We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience of my visit to the River Inn of Harbor Town! The uber friendly staff, the offer of wine or champagne upon arrival, the awesome complimentary breakfast( more than continental), beautiful room with a view of the Mississippi River! Great dining opportunities at Paulette's (fine dining) or the more casual atmosphere of Tugg's . Everything was awesome! We were there for a Steely Dan concert at the Mud Island Amphitheater, about one mile from the hotel. I recommend that you call as far in advance as possible because this hotel sells out!

Room Tip: I had room 322. Loved it! If you need more room, choose a suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    121
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
610
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We visited as part of our 35th wedding anniversary tour. The hotel staff could not be more helpful, we were upgraded to a suite which overlooked the Missippi river, really good. A complimentary bottle of fizz in the room and we were very pleased. There are two eateries Paulette's and Tug's both wre great. Must give a mention to Matthew in Tug's he was really helpful and helped us plan our itinerary.
Really have no problems in recommending tis hotel to anyone. Situated adjacent to the river in a great spot out of town but close enough to experience all the attractions.
Thanks River Inn you really made our stay special.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our experience was very similar to the other positive reviews here. The hotel is small and quaint and in a very nice location. The rooms were clean and most have a view of the river. Great place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviationguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Truly wonderful. Situated away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Memphis and enjoying lovely peaceful views over the Mississippi, we were truly wowed by our stay here. On arrival we were really made to feel welcome by the staff and manager. The rooms were lovely, a huge comfy bed, lovely bathroom and lots of little extras, such as turndown service offering chocolates and a glass of complimentary port. The dining room is beautifully appointed and the service on all occasions was first class. You do need to book for dinner though as it seems non residents dine here having taken a shine to the place and recognize its quality. The concierge Carey was particularly helpful and worthy of mention. We had an early morning departure and the hotel prepared a small takeaway breakfast to help us on our way. For a bar snack/drink try Tugs across the road. Again great service! I cant recommend this hotel highly enough. Thanks to everyone an River Inn on making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviek1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

TripAdvisors reviews were good and they were right. 28 rooms but feels larger. Beautiful rooms and lobby, extraordinarily friendly staff (Katherine at front desk is terrific), included breakfast is fantastic with lots of choices, white tablecloths and great service. Dinner at Paulette's in the hotel was special. Expensive but worth it. Fun little bar and live piano music is a nice touch. In a quiet area on an island but only 5-10 minutes to downtown. Do not take the Blues City City Tour (a rip off) but do visit Graceland on your own.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the river-ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freesprttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely inn. We were particularly impressed by the kind waiter Patrick who extended us kindness and warm southern hospitality. Our bed was particularly comfortable, with quality linens. There is a small sitting area on our floor lined with bookshelves loaded with good books and fresh coffee in the morning. Views of our room overlooked the Mississippi River .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vbinva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were welcomed with a glass of wine at the front desk. Room was beautiful. bed was so comfy. The view from our room of the river, (we were on 2nd floor) was lovely. We wanted to see graceland , We were checking out had temperature sensitive items, asked if we could store luggage etc, front desk said we could leave stuff in room till we got back. got back at almost noon, checked out , didnt charge extra, wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindySG429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 136 in Memphis
339 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing