We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible weekend at this hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
atlanta ga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible weekend at this hotel!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

we spent the weekend in memphis for a wedding , sept.20 and 21st. This hotel needs alot of work,, our friends were ROBBED in this hotel! The doors to the rooms DO NOT close automatically. Every time we left the room , we had to remember to go back and close the door.. Our friends were ROBBED of all their jewelry, electronics and wallets!! Someone simply walked in the unclosed door and robbed them while they were sleeping. !!
The valet was a nightmare! The entire road in front of the Westin was blocked off for a concert.. We could not get our car in a timely manor . The Westin had no plan in place to take care of this and they were totally full of guests, many whom had weddings to attend in Memphis. We had to wind our way thru the restaurant and out a side door to find the valet. The person at the front desk was rude and frustrated and had no answers.. she needed more help. . They charge for internet , which i thought was free. There was one bartender in the bar that was very unprofessional and spent alot of time flirting with a customer . It was so bad that we know of one couple who simply left and went to another hotel . This is not the standard the we expect from a Westin.. Avoid this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwmj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    333
    143
    89
    94
See reviews for
192
447
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

In like with Westin quality around the country. New and nice amenities, clean and nice staff. Conveniently situation on Beale street in Memphis next to the Fedex arena. Restaurant is very nice and valet is prompt and responsive. Recommended in Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorGSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

I have a reservation scheduled for an upcoming reservation that I made through Priceline which I later learned books through booking.com. Based on Glenn's experience, I called the Westin and found out that they have no record of my reservation! I contacted Priceline, then bookings.com, and they said they would re-confirm, but that was hours ago and not a word. I am a Starwood Gold member and the only reason I booked thru Priceline was because the Starwood site showed the hotel was sold out. I am not sure if this is a Starwood or a Priceline problem, but in any event, check your reservation if you have booked through a third party!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

On August 25, 2013 I booked a room at the Beale Street Westin hotel, through Bookings.com. Bookings confirmed the the room for today and tomorrow September 17 and 18. I also contacted the hotel on September 16th and talked with Lenette and she told me that they had not received the confirmation. She said to contact Bookings and they will provide me with a room. I contacted Bookings Kasandra and she forwarded me an email confirming the booking starting today. I drove from Louisville, Kentucky to Memphis, Tennesee to find out that I didn't have a room. They said they were sold out. The booking was three weeks ago and when I booked it there were 5 room remaining at that hotel. The manager, who not only didn't even speak with me, but the desk gave me the generic business card for the hotel, not the managers name. Whoever he/she is, I believe corporate should do a independent check on this entire hotel. The reason that I called yesterday to check on the room status is because others have complained here about this hotel overbooking and people arriving and finding that they didn't have a room. The hotel attitude was "too bad, so sad."

I just went to the Westin Corporate site and found out that in order to file a complaint you have to give them $25.00. What an organization, unbelievable ! ! !

I can honestly tell you that they are the most unprofessional staff that I have ever encountered, in 35+ years of travelling the world.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean, secure, spacious, and cool. Perfect!
The staff, incredible= knowledgable and helpful. This place is the quintessential example of southern hospitality. Great location. Starbucks attached to the hotel. Looking forward to another stay. With love from NYC

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Westin for 5 nights and the location couldn't have been better! Our room faced the Gibson Guitar Factory and was very quiet. The service was wonderful and the rooms were clean. We could walk everywhere from the hotel. They even provide free bottle water in the room. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but it was good. Our server on most days was Keisha and she was great. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Gibson Guitar Factory if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at The Westin Memphis Beale Street for two nights. My flight was quite early in the morning - wedding events started that afternoon. The front desk did everything possible to secure me an early check-in so I could freshen up before the wedding events.

The room was clean and spacious with plenty of outlets for all of my gadgets. The bathroom was very large - I was assigned a handicapped accessible room so I am not sure if this bathroom is the "normal" size. The toiletries are of high quality so forgo packing your own.

The gym facility could have been cleaner - just seemed to be a little dusty; the female gym bathroom was very clean. The gym equipment was newer and functioned well. I really appreciated the cooling unit stocked with cool cloths and complimentary headphones if you forgot your own - fabulous touch.

There is a hotel lobby bar - extremely expensive and nothing special. Skip this bar and go somewhere else.

The Bleu, the lounge connected to the hotel, was modern and fun. There is a happy hour on weekdays - $5 for house wine among other specials.

Location: The Westin is just one block from Beale Street - the perfect distance. No noise complaints whatsoever. It is across the street from the Gibson guitar factory and the Rock & Soul Museum. Gus' Fried Chicken, Rendezvous, The Peabody, and Majestic Grille are all within walking distance (all 5 blocks or less). I walked to the National Civil Rights Museum & Central BBQ (across the street from one another), although if 1/2 mile is too far, you can easily catch the trolley (there is a trolley stop just 2 blocks from the hotel).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 619. 619 was quiet and faced the Gibson Guitar Factory. Rooms on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#9 of 137 in Memphis
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 137 in Memphis
3,213 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Memphis Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Memphis Beale Street

Property: The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Address: 170 Lt. George Washington Lee Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#18 Family Hotel in Memphis
#22 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Memphis Beale Street 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Memphis hotel is located just behind the world-famous Beale Street, home of the blues, and minutes away from the excitement of the city. We offer guests over 200 hotel rooms and 9 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Memphis Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Memphis Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Westin Memphis Beale Street
Memphis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing