We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In A Quiet Location Yet Not Far From The Action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“In A Quiet Location Yet Not Far From The Action”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This 28 room hotel is located on Mud Island, an upmarket mainly residential area overlooking the Mississippi. It's ten minute walk over a bridge to the tram stop where you get a $1 ticket to downtown and the action of Beale Street. A taxi costs around $10.
The whole ambiance of the hotel is just excellent. Our room was spacious and our bed was extraordinarily comfortable. There was a great choice at the full service breakfast where the delicious hot option was cooked to order. Cereals, muffins, croissants and fruit were also amongst the options.
The service was faultless and the concierge most helpful in offering pre-printed directions to Graceland, the Sun Studio and Stax Museum.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly stay here again if I'm ever fortunate enough to return to Memphis.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slight-Fade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    116
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
92
592
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niort, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fabulous! We stayed here for four nights in a suite (free upgrade on arrival, and champagne) The setting on mud island is beautiful, opposite the river where you can see the most amazing sunsets. The service excellent, breakfast delicious, Patrick a lovely guy ;) Room fabulous. Really I can't say enough good things about his hotel, and we had an amazing stay in Memphis. The hotel is a nice walk over the bridge to the trolley where you can travel around the centre of Memphis quite easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMH1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and myself had reached the final stage of our 2 and a bit weeks tour of some of the southern states when we arrived at The River Inn. We'd had a variety of accommodation throughout our stay from excellent to, in our opinion, mediocre so feel we can draw on our experiences to judge the River Inn.
As many, many travellers have said this place is lovely! We were accommodated across the street from the main reception in what we believe was one of their standard rooms. It was large, clean and well appointed. There were bathrobes hanging in the wardrobe and there was also a safe secured to the wardrobe wall. The bed looked fresh with its white bed linen and it was also very comfortable. There was a fridge in the room with 2 complimentary bottles of cold water. There were a further 2 bottles of water in the room. These were replenished, as were the bathroom toiletries, throughout our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the decanter of port and chocolates which appeared each evening. Just opposite the lift was a small library area and early each morning mugs and a flask of hot coffee would appear there, again complimentary.
We ate both at Paulettes restaurant and Tugs(?) which offered good "pub grub". Paulettes evening menu was delicious and we had excellent service too. It was a bit pricey for us but we felt it was worth it!
Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The only criticism I could offer of this place was breakfast. It was all waiter served and the first morning we had breakfast it took us well over an hour. First the waiter poured us water then came back sometime later with menus. Then we waited sometime before the juice we ordered arrived and then again after another long wait we finally got coffee and eventually our hot food. The restaurant wasn't full, it just seemed disorganised. It was somewhat better the following day. Maybe we were just unlucky on our first morning.
However that one hic-cup wouldn't stop me from returning to such a lovely, friendly and comfortable place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MECB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

top class hotel nothing to much trouble . free parking, a glass of champers on arrivel, port in the room as a turn down service ,staff great, breakfast trulley brill ,try the pancakes !!!! rated in the top 100 hotels in the world 5 star..... all pro's no con's...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 966jonathank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Thank you again fellow travelers! This was a wonderful hotel to stay in. Being upgraded to the suite was a greatly appreciated surprise and joy. The hotel, located across a short bridge on Mudd Island, is a very safe haven from the surprisingly blighted downtown area. Included in the rate is a continental breakfast, piano music in the cosy living room evenings, port and truffles in your room when you return in the evening. Upgraded amenities in the bathroom. There are two restaurants in this very small hotel, a French inspired fine dining restaurant downstairs as well as a fun open-air small plate restaurant and bar on the top floor.

Across the street from the Mississippi River and a wonderful walking trail, it is a comfortable and wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelguruDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I wanted to stay in a newer, highly rated hotel and we were not disappointed. The service was superb, breakfasts A+ and location perfect. We enjoyed walking around the quiet residential neighborhood and along the river. The restaurants were both wonderful. We highly recommend it. The touches of champagne upon arrival,evening port and chocolates were a pleasant sunrise..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have chosen the River Inn based on Tripadvisor recomendations so there we were,
after a long trip from Amsterdam to Memphis.
The River Inn is easy to find and free parking as you go.
The front Desk lady delivered us a warm and friendly welcome that included a nice wine.
They realy took the time to chat and explain.
We have stayed 4 nights. 3 when we started our trip and another one when we left for home.
First room was in the main building and it was beautiful, very clean, roomy, excellent bed, bathroom and with sight on the river.
When we returned from our 21 days roadtrip, the staff recognized us and we shared some laughs and stories. We had an even bigger room opposite the main building with even greater comfort.

Nice as well is the AC in the rooms are almost noiseless, saves on earplugs. And there is a very good restaurant and sportsbar in the hotel.
At night the staff spoiles you with a couple of chocolates and a port wine. Perfect turn down service.
The next morning you take the great breakfast in Paulettes restaurant which is also part of the hotel, freshly baked to perfection, including croissant, fruit, eggs etc and your day starts.

We stayed in Memphis before and checked out the Peabody, Double Tree, Heartbreak Hotel.
If you appricate a small boutique hotel with friendly staff, great rooms, ez parking, good food and don't mind to drive 5 minutes to downtown. The River Inn is the place to stay.

We are fortunate to have a large experience in hotels and recognize good service and accommodation.
The River Inn is top listed!
Two Thumbs Up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peng4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing