We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what they said it was”

Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe
Ranked #29 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
st peters
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“not what they said it was”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

When we arrived at the restaurant they would not let us in even though there were only about 10 people in there. We were told that they didn't have enough help and we should wait outside until the extra help the called arrived. We waited because we heard the food was soooooo good. Well, it was not. It was average at best. I was quite disappointed in the waffle that was to go with my chicken and waffle. How do you mess up a waffle. The rest of the food was borderline and not soul food quality. I am not from the south but my grandmom was and I know soul food and this was not it. I recommend you go somewhere else

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrcottoontail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    169
    64
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty Good.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Have been twice. Both times the service was good and the food was done well. The second visit didn't seem as good as the first. I nor anyone I was with tried the chicken and waffles but it looked yummy on other diners tables. The biscuits are really good and the coffee is hot and fresh. Try starting your day off at Miss Polly's!

Helpful?
Thank Fixyourcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
247 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had some fried chicken, it was okay but not amazing. My kid liked her mac and cheese. However, for a place that talks about love peace and chicken grease, I was hoping for better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Princerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
273 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I heard this was the place for chicken and waffles. This place did not Disappoint.The waffles were as big as the moon and the chicken was crispy and delicious. I read the reviews about bad service that was not the case. The staff was friendly and very welcoming. I even struck up a conversation with one of the cooks. He was from Waukegan ,IL just 30 mins from where I live.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stopped by for a late breakfast. The food was really good. Biscuits were huge and tasted wonderful. Service was fast and friendly. The atmosphere was a bit run down but that just made it seem more like a local hangout. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdcamp3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Miss Polly's Soul City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing