We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to Beale St.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to Beale St.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean, safe location yet only 2miles from Beale Street, 1 mile from Sun Records. Off street Parking although only fenced but one drive in and out. I would recommend to friends and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crbarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    164
    59
    22
    13
See reviews for
85
166
24
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean, close to everything. Bed is very comfortable. Nice lobby.
Rooms are big. Linda is great! We made a mess with our cooler in the lobby. She was so sweet about the situation. Give that woman a raise!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Actual hotel itself was nice enough on the inside but the area hotel was situated in didn't feel the safest – but then again it is Memphis. Sun studio is just down the road from the hotel but I wouldn't be walking it even in daylight. The basin and vanity is inside the room not the actual bathroom which is a bit strange but other than that the room was really comfortable and clean. Decent enough selection at breakfast but waffle machine needs to be replaced and kept clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this best western for 2 nights (Fri - Sun). Our reservation was correct upon arrival and Linda was even able to accomodate 2 rooms right next to each other. The rooms were clean and big enough for all of our items. The bathroom was clean and the amenities were in order. Family members ate breakfast in the hotel both mornings. There was a good variety for a free breakfast. Empty options were refilled upon request. The lobby was quiet and so was the hotel overall. The location was great - note that the trolley system in Memphis has ended, but we got along just fine in our car. We were very very close to downtown and every place we wanted to visit downtown was within 5 mins. A taxi ride to Beale St was $9 for 2 people. Overall pretty good and there is a fridge in each room which is handy. The rooms looked like they had been updated recently and if not they are in good shape.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It small but guess what, we are only changing clothes and sleeping here, it' s clean and it looks like it was recently updated. Everything looks new and fresh. Staff really nice, and accommodating and it's a great value for the money. No, it not in the best area of town, but the parking lot look secure, and you need a key to enter the building, or be buzzed into the hotel, and someone is on duty 24 hrs. Once again the room, bathroom, and elevators are small, but it's really nice.

Room Tip: We got the end room, and it seemed larger than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tamika was absolutely wonderful, helpful and efficient. We spoke with her to make the reservation, check-in and check-out and she was always friendly helpful and efficient. She was also the person that attended to the breakfast area while taking care of the front desk. Quite a worker and asset to this property.

The hotel is probably the smallest we have ever stayed in. It was really quaint, clean, friendly staff and well run. It was one of the nicest "on the road" stays we have ever experienced. We would definitely stay there again and refer anyone traveling in that area to stay there as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank web123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is probably the smallest we have ever stayed in. It was really quaint, clean, friendly staff and well run. It was one of the nicest "on the road" stays we have ever experienced. We would definitely stay there again and refer anyone traveling in that area to stay there as well. Tamika was absolutely wonderful, helpful and efficient. We spoke with her to make the reservation, check-in and check-out and she was always friendly helpful and efficient. She was also the person that attended to the breakfast area while taking care of the front desk. Quite a worker and asset to this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank web123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
1.8 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gen X Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gen X Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
Address: 1177 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gen X Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Gen X Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gen x Hotel Memphis
Gen x Hotel
Gen x Memphis
Gen x Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing