property does allow dogs up to 30 lbs and will collect a nonrefundable deposit of $50 upon check-in. In the case that you find yourself needing hotel accommodations for yourself or family members traveling to Memphis, please do not hesitate to contact us at (901) 763-0500.

Your home away from home,

Corey C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was in town for a funeral and didn't have a place to stay (due to the circumstances, everything was last minute). The first night I stayed at this place with my brother and his family. It was so convenient to where we needed to be, I decided to continue my stay there after they had to leave. I'm glad I did. The room I was given was in the "B" complex - there are three seperate buildings in the complex (not sure if you can specify which one you would prefer but it's worth asking).

The room was very nice (though you should try to get a room on the highest floor possible - you can hear people above you otherwise). There are two seperate "rooms" which can be closed off from each other. The couch is a pull out bed, so you could have two bedrooms if needed (each with it's own TV; but you do have to go through one to get to the bathroom). In the kitchen there is a full fridge, a microwave, an range top, sink and a dishwasher. So it's very easy to bring your own groceries for meals. However, there is not only a full complimentary breakfast (not just muffins, et. al., but a full breakfast) but if you happen to be staying Monday through Thursday, they provide supper. There is a menu for the month's suppers on the fridge. I wasn't there while the meals were offered, but the menu looked nice.

There is a nice workout room (with free weights, treadmill, elyptical), an outdoor pool, a small basketball court (with a little grassy area adjacent) and a few outdoor grills next to the main building. I believe there were also laundry facilities on site as well. You could pretty much make a very nice stay there with a family if needed.

While there are not a lot of restaurants near by (the closest in terms of walking distance is an Olive Garden - and you have to walk over top of 240 to get to it, but it's an easy 5-minute walk), the hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere within a five-mile radius. And there are a multitude of places within that range.

Great stay, nice and clean rooms, efficient courteous staff. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi Brian W,

WOW! Thank you for the wonderful review of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis East. I am glad to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the stay despite the reasons for traveling. It's terrific how our staff, amenities, and product can make the slightest difference even during the hard time that you and your family have endured. Hopefully the next time you're traveling to Memphis it will be under different circumstances and if your stay is Monday - Thursday, you will be able to enjoy our complimentary dinner as well! Once again, we appreciate the kind words and are happy to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel. I wish you and your family the best during this difficult time.

Warm regards,

Corey C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#25 of 138 in Memphis
1,012 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#21 of 138 in Memphis
734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £106 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing