We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best performance venue”
Review of Handy Park

Handy Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$10.00*
and up
Downtown Memphis Beale Street Walking Tour
Ranked #87 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Attraction details
Saint James, Missouri
Level Contributor
272 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Not the best performance venue”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It has potential - there are some seats, and some grass, but it's pretty much an oasis in the city, so it can be hot, hot, hot (and not just the music). Not much shade. Performers are hit or miss - you'll either love or hate them. While there was a lot of police presence outside the park, there didn't seem to be any inside (and we left after seeing what appeared to be some drug transactions occurring in the early evening - didn't want to get caught up in that scene).

You can hear the music from lots of places outside the park - and be safer and more comfortable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Basic Booze No Cocktails”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The bartender makes no specialty cocktails so don’t ask if you don’t want a rude response. I asked for a French connection and he waved his hand and said ‘I don’t know what that is’. So jack and coke it was for the night. It was a small bar with somewhat of a karaoke band because the little old man singing sat down the entire time and in-between notes he would try and catch people off the street to come in. There is a wall of any type of liquor you may want lined up except for grand marnier liqueur. So I guess it’s safe to say this is a man’s bar and no catering to the women. It was cool just to sit around and hear the little band sing for perhaps 30 minutes or so and keep it moving to the next.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A nice central spot”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A nice central spot, we were able to watch and listen from our hotel room at Hampton Inn and Suites. Good range of performers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 928K928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great music, average park, became uncomfortable”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I and friends went to this park as we walked up Beale St. during the day. The music was great, they were set up on a side stage. When a band member started to pass the hat for donations or trying to sell their cd many people left and looked uncomfortable at the propositioning. The band had an orange bucket for donations near the stage but it didn't say anything to let people know this was the case. This situation can be handled differently. Two businesses on Beale had told us that Handy Park had public restrooms, not the case as restrooms were locked. We called the visitor center to ask where to find public restrooms (get the number). The park does not look well maintained as there is no longer any grass-bare dirt, at least it is a clean area. It could be much better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SubicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great venue for outdoor music”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Right around the corner from Beale St. They've got a good setup, cheap giant beers, and good music. They had Lonestar here last night and they played a lot of good hits. Definitely worth stopping at if you're around the Beale st. Area and want a free concert.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Handy Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing