We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "In-Town" Anniversary Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent accommodations, beautiful views, great friendly service and special personal amenities!
We were greeted with a glass of champagne and put to bed with Port wine and chocolate truffles!
Located along the Mississippi River. Formal dining downstairs at Paulette's, informal dining right across the street at "Tugs," and a wonderful enclosed roof-top lounge (with open windows - weather permitting) for cocktails and snacks. Our stay included a complimentary breakfast at Paulette's!

Made for a great "in-town" anniversary get away!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScooterBabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you're going to be in Memphis this is THE place to stay. We booked 4 rooms for our family celebration which couldn't have been better. We received a complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite for one of the rooms, and all of them had a beautiful view of the Mississippi river. The River Inn is a beautiful vintage style hotel. The rooms are wonderfully appointed; some with poster beds and all with luxurious bedding. The furniture (sofa/chairs) were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were large. The rooms are so quiet it seemed as though we were the only ones there (they were practically sold out at the time of our visit). Enough cannot be said about the breakfast included. Delicious! The waiters were friendly and well trained which added to the gorgeous ambiance of the dining area. The housekeeping staff do an excellent job of keeping all pristine. They provided an excellent turn down service, and did a thorough job in all 4 rooms. In fact, it's the service the staff provided that put the icing on making our stay one of the best we've ever experienced anywhere and with many memorable moments to cherish. We were celebrating my firefighter brother's 50 birthday, and it was PERFECT! Thanks River Inn!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of the Mississippi river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a fabulous experience this beautiful hotel gave to us. Everything was faultless...from the staff, the room, the bed, the towels, the food, the ambience, all of it just wonderful! River inn is about 3-4 kills from the Beale st area so not walking distance but not expensive in a cab anyway. The hotel is older style and completely charming, a beautiful glass of wine on arrival, then a bottle of bubbles the next day! Port served every night and a turn down service in your room so it's all fresh again when you return from dinner. A beautiful cooked to order breakfast served in the gorgeous dining room is included in the room cost. There's a great roof top bar where you can overlook the Mississippi and some village shops in the square. We loved it and could recommend it highly. Stay there if you can!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveachardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were greeted at check in with a glass of wine -- a very nice start. The room was delightful, with a great view of the river. We went down and got a second glass of wine. The bed was comfortable, the amenities were just fine and the included breakfast was very, very good. In fact, the breakfasts were so good and the wait staff so friendly and competent that we had dinner at the hotel one of our 3 nights in Memphis. The dinner was excellent!

The River Inn is on the expensive side (about $300/night for the room we had) but if that is in your price range, I highly recommend it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I were absolutely delighted from our stay at River Inn of Harbor town. The hotel is well situated near Mississippi river and nevertheless not far from downtown. The rooms are cosy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very good and the dinner at the restaurant very fine.
The most important thing for us was still that all the people working at the River Inn were unbelievably friendly and helpful! Always with a smile on their faces, patient and welcoming!
Thank you! You made our stay in Memphis very, very pleasant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We and another couple recently stayed at the River Inn of Harbor Town. We have loved this property on previous visits but have not been there for a couple of years. The staff is still professional, polite and extremely accommodating and the rooms are well appointed and clean. However, in the past we were greeted with glasses of champagne--not this trip. Additionally, we had difficulty getting our door to lock when we left the room and so did our friends. Denise, our housekeeper, did her best to help us get the door locked and even requested help from maintenance. Thank you, Denise! I don't know if maintenance made any attempt to repair the door because when we returned after dinner it was still a problem. Although the linens are top notch, the bed was not comfortable and i felt like i was sleeping in a large depression. My husband said the same thing. In the past, we have thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful, leisurely breakfast in the dining room. This time, there were no muffins or croissants left (we ate at 9:30AM). My husband's eggs benedict had little or no hollandaise sauce and my "berries and yogurt" consisted of yogurt and ONE strawberry cut in half! I think my husband's serving may have had three total strawberry halves. The best thing about our stay here was the staff. The power went out in the early morning and when we informed the desk (had to walk over from the south building) that the coffee was cold, we were immediately provided an abundant supply of hot coffee. The servers, front desk personnel and housekeepers were great! Thanks to all of you! Although we have wonderful memories of previous stays at the River Inn, I think we may try somewhere else the next time we visit Memphis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river room that does NOT look out onto the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here with my husband and 2-year-old son in March 2014, and this should've been a really great stay. The place is in a unique location--close enough to downtown to access all the attractions rather easily but far enough away from the action so that it's quiet and peaceful. The decor of the hotel lobby is charming as well, though the room decor is a bit shabby. But the room was clean, and the bathroom was nice. The staff was a bit cold, but they may have simply been busy. All in all, though, I was expecting our stay to be nice.

And our first day there was nice. We ate at Paulette's for breakfast, which was quite good and convenient. Then we had a lovely day in Memphis visiting the attractions. After a long day, we expected to come back to the room and regroup before dinner. Unfortunately, that did not happen.

My husband used the washroom and the toilet ended up clogged. This was at about 5 PM or so. We called down and asked for help. The person at the desk said she'd be sending someone up with a plunger. More than an hour later, we called back down and asked if they forgot about us. She said they had not. About thirty minutes later, someone comes with a plunger. She said they had to go buy one, which is why it took so long. She gave the plunger to my husband and left. We tried to plunge the toilet ourselves but it didn't work. We called back down and told the person on duty we needed more help. We were told someone was coming. A very nice man named Melvin came with a snake. He was not a plumber or maintenance person. He was simply a front desk clerk. He didn't know how to use the snake (though he really tried and went above and beyond his duties). He told us that they were trying to call the maintenance guy, and he'd be there shortly. When he could not unclog the toilet, he left and later returned to try plunging again. He finally told us that maintenance was off duty, and they did not have anyone else to help.

When it became clear Melvin could not fix the toilet, he told us we had two options: stay in the room and use the public restroom in the hall (and they would comp the night) or they could find us a new hotel to stay in as they had no other room to move us to. We asked them to find us another place to stay that was comparable. They told us they booked us into a motel downtown. We checked out this motel on Tripadvisor and it was really crummy--nowhere near as nice as the inn. However, we called around and knew there was a suite available at the Madison. We asked them to place us there and we'd even pay the difference of what they would not pay (the suite was $400/night and they would only foot the bill for another hotel room that cost the same as the one we were staying in at the inn). We were told no. By this time, it was around ten o'clock. My toddler son was very sleepy, we had not had dinner, and they wanted us to pack up our stuff and move to a motel downtown.

We were very upset. I have never been to a hotel that could not handle something as simple as a clogged toilet. My husband has clogged up toilets all over the US, and we have never had to leave the room because they could not unclog it. Normally, someone comes, unclogs the toilet and we go back to enjoying our stay (usually in about 10 minutes).

In the end, we did not want to stay at the motel they wanted to put us in, and they refused to find us a nicer room, even with us offering to help pay the amount they didn't want to pay. I was livid and disappointed. I am tired of businesses making mistakes or falling short and not doing whatever they must do to fix the problem. This was not our fault, and one would think the manager at the inn would do whatever it took to fix the problem. Call a real plumber, perhaps? Find us a nicer room in the area, no matter the cost, maybe?

We finally decided to pack up our child and all of our belongings and find a hotel on our own. It was almost 11 o'clock at night. This was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had. Ever!

Customer service is the most important part of a business, no matter what the business is. This hotel needs to learn this. Oh, and they need to work on being prepared. How does a hotel not have a plunger?

To Melvin: Thanks for trying to help and getting sloshed with toilet water. To the hotel manager/owner: You really messed up. This is not the way to run a business.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks at the water. It is a pretty view. Oh, and bring a plunger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank missvon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
406 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
7.9 mi away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £201 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing