We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brass Door

The Brass Door
Ranked #149 of 1,436 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Different menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having been to Ireland, didn't need to try Irish dishes but had the goat cheese appetizer, crab soup and creme brûlée. All were excellent. Owner did a good job converting this from the tobacco store it was to a pub atmosphere. Service excellent. Would come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandMDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Irish New Yorkers are a tough audience to please but we were delighted with the ambiance, the service and the food of this local Irish pub. Our appetizers of goat cheese fritters were outstanding and could have been my dinner. I had the marinated chicken sandwich on sour dough bread with Guinness mayonnaise and OMG! Out of this world. Bill came to only $54 with 2 drinks each. Fabulous!! It's a little off the beaten path which makes it even more appealing. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was our second time to come for weekend brunch - You can't get better service. The irish breakfast is different, but worth trying. Excellent. The bloody mary was good, needed extra kick and the bartender was very gracious to kick it up a notch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBH913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Irish for all of us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I are locals. The Brass Door is our neighborhood pub. The people are friendly, the food very good, the decor remarkable, and the feel to this place is as good as any Irish pub you will find in Chicago or New York. The owners have done a wonderful job in bringing to life the essense of what a friendly, local pub should be. So if you are just visiting Memphis for a short time, pop into The Brass Door. Say hello to the owner Seamus, and before you finish your first pint of Harp, you will be a local too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm in Love With This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

The Brass Door is in a really old building on Madison in Memphis. What a great place! Irish music on CD (the waitress said the name of the band playing was The Bollox), great antique fixtures, nice staff.

We went for lunch; the club sandwich was one of the best I've had, with skins-on fries. The lunch menu isn't anything fancy, but the prices are good and the food is good and filling. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brass Door also viewed

 

Been to The Brass Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing