We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Handy Park
from US$15.00
More Info
from US$20.00
More Info
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
10
14
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
14
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free music outdoor venue great music beale street concert statue blues
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It has potential - there are some seats, and some grass, but it's pretty much an oasis in the city, so it can be hot, hot, hot (and not just the music). Not much shade. Performers are hit or miss - you'll either love or hate them. While there was a lot of police presence outside the park, there didn't seem to be any inside (and we left after seeing what appeared to be some drug transactions occurring in the early evening - didn't want to get caught up in that scene).

You can hear the music from lots of places outside the park - and be safer and more comfortable.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Ian411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The bartender makes no specialty cocktails so don’t ask if you don’t want a rude response. I asked for a French connection and he waved his hand and said ‘I don’t know what that is’. So jack and coke it was for the night. It was a small bar with somewhat of a karaoke band because the little old man singing sat down the entire time and in-between notes he would try and catch people off the street to come in. There is a wall of any type of liquor you may want lined up except for grand marnier liqueur. So I guess it’s safe to say this is a man’s bar and no catering to the women. It was cool just to sit around and hear the little band sing for perhaps 30 minutes or so and keep it moving to the next.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank Tarra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A nice central spot, we were able to watch and listen from our hotel room at Hampton Inn and Suites. Good range of performers.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Kathryn William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I and friends went to this park as we walked up Beale St. during the day. The music was great, they were set up on a side stage. When a band member started to pass the hat for donations or trying to sell their cd many people left and looked uncomfortable at the propositioning. The band had an orange bucket for donations near the stage but it didn't say anything to let people know this was the case. This situation can be handled differently. Two businesses on Beale had told us that Handy Park had public restrooms, not the case as restrooms were locked. We called the visitor center to ask where to find public restrooms (get the number). The park does not look well maintained as there is no longer any grass-bare dirt, at least it is a clean area. It could be much better.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank SubicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Right around the corner from Beale St. They've got a good setup, cheap giant beers, and good music. They had Lonestar here last night and they played a lot of good hits. Definitely worth stopping at if you're around the Beale st. Area and want a free concert.

1  Thank BenD941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews