We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a great hotel with a great price. My room was nice and big, everything was clean, and the desk staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that housekeeping didn't get to my room until fairly late in the day -- past the 3:00pm check-in time. Other than that, I was thrilled with my experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

5 minutes after we got in the room the front desk called to see if we liked it. So nice!! Some cosmetic things- the fan in the bathroom didn't work, cracks in the wall etc but nothing major. Very nice people work here. Breakfast was so-so... The eggs were in a garbage bag in the back- I saw cause the door was open. But oatmeal and coffee was good enough for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caraleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were in Memphis for a job interview and chose this hotel based on the reviews and the more reasonable hotel rate compared to the other higher rated hotels in the area. We were not disappointed with our choice. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had the king bed with sofabed type room which also came with a nice sized desk, refrigerator, microwave, and small bar-type sink. There were even disposable plates and silverware provided in case you needed them. The room was very quiet and we rarely heard noise from any of the other guests. You are a little distance from downtown but it wasn't hard to get to where we were going using the interstate system around the city.

Room Tip: Stay on the side not facing the highway to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were in Memphis on business & found this hotel at a reasonable rate. The staff was friendly, the room was clean with a flat screen TV, fridge & microwave and on the weekdays the breakfast was fine (apparently on the weekends they serve no meat & take away the pancake maker). The weekend we were there, according to other guests, the Internet was down, but we had carried our own internet card, so it wasn't a problem for us. We had come in from a long day on the Saturday of our stay and entered the room to find that our room had not been made up...BIG COMPLIMENTS to Claudette (always cheerful, at front desk) who came to our room with towels and actually made our bed for us. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised at the friendly service and immaculate surroundings. My last stay at a Holiday had not been a good one.
I was greeted with a goody bag and a smile.
The shuttle to the airport was on time the next morning and off I went, rested, well-fed and happy to catch my plane.
On my return the plane was very late and the shuttle driver had left. I took a taxi but they knocked enough off of my room rate to make up for it. I will definitely stay there again and I heartily recommend this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Both rooms that I had were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mensamule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here one night on a brief visit to Memphis. The facility was clean and neat. It's located in a very nice area very close to Germantown, and about 15 minutes to downtown Memphis. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and new.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BamBam36582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Try to walk through the lobby of this hotel without having someone say "hello"...can't do it. We were attending a wedding in Memphis and this was the "wedding" hotel. Having stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels before, we expected pretty much the same...not so. We had called directly to the hotel to make our reservations. As they were a little complicated and I even had to make some last minute changes, everything was perfect...thank you Chautauqua! A special thank you to Claudette and Andrea who made us feel very at home and seemed as excited about the wedding as we were.
The room was nice and spacious with a separate sink/micowave/fridge (no freezer) and plates, cups etc. The internet connection was good, albeit when the soccer teams filled the hotel, things slowed down a bit. Breakfast was very good. On the weekdays there was bacon or sausage along with the preformed omlets. I did note that the pancake machine disappeared over the weekend as did the cream/milk pitchers...I did not care for those changes. All in all, a very pleasant experience. We would consider staying here again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the freeway side. Not too much road noise but we were there in a col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingGrammy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#26 of 138 in Memphis
768 reviews
6.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind

Address: 4068 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#20 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £87 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now with brand new 32" Hi Def flat screen TVs and HD channels!! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis-Hacks Cross is a beautiful hotel located at Hwy 385/Bill Morris Pkwy and Hacks Cross road in Memphis, TN. Just 1.5 miles from FedEx World Headquarters and Mike Rose Soccer Complex. We are also conveniently located to Carriage Crossing Mall, restaurants, Germantown and Collierville and only a short drive to Beale Street, Graceland, the Memphis Zoo, Fed Ex Forum, and downtown. This hotel offers free hot breakfast, daily, wireless high-speed Internet and business center. Visit Memphis, TN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing