We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European style, over-the-top service, great food, expensive linens...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“European style, over-the-top service, great food, expensive linens...”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Classic European (everything except the coffee cups which are big American style), awesome restaurant adjacent, incredible service (all the staff are in crisp black and white uniforms), a nightly turn-down service (polite, uniformed young woman comes to your door with a decanter of wine and a chocolate to leave for you after she turns down your bed), solid wood furniture, beautiful art, incredibly talented pianists every night at the piano bar in the lobby, a view overlooking the mighty Mississippi, the greenway riverwalk, the HarborTown neighborhood also to walk in, a fantastic deli on the corner, a walk's distance to the trolley that takes you downtown...four poster solid wood kingsize bed, very comfy mattress, expensive linens...and all for the price of the downtown Mariott hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a riverside view are really divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheridan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    120
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
603
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We are 50 something seasoned world travelers who are used to the best of the best. This hotel greatly exceeded my highest of expectations. From the manager who is hands on seemimgly all day and night...to the well trained and extremely attentive polite staff. This is a 5 start diamond worth your serious consideration. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer! The hotel is close to downtown however you need a car to get around. Free parking behind the hotel is safe and convenient.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Mississippi are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning (6.45am) having travelled to Memphis on the Amtrak train from Chicago. We thought that we would have to just leave our bags at the desk and check in later in the afternoon. Not so. We were warmly greeted by the girl on reception, upgraded to a suite and told that we could check in straight away. When we had sorted our bags and had a shower we were treated to a gourmet breakfast in the Inn's dining room. The breakfast was superb.
We were only staying for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. The helpful and attentive staff at the hotel made our stay so enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the roof top terrace was a lovely place to have an early evening cocktail and watch the mighty Mississippi flowing by just across the road.
We found it very easy to walk from the hotel to the trolleybus stop at the bottom of Main Street. Takes about 10 minutes. We did that on a couple of occasions and took a cab back to the hotel after dark.
We travelled all over the US for 3 weeks during June 2012 and this hotel was a favourite. Friendly, comfortable and clean. A decanter of port and chocolates was a nice touch at 'turn down' in the evenings. We were even given a packed breakfast with coffee to take with us when we left for an early morning train departure to New Orleans.
Well done River Inn. An experience to remember and savour!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor suite in the annexe. Quiet rooms with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband & I spent one night here & wish we could have stayed longer. From checking in to checking out everything was perfect. The staff was polite, helpful & friendly. We were greeted with a glass of wine which was an unexpected surprise. The room was clean & comfy. The bed was comfortable. There was free parking behind the hotel & we also had a fantastic complimentary breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for luxury in an inn type setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as we were passing through with my husband for my 40th!! On check in we were given a glass of wine , nice touch, our bags were taken swiftly up to our room, the room was lovely and comfy with a view of the river fantastic. we then went up to the roof terrace to enjoy a cocktail and watch the sunset over the river it was beautiful!! we enjoyed a steak dinner then went into downtown!! I cannot fault this hotel perfect location, fantastic view of the river, comfy rooms and faultless staff!! why would you choose another!! We traveled from Atlanta to Lynchburg to Memphis to Tennessee to Clarksdale to Dallas then onto New Orlenes and this was one of the best hotels that we stayed in!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manchesternicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Frmo being offered a glass of wine upon check in, we were impressed by the staff. They were kind and helpful. The hotel sist accross the road from the mighty MIssissippi, in a village enclave , we had a room with a view to the river and it was delihgtful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a carafe of port and chocolates being provided as part of the "Tuen down" service in the evening. A small library greets guests on each landing, and coffe is provided there every morning, so no long strech to the lobby. The best place to stay in Memphis!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teabrewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

You can't imagine a better place to stay. Service is very professional and friendly. Rooms are very cozy. Amazing breakfast. Great location by the river. Very close to downtown. Don't bother to look for another place to stay in Memphis.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing