We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and lied to by staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location but had horrible service and was flat out lied to about being sold out and no extra rooms available. We had booked a king but got put into a double, when we called down to ask about changing rooms they said they had none available, however when I called the reservation line acting like I was trying to make a last minute booking there were somehow rooms available. Not what you expect from a Westin and I would most not suggest staying there as this was just one of the unpleasant encounters with the staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay downtown. It is located one block from Beale Street, and across the street from the FedEx Forum and the Rock n Soul Museum. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The only negative was the bed spread had a hole in it and for a hotel of this price this should not have happen. I would stay here again but with the hole in the bed spread at this price level I have to deduct a star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tuggboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BealeStreetHotelier, General Manager at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Tuggboat

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I also want to thank you for your feedback. I believe that great experiences are had because of the attention to details. I want to apologize that we missed a very important detail during your stay. I hope that your travels bring you back to Memphis and if so you allow us the opportunity to provide you with level of detail that we proud ourselves with.

Yours in service,

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Westin Memphis Beale Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed with the children.
First of all the staff was very nice and polite.
The place is very convenient located. I loved it.
Food was nice.
Don't forget to visit de Gibson factory in front of the hotel and the rock and soul museum

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ale_escandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BealeStreetHotelier, General Manager at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear ale_escandon

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad that you were able to visit the Gibson Guitar Factory and the Rock and Soul Museum both are which just steps from our door. If your travels bring you to Memphis again, I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Westin Memphis Beale Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel a little before 3:00 p.m. and did notice that valet parking attendant was also the bell person, and this did slow service up a bit. He was very helpful and did a great job, but at minimum, there should be at least three people working this area. Checking in was a breeze and to my amazement, was informed that the plethora of Gibson guitars enclosed in the glass case in the lobby were available for guests to check out, much like library books. This alone had me planning my next stay with the Westin.

The location is so convenient to everything. The Gibson guitar factory, Beale Street, FedEx arena, the Rock and Soul museum, and the National Civil Rights Museum are all well within walking distance of the hotel. Graceland is about a fifteen minute drive from this hotel, if you feel the need to pay your respects to the king. We felt very safe, as the police presence is very prominent in the area..

The rooms are well appointed, with the bath area the best part of the room, as it had both a shower and separate tub. Climate control was outstanding, keeping us extremely comfortable for the duration of our stay. We asked for and received an extra refrigerator for our perishables at no cost. There is no pool and the room can get noisy into the early hours of the morning. But this is a small price to pay for the location and safety provided by this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Gibson guitar factory if possible. Otherwise, bring ear plugs if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank VHG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BealeStreetHotelier, General Manager at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear VHG2013

It’s great to hear that before you left you were already thinking about planning another stay with us. I am very happy that our staff, your room and location were pleasing to you. We take our guests security very seriously. It is very rewarding to hear that you felt safe and secure during your stay. We look forward to you staying with us again and giving us the opportunity to serve you in the future.


Best regards,

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Westin Memphis Beale Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We picked this hotel because of its location and we couldn't have asked for better. It is one block from Beale Street and the Gibson guitar factory is directly across the street. We checked in the Saturday after the 4th. We arrived early. Our room wasn't ready but the nice people at the desk took our information and told us they would give us a call as soon as it became available and they did. The room was great. It was just a basic room, but was still very comfortable and clean. The king-sized bed was so comfortable and cozy. It had a stocked mini bar and snacks for an additional purchase. The chair provided was also comfortable. The bathroom was my favorite. It was modern and had a separate tub and shower. The tub was deep and allowed for soaking if one desired. The shower had a rain shower head and a sprayer attachment. The bathroom had nice tile work and the sink had a granite top. A hairdryer was provided along with a makeup mirror. There were plenty of towels provided. The hotel itself was also modern. The lobby had a nice place to sit and relax. The front desk staff were very personable and pleasant. The lobby also had guitars that guests are allowed to use which is pretty cool in my opinion. The covered parking deck is right next door and attached to the hotel. You can buy an unlimited in and out parking pass at the front desk which is very handy. Will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BealeStreetHotelier, General Manager at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear DelilahDemented

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am very happy to read about your great experiences while here. It is always rewarding to receive compliments about our great team of associates. They work and train very hard to provide the best and most personable service in Memphis. We can’t wait until you come back.

Yours in service,

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Westin Memphis Beale Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Not having been to Memphis before, we picked this hotel for it's proximity to Beale Street since it was on our tourist "to do" list. We found it up to the Westin standards of comfort and cleanliness, and the location was perfect.

There were beautiful guitars in a case in the lobby which I thought was for authentic local decor. But then we saw a young man checking one out like you'd check out like a towel at a beach resort! If I could even play one note, I would have at least given it a try. What a kick!

Beale Street was just a block away (we had a room on the opposite side, so we didn't find it a noise problem). We walked over to Beale Street. The sun hadn't gone down, and it was just starting to get busy on a hot summer Saturday night. So we thought we'd eat first (Rendezvous BBQ - you'll probably have to wait in the alley, but it's worth it). By the time we'd finished our dinner (and we didn't have to wait long and the service was quick), Beale Street was packed. The police barricade for crowd control and only let one "in" for one "out." It makes sense because we watched for a while and it clearly wasn't easy to walk around. However, we wished we'd done that first and eaten later so we could have walked down Beale Street. Next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BealeStreetHotelier, General Manager at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear TravellingFan22

I’m so glad you stayed here as well. Your kind words are much appreciated. I’m pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our guitar program is called "Check in and Rock Out". It is unique to the Westin Memphis Beale Street and very popular. Many guests have written blogs about their experiences with the program. Next time your travels bring you to Memphis we would be excited for the opportunity to serve you again.


Best regards,

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Westin Memphis Beale Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent the weekend of July 4th with the nice people at the Westin-Beale St. At check-in, we were given solid advice for watching fireworks as well as staying safe. Whenever we walked into the foyer, we were greeted by staff and asked if we needed anything. Our room was clean and so very comfortable. After walking Beale St. and Downtown, it was wonderful to come back to our room to stretch out and cool down in the excellent air-conditioning of our room. Thanks, Westin!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomerSooner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BealeStreetHotelier, General Manager at The Westin Memphis Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear BoomerSooner61

It was our pleasure to serve you. I see that our staff directed you to the fireworks show. I hope you were able to enjoy it, the show is amazing. Clean and comfortable rooms and a friendly staff are what we are most proud of. It would be our pleasure to serve you again and we hope that you give us that opportunity.


Yours in service,

Patrick Jordan
General Manager
Westin Memphis Beale Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#11 of 138 in Memphis
2,058 reviews
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Memphis Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Memphis Beale Street

Address: 170 Lt. George Washington Lee Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#18 Family Hotel in Memphis
#22 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £131 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Memphis Beale Street 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Memphis hotel is located just behind the world-famous Beale Street, home of the blues, and minutes away from the excitement of the city. We offer guests over 200 hotel rooms and 9 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Memphis Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Memphis Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Westin Memphis Beale Street
Memphis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing