We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business travels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Hometown, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“business travels”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I would like to thank the Staff at Comfort Suites.They were very knowledgeable of the area and took care of all my needs during my stay.The shuttle driver knew of and where to eat great Memphis bbq! Neeley's and Leonard's were both close by and come highly recommended.I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and am so happy that you had a great stay. I agree that these BBQ restaurants are both great. Memphis is truly known for having many great BBQ restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    24
    28
    20
See reviews for
73
27
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our stay was awesome ... from the time we arrived up until the time we checked out! The entire staff was friendly and ALWAYS there to serve. The beds were more than comfortable! The breakfast was NOT just coffee and a bagel. The breakfast was a FULL meal ... coffee decaf and regular, hot water for tea, FRESH fruit, juice (apple/orange), waffles (regular/blueberry), several choices of breads (even Danish), cold and hot cereals, yogurts, boiled eggs. All of this comes with your room. There was a staff member (TC) there every morning, greeting you with a smile and offering to make you that delicious waffle :-) !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. We strive to offer great service and have a wonderful breakfast to start your day. We are glad you had a great Elvis Week and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, La, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a family reunion in Memphis, TN and stayed there 3 nights. The customer service was great and we really enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again and would also recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Memphis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We use all comments to help improve our service for all our guest. We are happy you had a wonderful stay as this is always our goal. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable -- microwave, refrigerator -- air worked well. Best part = a non-smoking hotel!! The area wasn't the greatest, but not too bad. Also, this hotel was conveniently located to Graceland, which was our main destination in Memphis. The front desk personnel were nice, as was the service. The beds were comfortable. The hot breakfast was pretty good, although the eggs were instant. The price of the hotel was reasonable, as well. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments in regard to your recent stay in Memphis, We love our beds and am glad you agree. We strive to always deliver great service to all our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Two days ago, we had a breakfast downstairs. When we came back to the room in the third floor in 15 mins later, our room was break in. We lost two laptops, two iPads, one iPhone, one debit card, all credit cards and more than 1000 dollars cash. We called 911 and asked to see the records of cameras. They told us the cameras did not work. We had no money no ID and no friends in memphis. We tried to find out our IDs. We connected the local tv and hoped they can help us. Then the hotel asked us to leave the hotel as soon as possible. We got crazy and had to drive back home which is 600 miles far from memphis without any money. Fortunately, I had one credit card in my bag. We spent 11 hours to drive back home with the only credit card.

This hotel is so so so so terrible!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although it wasn't in the best neighborhood, this hotel was clean and had pleasant staff. We only stayed one night on a stopover during a long road trip, but I can't think of any complaints other than being worried that our car might get broken into while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParaLaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your stay. We are in an older neighborhood but I can assure you that you were safe as was your car. We are happy that you stayed with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our first night in town we stayed at the nearby Comfort Suites I-240 East Airport and vowed to stay somewhere else the second night since we were very disappointed with it. This hotel is only about a mile from the first and a much better choice although still not a memorable stay.

When we first got to our room on the top (3rd) floor around 9:00 pm the a/c was off and the room was terribly hot. I'd guess at least 95 degrees from the sun shining in the open shades of the window all day. It took a 1 1/2 hours for it to cool off enough to sleep comfortably.

Overall condition was better and cleaner than the other hotel the night before. The room was quiet and large and check in/out was very smooth and easy. Breakfast was a little lacking with only what seemed to be instant scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy. There were also boiled eggs, cereal and oranges. Also a single waffle maker with 8 people waiting in line to make theres. Both coffee dispensers were empty until refilled just as were leaving.

At $89 plus tax I would probably stay there again in order to be away from the higher downtown area but will look for a better place if one can be found.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottagocit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you chose to stay with us after your first night not being exactly as you would like. I am sorry that the A/C was not on in your room. This was an oversight and your comments will help us ensure that this does not happen again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#55 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Address: 4225 American Way, Memphis, TN 38118-2014 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing