We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for walking to Beale Street, the River, or Ball Park. We stayed in a two bedroom suite on the 5th floor (508) and loved it. The room was spacious and comfortable with a pleasant view of the River. It is a beautiful old historic building with lots of character. There is an amazing rooftop garden that no one told us about, but we discovered by accident on our last night there. Make sure that you go up there, especially in the evening. The entire staff was very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great. Minor gripes: street noise can be heard all night, even on the 5th floor and our floor had recently been refurbished, but not to the standard of most Marriott's (sloppy paint trim and room numbers falling off). Those were minor annoyances though and we would definitely return to this hotel. There is an excellent restaurant next door (McEwen's) that I highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TheOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank You for review and for taking the time to share your stay on our Trip Advisor Page. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our Two Bedroom Two Bath Suites. They offer plenty of space to rest and unwind.

We are very lucky to have many great restaurants and attractions just steps away! Happy to hear you enjoyed McEwen's on Monroe too-they also provide provide room service to our guests.

Sincerely,
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

As part of our summer road trip we spent a couple of days in Memphis. The Residence Inn was our home base. We could not have picked a better spot. Great location, great old art deco building. Staff was outstanding. We had a 2 bedroom suite, and had plenty of room. Full kitchen and eating space. The AM breakfast was good as was the evening beer and wine. We had a pretty full schedule, but we did take the kids to the park down by the river for some frisbee. Also strolled over to Beele street for lunch. Great spot, would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for making the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown your home away from home during your Summer Road Trip! We appreciate your business and so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Have a great Summer!
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel easy to find for Memphis newcomers. We stayed in a 2-bedroom (queen beds) 2-bath suite on 5th floor (3 humans; 2 dogs) and we could not have been more pleased with the room. The suite spanned the building with a large number of windows with excellent views in all directions (hint: light blocking curtains but still light coming through around edges esp. since we were at level of the hotel street sign. The street noise doesn't dim til after midnight so bring earplugs). Pullout couch comfy, nice desk, living/dining areas large and kitchen was huge. We arrived in time to enjoy the manager's reception (Mr. Carl Washington rocks!) of chili dogs, snacks and ice cream floats made by Mr. Washington which was much welcomed after 8hr drive. Breakfast was included in price and was very good and filling. The hotels location was central to restaurants, dog-walking areas/parks, Beale Street, and Walgreens was around the block. Felt safe at parks even though lots of bums but bike police present and lots of security cameras. Staff (esp ladies in dining area) and management could not have been any friendlier, they always smiled, said hello, and were quite accommodating. We used valet parking for our convenience and they were quick and courteous. Only negative comment is quality of the internet in the room (needs a booster). We had a hard time getting any signal and it dropped out constantly which was frustrating as we were searching internet for Memphis to-do spots. Will definitely 100% stay here when we return to Memphis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are happy to hear that you and your 4- legged friends had a wonderful stay in Memphis!
Thank you for taking time to share your stay on our Trip Advisor Site-we do our best to make sure all our guests received outstanding guest service

Hope to see you again soon!
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This historical hotel had been refurbished, and it's wonderful. It has the old style flavor and decor, but with the modern conveniences. Got a good rate, and it's close to AutoZone Park, and Beale Street. I really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our property is a high rise in the heart of downtown Memphis is listed on the National Historic Registry. We hope to have you back again soon!

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we stayed in this property for our honeymoon in 2013 they were doing major renovations to the hotel. We rented a studio and stayed 4 (very enjoyable) nights. It was really great to be able to pick up snacks and drinks at a store and not have to pay super-high prices for everything.

You can't beat the location for getting around Memphis, and the front-desk staff were great! The hotel was gorgeous even during renovations, so can only imagine how nice it is now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitedid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for coming back and celebrating your anniversary at the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown! We appreciate you feedback and look forward to have you back again!

Thank You again for your business and for sharing your great comments!
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This Residence Inn is at a good location, close to Beale St, close to the riverboats etc. But what really makes it a good spot are the employees. Everyone was friendly and a special shout out to Mr. Carl Washington who helped out us with anything we needed. The rooms are great and the rooftop lounge area gives you some great views.

Room Tip: Had the extra large suite up high on the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We appreciate your great feedback! Also thank you for acknowledging Carl-we are very lucky to have him as part of our team! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and its' great location to Beale Street and the amazing restaurants and attractions.

Sincerely,
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great base for a stay in downtown Memphis, in fact it is just a couple of blocks away from Beale Street, just a short walk and with easy road access to the freeway. The building is old however has a great feel about it and the studios are very well furnished. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We missed breakfast because we had too much fun on Beale Street during the evening :-). Parking is nearby and is $8 pernight self park or $18 valet park. I will definately stay here again when I visit Memphis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exigeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank You for staying at the Historic Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown-we are listed on the National Historic Registry! We appreciate you and your business. Glad to hear you enjoyed Beale and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you
Tracey Henninger,CMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £127 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing