We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location and stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We decided to stay one night in Memphis and selected this hotel after reviewing the trip advisor reviews. We were happy with the experience. Friendly staff at check in, free on-site parking, quiet area, clean room. We decided to take a taxi out that evening and it was a reasonable fee. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    157
    55
    22
    13
See reviews for
79
163
24
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a pleasant 3 night stay at the Gen X hotel. Access to/from the interstate highway is quite good but can be a bit tricky depending upon which way you are going and a GPS is helpful. The services provided were exactly what we expect from a BW hotel...very good. We had a king room on the top floor and found it very comfortable and quiet. This is a smaller hotel in terms of the number or rooms, which we also liked. We used the streetcar on 2 of the days to travel to and from the downtown center, which worked out very well. The streetcar stops are a couple of long blocks on either side of the hotel (you will need exact fare).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Old_Silver_Fox_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel itself is well located close to Beale street, with very clean, beautiful accommodations. However, Best Western screwed up our reservations. I was traveling with 23 students and they provided me with 5 rooms with double beds and 3 with singles, even though I booked 7 rooms with double beds. The front desk person, Kalvin, was terse to the point of rudeness and laid the blame for the problem squarely on me, with no hint of sympathy for the predicament I was in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank SEHendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff went above and beyond. They provided maps, directions and phone numbers. They were very professional but friendly. I felt they really wanted our stay to be exceptional. I would gladly stay there again, which was the general consensus of the group. Can't wait to return to Memphis TN.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERRY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel stay was nice. Hotel was clean and friendly staff. Breakfast could be better and the tissue, breakfast napkins and room kleenex needs to be of a better brand and not the cheap brand. Location is good. I will definitely return to Best Western wherever I travel in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were traveling back from Mississippi, but the weather was bad, and we couldn't drive safely on the roads in Arkansas. We had called several other hotels, and finally were able to book the last room at Best Western. The front desk lady was friendly and helpful when we first arrived, she suggested places to eat, but the electricity had been out and most restaurants were closed. The elevator seemed very old and smelled strongly, but the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms are painted too dark, but overall a good stay for the price, and we were lucky to find a hotel with a room to get off the roads.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank brndnknr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Customer service was outstanding! Linda was very professional, accommodating and very helpful. she answered many of my questions! I recommend Linda for employee of the month. She is an asset to Best Western Gen X. Good job Linda.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1.8 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing