We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 19 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Just returned from a 3 day stay to celebrate our 25th weddings anniversary, this is such a nice place so much better than a hotel. Great location, directly across the street from the Peabody, 2 blocks to Beal Street, 1 block from Main St, bring your walking shoes and park the car. What really makes the place is the welcoming friendly proprietors Tom & Sandy, make you feel like right at home, you seriously have no worries the minute your greated at the front door.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobblesnbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
224
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Very nice guest house. I was showed to my room and thought I was still in a common area - it was huge! A very large living room with full kitchen (including water, juice and goodies), and a very large bedroom with private bath. Larger than many apartments in NYC! Extremely comfortable bed, nicely furnished, free internet and wi-fi. Hosts were very knowledgeable and helpful in making the most out of my brief stay in Memphis. Short walk to Beale Street and the Civil Rights Museum.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We have just been on a six-week trip through the US. We stayed at plenty of good
hotels, but this was the best.
We had a roomy suite. The kitchen was well stocked with food, coffee and tea for a leisurely breakfast.
The whole environment is pleasant, with lots of original artwork on the walls.
Best of all was the friendly reception from the proprietors. We were made to feel most welcome, more than mere hotel guests. They quickly determined our tastes and provided well organized information on the things that might be of interest to us.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
's-Hertogenbosch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

My wife and I stayed in this great B&B as a part of our honeymoon. When we arrived, we were immediatly greated and helped to offload our luggage by Jerry, the best host somebody could ever wish for.
He gave us an upgrade to our room and gave us what he called " the honeymoonsuite", a huge appartment-like room with even a piano present :)
It felt like we had our own small apartment in the middle of Mephis.
We had a wonderfull stay in this great B&B and Jerry gladly helped us out with everything we needed. We could use his computer to make flight arrangements, he helped us to find places to eat, gave us tips on what to visit and to do, we talked for hours about his life and life in Europe, Jerry was simply GREAT :)
We will revisit the South in the future and we will definitely stay here again!
Thanks a lot for everything Jerry and come and visit us in Holland!!

Best regards

Xavier and Dalida Jacques

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavierjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

A stone's throw from just about everything there is to see and do in downtown Memphis is a gem of a guesthouse, the Talbot Heirs. The location is superb and your hosts, Tom and Sandy Franck, are very knowledgeable about places to see, things to do and where to eat. And eat you will!

The rooms are well-appointed with full size appliances, comfortable furniture and plush linens. Some rooms even have terraces. Yes, it is on the second floor with no elevator but believe me, your hosts are more than willing to pitch in when it comes to toting your luggage up or down the stairs!

The Main Street trolley is a great way to get around downtown and a trolley stop is a short walk from Talbot Heirs. We found the trolley drivers to be very friendly and more than willing to assist you in figuring out which stop is the right one to get where you're going!
Enjoy your time in Memphis and tell Tom and Sandy we said, "HELLO!"
Angela, Carol, Lori and Peggy

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthelam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby in the UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I'm a bit late in writing this review. Stayed at Talbot Heirs April 2010, and upon arrival were greeted by hosts Tom and Sandy who were the nicest couple you could meet. The guest house is conveniently located to Beale Street, several minutes walk away and very safe too. Peabody hotel is just across the road so no excuse not to go and see the ducks, and to end the evening with a nice glass of wine in their lobby. Kooky Canuck (as seen on Man vs. Food) is just next door. Great resaurants within walking distance and do take Tom and Sandy's advice on where to eat. Thanks Tom and Sandy

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed at Talbot Heirs for two nights and it was amazing!!! The rooms were spotless and massive - ours even has a sun terrace which was wicked. We were greated by Jerry who was amazing - he knew everything there was to know about Memphis - also the food places he recommended which were Gus's Fried Chicken and Rendezvous (ribs) was fantastic. Also in the evenings in W C Handy Park in Memphis there are bands singing live music was was just brilliant after having a nice meal and then going there really rounds your evening off nicely. Also every wednesday they have bike nights where people from all over the Tennesse and parade their motorbikes around which is wicked as some of them are done up to the nines with flashing lights and everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,194 reviews
Madison Hotel
#7 of 136 in Memphis
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
907 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Property: Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing