We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

River Inn is a delightful hotel with European ambiance, a beautiful combination of comfortable and elegant. We enjoyed a glass of wine on arrival, live piano music before a roaring fire in the lobby in the afternoons and a delicious gourmet breakfast every morning - the stone ground grits with cheese were my favorite! Staff is friendly and helpful, steered us well through our time in Memphis. The location is wonderful as well, right on the Mississippi River in a planned community called Harbor Town. In addition to Paulette's at the hotel, there are wonderful places to eat nearby and a hip grocery that offers gourmet foods and organic produce. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, now one of my all-time favorites.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChereCoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    121
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
610
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

River Inn offers a nice combination of comfy with elegance. There's a fire burning in the lobby with a pianist in the late afternoon and every day we enjoyed resting and enjoying the original artwork and live music. The rooms are delightful, the gourmet breakfast delicious and the staff helpful and nice. It reminded us of a quaint European hotel. And the view! The hotel is located right on the Mississippi River so views are spectacular, especially during the sunset. Restaurants, a fun grocery store and other retail outlets are within a short walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed 3 nights in January 2013. We were unsure of the position in Harbor Town as we didn't have a car, but this hotel is a short walk to the trolley that takes you to all the Downtown sights (daily pass $3.50). This hotel doesn't skimp on anything: a welcome glass of wine or sparkling in the lounge (complete with a pianist), fresh coffee in the morning outside your room, nightly port and chocolates and a 1st rate breakfast in the dining room is included. Staff are super friendly and helpful and we couldn't fault anything except we may have put on weight eating such sumptuous breakfasts!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robf255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights in late Septembear early October 2012. We had the most wonderful stay here. Very easy drive to all Memphis attractions. Beautiful decor, rooms very clean and the staff were attentive and warmly friendly. Breakfast was a treat, included a varied menu of tasty delights. We had a river view room and enjoyed a wonderfully restful sleep every night. We dined in the restauraunt twice and each time was a really beautiful dining experience. Will return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the best place to stay, relax and be pampered. We stayed here for our New Year's Eve night and the service is very accommodating and impeccably good taste. The 4 course dinner at Paulette's was amazing. They have the best Chef and service! The view of the Mississippi River from our room was very enjoyable. We will be back again and again. We give them a perfect 10!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Mighty Mississippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAOcrossfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

You can't go wrong staying at the River Inn. Harbor Town itself offers this boutique hotel up as a worthwhile staycation (if you're a Memphian) or the perfect place for a getaway/business trip - doesn't matter what the occasion, the River Inn will not disappoint. One of Memphis's trademark, historical restaurants, Paulette's, has been relocated from old midtown right into the heart of this hotel (first floor) - an added treat.

It's spoiled by its location being at the edge of both Harbor Town and downtown (with quick access to I-40), you can't go wrong with this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveMangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Having stayed in The Peabody several times and at Talbot Heirs Inn, my husband and i think The River Inn is simply The Best. The hotel is decorated in impeccably good taste, the bed and pillows were perfect, service was impeccable, and, although it may seem strange, I was pleased that none of the bath accoutrements were "nailed down". I think you know what I'm saying.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacemakerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 136 in Memphis
338 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing