We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Why did I wait so long....”

Vietnamese Lotus Restaurant
Ranked #265 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
memphis,tn
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Wow! Why did I wait so long....”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have only heard outstanding things about Lotus. It took a friend from another
city to tell me how great it was, before I made the trip. The service and wait is long, but well worth it. The pho is incredible. It's magic in a bowl. The owner is very personable and nice.
The egg rolls were amazing too. The dipping sauces seal the deal. Food perfection.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thompson32154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very tasty Vietnamese food worth waiting for!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have been to Lotus many times over several years but I always get the same thing, a spring roll, the garlic shrimp and jasmine tea. They are just so good, I can't seem to order anything else! You can order the food either not spicy, mild, medium, hot or very hot and there are options for vegetarians as well The restaurant is only open for dinner. It does not look like much from the outside. It is very casual and the prices are reasonable. The garlic shrimp meal was $12. It came with rice and I had enough to have leftovers for lunch the next day. The service is very slow. We were there for at least an hour and a half and this was on a Monday evening when it wasn't that crowded. I have been going to this place for over 15 years and it has always been like this. Basically it's just the owner, who is the server, and maybe one or two people in the kitchen. This is not the place you go to dinner if you are in a hurry but the food is worth the wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank skupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Been Going Here 30 Years”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Even after moving away from here I still came here with my parents whenever I came to Memphis to see family and friends. This Vietnamese food is the greatest. Let me warn you, from the time you order until you get your food, it takes a long time. The reason is because they make it all from scratch and it is worth the wait. Call ahead and tell them how many people and what you want and it is usually ready when you get there. This place is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh food!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Delicious traditional vietnamese food. So fresh! And the owner is very pleasant. Like to talk a lot :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank teoteoAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What were the other reviewers thinking??”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We went there based on other reviews, and could only wonder what people were thinking. The 2+ hour wait was not anywhere near worth it. It was 30 degrees outside, and 56 degrees inside, cuddled in a corner and sitting next to a small space heater. Cold air drafted in through gaps in the wall where the air conditioning units were situated, as well as through the poorly insulated windows. Our feet were freezing. Everyone in the restaurant kept their coats on.

We waited well over an hour for two spring rolls to arrive, another 30 minutes for hot and sour soup, and then another thirty minutes for the entrees, lemongrass chicken and lotus shrimp. Everyone else seemed to have a similar wait.

And the food was nothing special. I have made better spring rolls in my own kitchen, can get better hot and sour soup at the most average Chinese restaurant, and the seasoning on the entrees was unimaginative and unappealing.

We were hugely disappointed in the service, in the atmosphere, and especially in the food. It was the food that was promised to make up for the other "inconveniences" of a long wait and poor atmosphere, but the food was at the same level as everything else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdsmom2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vietnamese Lotus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vietnamese Lotus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing