We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad timing??” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Delicias

Las Delicias
Ranked #677 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“bad timing??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not your typical Tex-Mex. The food is authentic, plentiful and very good. The Guacamole is not what you would normally expect as it is chunks of tomatoes, avocada, onions and generous cilantro. Unless you want to mash it yourself, it has to be eaten with a spoon and cannot be dipped with your chips but has an excellent taste. The fajitas are also quite unusual in that they are served with melted cheese on top. Quantities are plentiful and the prices are very reasonable for the food and drinks. If you want wine, they serve only 3 choices, Merlot, Zin, and Chard. Service was good. The main drawback was numerous fruit flies all over the dining room. Every table was constantly swatting at the pests. Hopefully this was a rare experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Never fails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. Guacamole, cheese dip, steak and pastor burrito, horchata, you name it - everything is so much better than anywhere else. It's all so simple and it's all so delicious. $9 pitchers of beer and the margaritas are basically straight tequila. 3 locations, but I prefer the one on Quince.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
465 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Authentic food at great price...hard to beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

First of all the chips...crunch and flakey with just the right amount of salt. Yum! Salsa is great...lots of cilantro, just the way I like it. Definitely get some guac. Super fresh and light. I had one steak and one pork taco, both really good but I think I liked to pork the best. Great, great flavor. I also ordered a side of rice and a side of beans. Both very large portions. They could cut the size and price in half, and it would be perfect. I hate to waste food.

My friend ordered the veggie burrito, which she loved. We both had Cokes and all that food cost us less than $23.00. This place is a must try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious - as it says”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Fantastic restaurant - super chips and salsa. The enchiladas were excellent - but a bit too spicy for my 9 year old, so he had my flautas and I had his enchiladas. Service was excellent and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EugeniaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, Delicias!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I went for dinner with friends. This is the Park Ave location, and it is a little ways from downtown Memphis. It get pretty crowded during peak hours. To start, they provide complimentary Tortilla chips and salsa, homemade and very tasty. Be careful, they are good and you could easily get full by snacking on these. (Tip: They sell these at the Memphis Farmer's Market in downtown every Saturday). The menu is pretty basic with a good variety of selections. I ordered the Flautas which comes in 3 pieces rolled and crispy fried tortillas filled with lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream and cheese served with refried beans. My friends ordered the chorizo tacos and burritos, which look pretty good as well. Overall, the meal was satisfying. If you are looking for a no frills, quickly prepared good food, this is one of the better Mexican fare in Memphis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Las Delicias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing