We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best beef in memphis; best fried dill pickles in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse

Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best beef in memphis; best fried dill pickles in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

one of our favorite restaurants. Great aged cuts of beef, crab legs, lobster, and enough sides and salads to make my vegetarian bride smile. We both love the fried dill pickles and the wine list is one of the best in this part of the country. Our favorite place for special celebrations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    29
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT FOOD PERFECT EVENING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The food at Folks Folly was absolutely perfect. We were a group of 8 adults and were in one of the private rooms. The serving staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. The chairs are comfortable for sitting and dining for several hours. The food was perfect. The sea bass in a lemon sauce was the best preparation anyone had tasted. We had most of the specials. The lobster bisque, she crab soup, beef bites and shrimp cocktail were all excellent. The large lobster tail is huge and was perfectly cooked. And it is wonderful to go to a steak house that still puts their clarified butter over a warmer. Three of the men had the rib eye steaks. They each had different preparations added to their steaks. All rated the beef as excellent and perfectly cooked.There are many sides to choose from. We had two vegetarians in the group. The sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, and scalloped potatoes were all excellent. The asparagus with hollandaise and the sauteed mushrooms were delicious. The desert sampler was excellent. We all decided that this was an absolutely perfect evening. Thanks to Folks Folly for making our celebration so wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebHighPoint_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Folk's Folly - consistently excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've dined at Folk's Folly on a few occasions and just as in the past this was an excellent dinner. Good atmosphere, great service and really, really good steaks. This is what a good steakhouse should be.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Royally Screwed Up My Order”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Only in town for one night and asked my client where to go and they said Folk's Folly. Sat at the bar and my order got totally messed up. I had waited for a good while before it came out, but everything but the broccoli came out opposite from the way I ordered it. They offered to cook another steak but I had already waited long enough. Maybe this was a random mistake but you only have one chance at a first impression. I won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Superdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is a Prime Steakhouse. The setting is private and elegant. The food and wine were exquisite. I came with 6 family members for a graduation celebration. The only drawback was the service: I felt rushed to order; our food came very quickly; they cleared plates before all were finished eating. The price is very expensive but worth it. Key Lime Pie was not very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redee2GoGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Folk's Folly Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing