We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum!”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #9 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife & in-laws passed through Memphis on the way to/from Arkansas. We decided to look up some bbq joints in Memphis and found this one to be top-rated choice. We decided to stop in for lunch on the way home to Nashville. Upon entering, it was your typical great bbq restaurant - old kind of hole-in-the-wall. Small lobby, tons of employees running around the kitchen, and jammed packed with customers - could only mean one thing - good bbq! My wife & I shared a full rack with sides & banana pudding for dessert. Wow! Amazing! Ribs were full of flavor, moist, and had a nice char on them. I had the bbq beans and mac & cheese. Bbq beans were probably the best I've had. Mac & cheese was good; typical for a bbq joint. Banana pudding was awesome! Definitely homemade; one of the best I've had. Bathrooms could have used a cleaning, but what do you expect. This is one of those places that knows they have repeat business based on their food that they've done for years; not by how the inside of the building looks. We'll definitely return the next time we're in Memphis.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,632
    793
    275
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“CENTRAL BBQ”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

ribs were good but the brisket was tough and the pulled chicken was bland. This palce is just a fast food rib joint with a lot of sweaty cooks manning the kitchen...It was OK but in whole we found Memephis BBQ dissapointing....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank airbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quantity, not Quality”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

After hearing how good the BBQ is at Central BBQ, I visited it during lunch while working in Memphis. I was disappointed in the meat here. BBQ was lacking in flavor. I got the pork plate with fries, beans, and a roll. The pork had no flavor, but. the sides were good. I really liked the hot sauce. But the meat didn't have much flavor.The service was good. we went at 11:30 and a line was already formed and still had a line when we left, so expect a wait at time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
433 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“I Must Not Get It?”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

After reading so many positive reviews, and being told that I haven't had good Memphis BBQ until I visited here, I must admit that I was quite disappointed in the meats here.

I was psyched to get ahold of this differently prepared BBQ to find it extremely lacking in flavor. The ribs were dry and overcooked, the brisket was dry, and the sausage tasted like something that you could buy in the grocery store. I like different prepared BBQ, but the meat simply had no texture, moisture, or flavor.

The sides were exceptional, and I really liked the variety of their sauces. But the meat didn't hold its own stand alone, and in my opinion that is the definition of great BBQ!!!!

The service was awesome, and we sat at the bar counter and had fun conversations with the server/cashier over the course of our meal.

Expect large crowds, and a wait at times. We arrived just before the dinner rush, and got lucky with quicker service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best BBQ we had in Memphis”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed two days in Memphis and managed to eat BBQ three times. Central BBQ was by far the best we had. This is real BBQ made by two former BBQ championship circuit cooks. These guys really know how it supposed to be done. There is nothing fancy here for atmosphere but you get "fall off the bone" ribs and outstanding beef brisket. Several varieties of sauce were available that were outstanding and unique. Sides were also home made, nothing out of a can here. Overall, this was the kind of BQ I drove 2,200 miles to Memphis to find. I was not disappointed. It was also right across the street from the hotel were Martin Luther King was shot, so we also toured this moving memorial.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WGK_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing