We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Whatever the reason you are in Memphis for this location is wonderful and we felt safe and secure. If it's personal or business run for reservations before all the rooms are gone. It's across the street from the University of Memphis so I'm sure it's booked far in advance for events the school has.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found it to feel "safe and secure". We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Even better than the first. I checked in late. No problem. Brian at the desk upgraded me to the PRESIDENTAL SUITE! Holly Molly. 2 sinks, 2 huge rooms, a refrigerator as big at the one at my home. Brian welcomed me as a platinum member, gave me my points at treated me like I was the most important person in the place. You just can't ask for better treatment than this.
I am thinking about staying here until they forcibly evict me, LOL.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I am so glad that Brian took such good care of you! We are glad to have him as a part of our team! I will be sure to share your review with him. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is some distance from downtown and public transport is scarce, so be prepared to travel by taxi to downtown attractions or Graceland. Fares are reasonable between $20-25 respectively.

The hotel room was large and facilities adequate but attention to cleanliness of the bathroom was lacking and detracted from the overall satisfaction of our stay. Renovation, particularly of the bathroom is well overdue.

The breakfast had a good variety from which to choose and table service provided.

The airport shuttle service was advantageous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I will pass your comments about the bathroom on to our owners. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel....4 years separated the visits. This visit was as perfect as initial stay! Staff very kind, quality of cleaning ~ perfect...beds slept perfectly! Amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I am glad you found your second stay as memorable as the first. I hope you don't wait four years this time to come back! We look forward to having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn, located across from the University of Memphis. Room was a suite with comfortable beds; pillows, however, were uncomfortable--hard. Close to downtown, free parking is a plus. Staff was nice. Facilities and room were clean, but bathtub showed flaking enamel.

Room Tip: We always request high floor away from elevator to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLHyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We appreciate you taking time to write a review. We are glad you found your room to be clean and the staff friendly. The good news, we have just replaced all of our pillows. We value your patronage and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Love staying at this hotel any time out of the year! Great for visiting the UofM and any East Memphis area. If you're a student or a parent of student you get a room discount. The only thing that I wish was different: free breakfast. Call me cheap but it's the best part about staying in a hotel!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the nice review! we look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here while in town for a fencing competition. It may not have been as convenient as staying downtown but we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful, the property was in good condition, and the rooms are very comfortable (how can you beat a suite!). We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves in Memphis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We are so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to see you again when you are in Memphis. Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Memphis-Wolfchase Galleria
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#27 of 138 in Memphis
777 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis

Address: 3700 Central Ave, Memphis, TN 38111-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £99 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel University of Memphis is an all-suite hotel centrally located in the heart of Memphis and easily accessible to downtown, the airport, and shopping. This hotel is a five-time TorchBearer Winner and features a beautifully decorated atrium, Medallion Restaurant, Central Grill, Medallion Lounge, fitness center, specialty gift shop and 14,000 square feet of meeting space! Adjacent to the University of Memphis Fogelman Executive Conference Center with another 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Due to the high quality of our bedding and furniture, pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Univ of Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Univ Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing