We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place for history”
Review of Elmwood Cemetery

Elmwood Cemetery
Ranked #12 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a great place for history”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Elmwood cemetery is a must see in memphis
We done the audio tour and was surprised at the history of this cemetery. If you like history, architecture or just want to visit one of the most famous places in Memphis this is a must.
This is a driving tour which last about one and a half hours though you could spend all day here discovering the different graves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    99
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
358 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Best to see with the audio tour”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent Xmas day last year touring this place. I know, strange, right? We had nowhere to be and no family here, so we packed up Miss Elsa and went on the tour through the cemetery. I had ordered my husband the audio CD, so we listened to that at the different stations around the cemetery. I can imagine the tour would've been short and kind of boring with out the audio accompaniment. There is lots to be learned here about how the city of Memphis was shaped. Definitely worth a visit if you are from Memphis or just visiting the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank theREALmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fisherville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
208 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Monuments & Nice walking”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Take a little stroll around the elementary and marvel at the nice monuments and landscaped views. Our personal favorite was the swing set up near the grave. That is a great idea.

When we went, it was blisteringly hot, but I imagine that going on non-humid days is a real treat. It is easy to spend your afternoon here, walking off the night before, and then be ready to head back and shower before Beale St again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Venue for my great-niece's wedding on 9-7-13”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The wedding was held in the quaint chapel on the grounds. It is a small but beautiful place.I was skeptical about a wedding being held on cemetery grounds, but it was an elegant affair.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrinceJr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A beautiful cemetery and neat Audio CD tour!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We arrived here on a Saturday afternoon, shortly after the offices closed for the day, but thankfully a nice worker who was there was still able to sell us the CD audio tour of the cemetery. The cd is very well laid out and gives plenty of neat information and stories of so many people buried there, it took us roughly 2 hours to complete, that includes stopping now and then to take pictures. The map itself of the tour is also very well laid out and easy to follow, however there are a few very well known civil war officers that are buried there that were not listed, hope to make it back there and find them.

Overall, if you are a lover of history & cemeteries like us, this is definitely a place to check out if you are ever in Memphis!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bam_and_maize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elmwood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Elmwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing