We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the River Inn over a long weekend while visiting our daughter at Ole Miss. Check in was a breeze and our room was comfortable. I loved the wine at check-in, our view of the river and the port and chocolates at turn down. Also, the 2nd floor reading area with an abundance of books and fresh coffee was very nice and unexpected. One of best things were the wonderful breakfasts. Parking is free and within a short walk you can find a coffee house and charming little market and deli. We took walks along the river each morning. What a refreshing feeling not to be nickel and dimed for any little thing. We will never stay anywhere else in Memphis!

Room Tip: Ask for 206! The room is a bit bigger and has lots of windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvt2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very happy with our stay here. It is a pleasant,quiet location with convenient amenities. High quality facilities and room. Had cocktails in the bar next door, great, as was the breakfast. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked a room in the River Inn 2 and a half months before arriving in Memphis. I received a confirmation immediately, and then again a week in advance of the trip. It was to have been our treat on the third night of an otherwise sad journey. But, after landing in Memphis the first night I received an email that they had inadvertantly overbooked and no longer had our room!!!!! It al turned out well when I found the Madison Hotel in the heart of downtown Memphis.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Wck370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in Memphis recently for the first time - a city that I really enjoyed and left with a very favourable impression. But not least amongst the upsides was staying at this charming small hotel.

It's a little outside the city. You could get into the centre without a car by walking fifteen minutes over the bridge then riding a trolley car (lovely!) ten minutes downtown. I didn't, but almost wished that I had. But being away from the central, impersonal, big brand hotels that I often stay at is what makes this hotel so nice. You feel it's really personally run and that they recognise you as a distinct guest.

The bedroom was well decorated and comfortable (and quiet - great nights sleep), and there was a lovely bathroom with a bath deep enough to enjoy a relaxing soak). Coffee was available outside your room early each morning. Breakfast was a delight. And the fine dining restaurant (Paulette's) was a lovely place for dinner. The on-site bar/diner (Tug's) was good enough but nothing special (the staff when I was there twice were a bit emotionless but efficient enough).

The front desk staff were great, and one of the waiters at breakfast made me laugh as he joked with me.

A lovely, personal, restful, great quality hotel. Worth trying.

Room Tip: I asked for, and had, a river view - but the view was nothing special. Don't die for it. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyDay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staff exceptional, bed was the best we had on our holiday. Nataly at reservation was so sweet. We had drinks and appetizers at Paulettes on the terrace and watched the sunset. I forgot my ipad charger and it would have been nice if the inn had one. Computer on third floor business area was broken.
Our stay was wonderful..great breakfasts would I stay here again absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for third floor with view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandenheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were more than happy when we arrived at the lovely boutique River Inn Hotel on Mud Island which is in a quiet location over looking the Mississippi . Our room was well decorated with an incredibly comfortable bed and we appreciated the very nice touches such as the complimentary glass of wine at check in, fruit and water in the room and the turn down service with chocolates and port in the evening. Our breakfast, waiter service, offered a variety of dishes, cooked to order and was delicious. We enjoyed a stroll through the park along the river before walking across the bridge to the catch the trolley. As other reviews have said, the sunsets over the river were amazing. The setting, ambience and pleasant staff made our two night stay in Memphis extra special, we would definitely stay here again and can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buglady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This 28 room hotel is located on Mud Island, an upmarket mainly residential area overlooking the Mississippi. It's ten minute walk over a bridge to the tram stop where you get a $1 ticket to downtown and the action of Beale Street. A taxi costs around $10.
The whole ambiance of the hotel is just excellent. Our room was spacious and our bed was extraordinarily comfortable. There was a great choice at the full service breakfast where the delicious hot option was cooked to order. Cereals, muffins, croissants and fruit were also amongst the options.
The service was faultless and the concierge most helpful in offering pre-printed directions to Graceland, the Sun Studio and Stax Museum.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly stay here again if I'm ever fortunate enough to return to Memphis.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slight-Fade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 139 in Memphis
3,385 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#13 of 139 in Memphis
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 139 in Memphis
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
7.9 mi away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £164 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing