We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Overshadowed by the Peabody Hotel across the road but not out-shined The suite was comfortable, homely with lovely interior decor. The facilities provided for breakfast just right for a quick bite before travelling to Graceland, Sun Studios or Lorraine Motel. And after dark it's just down the road from Beale Street for some of the best live music in the South.Check out Dr Feelgood Potts. Manager Gary(?) was so helpful about how to get about and where to eat. Great recommendation is the Flying Fish next door and Hueys for a burger. We stayed at 11 hotels during our 3 week trip and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place was great. Our room (#4) is literally a suite. Super clean. Awesome shower pressure and plenty of hot water.

I enjoyed this way more than a hotel room. It was really, really comfortable. It was like staying in your own condo while on vacation.

The location can't be beat. It's within walking distance of just about everything but Sun/Staxx Records and Graceland.

The parking is not much of an issue unless you needed your car frequently or in the rain. It sat there until we left for Nashville.

Have confidence. Go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had the best time staying at Talbot Heirs and highly recommend it. Close to the action, great food and fun times. Tom and Sandy and their staff are the best. The rooms are unique and provide all you need. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

From the moment you make a reservation everything is taken care of by the in house managers, Tom & Sandy. We were there for the IBC Blues Festival. Great location just two blocks from Beal Street. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and inviting. The place makes you feel at home. We often left the door open and visited with other guests who passed bye. In the evening we found the rooms to be comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. A well stocked kitchen made mornings enjoyable. An extra $10 for covered parking with unlimited access was more than worth the charge. Our friends stayed just across the street at the famous Peabody Hotel and were jealous of our accommodations. Thanks to Tom and Sandy for the enjoyable week.

Room Tip: You would be happy with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne and Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Why do people stay at Comfort Inns, Westins, and Peabodys? Because they do not want any surprises; you know exactly what to expect. Now if you would rather have a surprise, and not know what will happen next, then the Talbot Heirs is the best experience. It is situated at the top of a long flight of stairs, and the hosts will even carry up your luggage if you are decrepit. But you will have to climb up and down the stairs yourself,unless you have brought your own porters to carry you. If you are unable to climb a flight of stairs then this is not the place for you. It is easy to miss and pass the single door entrance on Second Street with a painted sign above the door. It is next to the Flying Fish restaurant, and across from the Peabody Hotel, and a short couple blocks from Beale Street. There is supposed to be a reserved space on the street in front to stop and unload/load luggage but most times someone is parked there. Parking is a short walk away in a covered parking garage. Cost is 10$/day (paid to the guesthouse) with unlimited in and out privileges. The host will show you and even accompany you if you need more directions. You may not find this site under Hotels if you search, as it only takes telephone/fax reservations and not thru the internet, so it may be listed under Bed and Breakfasts or Guesthouses. You will start smiling as you are led along the hallway with interesting paintings on the wall, and your smile will only get bigger as you see your studio apartment-like suite. As soon as you walk in the room, you wish you were going to stay longer!There are 7 guest rooms, each a bit different. Ours (#7) has great decor, a sitting area in front of the very comfortable bed, a full kitchen (full refrigerator/freezer [you will hear it cycling on and off at night], stove, oven, sink, dishes, martini and wine glasses; but no microwave). The place was super clean. "Free" snacks, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, bottled water, orange juice, etc. are included. There is a very pleasant sitting balcony deck (with high walls so only views of the sky). A walk-in closet, with two luggage racks. A roll-away bed is available for a third person.The bathroom had very high quality towels, and there was space next to the sink for toiletries; needed another towel rack. The hosts trade off every couple of weeks; we had Tom and Sandy who were extremely friendly, with great advice about restaurants and directions. It isn't often you have a host who quotes Gandhi while folding towels! We got to visit the large sunny front guestroom, with a separate bedroom and a large grand piano. Our cost was 190$/day total (including tax and parking). This was a great off-beat place to stay in Memphis; we hope to go back to stay longer.

Room Tip: The hosts will give you advice when you call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I don't know where to start. Everything about Talbot Heirs is amazing. I'll start with our host, Jerry. Nicest guy you want to meet. He met us downstairs, showed us to the parking garage and helped us get our things to our room. We were only in town for a couple nights and he made some great recommendations for attractions and restaurants.

Talbot Heirs is centrally located across the street from the Peabody and within walking distance to everything downtown.

We had room #7. It was spacious, spotless clean, and had a lovely sitting area on the balcony.

If we get back to Memphis, we will be staying here again for sure.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank chris_ruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Talbot Heirs is a true gem, right in downtown Memphis. This quasi B&B is perfect for those who want something different from Holiday Inn Express experience. 8 custom rooms on the second floor(yes it does have stairs, no elevator), each room is large and different and has a full kitchen which is great for an extended stay. Located right across the street from the Peabody, you can walk over and see the ducks at 11 and 5, and keep $150 in your pocket. Beale St. is two blocks to the South, can't make that Memphis experience any easier. McEwen's on Monroe is a great restaurant just 2.5 blocks to the North. You do have to park about a block away in the parking garage, but they have the hookup for that as well, with an in and out parking pass ($10/day). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okiedude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,283 reviews
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
939 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range: £152 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Heirs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing