We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great retreat from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Lackawanna, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great retreat from the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent 5 days at this beautiful hotel. Not far from downtown ,but we still had a rental car.It's in a quit residential area . You can walk into town or take the trolley but you still had to walk up a pretty steep bridge to do so, and after walking all day we did not want to attempt it again.Check in was I fast with a complimentary drink that was appreciated. Our room was nice a little on the small side I think they could have done away with one table to make more space. Bathroom large end clean and refreshing after being downtown. The only complaint we'll not really a complaint the bed felt small looked more like a double than a queen, maybe it just felt that way after all the BBQ.Everyone who worked at the Inn was very nice especially Patrick at breakfast! He was exceptional! That brings me to the included breakfast all I can say is fantastic! I would go there for breakfast without staying at the hotel.I didn't get the name of our room attendant but she awfully nice too.we are a couple in our late 40's and are past the partying daily stage,so this was perfect for us. If you want to be near Beale street and a lot of nightlife I would choose a hotel downtown. For us it was perfect close to everything and peaceful at night. I would stay here again and definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDEbDDS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    116
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
92
592
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
372 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in room 222 and very much enjoyed the special turn down service with chocolate and a glass of port! Breakfast was included with our room and the food was excellent. We enjoyed a view of the Mississippi River and spent some time walking around the area surrounding the hotel. Lovely homes and condos! We would definitely stay here again when we visit Memphis.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 222..it's across the street from the reception/restaurant area and we had a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtravel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The River Inn is a small hotel on Mud Island in Memphis, Tennessee. It was wonderful with superior service and cozy rooms. There are little reading nooks on every floor and each morning, you will find fresh coffee right outside your door. There is a delightful lobby with live piano music in the evenings by a fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

First impressions beautiful and you are not let down champagne or wine on arrival. We booked a deluxe room through booking. Com well worth it 4 poster bed and gorgeous room. Each night they do a turn down service and leave port and chocolates, what a lovely touch. Breakfast was included with our price what a breakfast continental and full included and there is a wide choice for you. Hotel is in walking distance to the trolley car ( just across the bridge) this is the river route or the main route stops here too. It only costs a $1 per adult so no need to take car. If you want to walk to Beale st from hotel it only takes about 30 mins and it's a nice walk. We would highly recommend this hotel and would come back here again. Patrick's service each morning was first class.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

After reading the reviews I made my reservation at the River Inn. And I was not disappointed. We stayed for three nights and had a gorgeous suite over looking the Mississippi. What a view!
The room was across the street from the office and located over Tugs ( sort of a sports bar - had drinks but did not eat there although the food looked really good). On the check in side of the hotel a fine dining restaurant (Paulette's) is located. We had dinner there one night - food was very good and there is a lobby bar. Upstairs on the fourth floor is a place not to be missed - Terraces with outstanding views of the Mississippi. They have windows that open on good weather days and close on the not so good - but the views never change. There is also a park with walking paths located across the street for those of you who need some exercise to justify all the wonderful food in Memphis. And before I forget breakfast comes with the room at Paulette's and it is fabulous.

This is a beautiful hotel and caters to the adult crowd - nicely decorated and quiet. And the staff could not be more accommodating.

This will be our hotel for future visits to Memphis.

PS I forgot to mention the welcome drink and Port and chocolates every night!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Mississippi are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsforfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located directly across from the Mississippi River in an upscale part of town away from the hustle and bustle of Beale Street. (If you are looking for tours this could be a disadvantage as most of the tour companies do not pick up at this location). There is a walking path just outside the door that goes along the river. To get to the downtown area you would probably need to drive or use a taxi.

The staff are very friendly. Our room seemed quite cramped due to all the furniture including a 4 poster bed in the room. Perhaps only one of the desk or table is needed. The linen and towels were superb.

The included breakfast at Pauline's was outstanding. Our favorite was the blueberry pancakes. The service was excellent.

The 'business centre' had a computer that was so slow it was basically unusable. The telephones in our rooms did not work for any outside calls. The front desk staff did offer to make the calls and then connect to our room but this was annoying. For most people today travelling with a smartphone this would not be an inconvenience but unfortunately for us we are not in this category.

The turn down service at night with a glass of port and a truffle was a nice touch. We also enjoyed the piano player in the lobby in the evening.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajmOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheyboygan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a hidden surprIse We were on our way south and stopped here. This could not have been a more charming spot! We will be back!The service could not have been more charming and the room was lovely!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Cypress Lodge
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Square, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing