We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guitar Shaped Pool not Enough”
Review of Motel 6 Memphis

Motel 6 Memphis
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Memphis
Ranked #113 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Guitar Shaped Pool not Enough”
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We were going to visit Graceland and wanted to be in walking distance to it. This was our first trip to Memphis and probably the last. The hotel is located almost directly across from Graceland, so that part of our trip was satisfied. Beyond that, the hotel is located in a questionable part of the town not too far from the airport. It does boast a guitar shaped pool that our two daughters enjoyed playing in. It wasn't heated but it wasn't super cold either.

We were given a room that was supposed to be non smoking and had signs that state that, but someone who stayed before us obviously ignored the non smoking sign. They did move us to another room without any issues. The front desk was courteous and helpful when asking for directions to a local restaurant. We assumed that Days Inns had internet access in their rooms, you had to bring an ethernet adapter, as they do NOT offer wi fi in their rooms.

The rooms were decorated in Elvis decor and the television did offer free Elvis movies 24/7. The television was updated, but not much more.

There is a free breakfast bar in the lobby, but come short on amount of tables. We had to sit separately. The food they offered was a decent selection of breakfast foods such as cereal, waffles, Krispy Kremes, coffee, juice, etc.

Overall, if you are looking for a Graceland vacation, or are a big Elvis fan, stay here. Otherwise, you may want to move along and find a nicer area to stay in.

  • Liked — Location to Graceland, Pool
  • Disliked — neighborhood is scary, wasn't impressed with Graceland
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MuskieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    3
    3
    26
See reviews for
11
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We were there for business and pleasure. I was going to make my reservations by internet, but they did not offer the things I needed, so I called the hotel and was told they did not have king beds but the internet advertisement said they did, so I booked the room for 2 queens and the clerk, Barry, gave me my price including $10 per night for my small dog, plus a room without stairs. When we arrived, my room had 2 full beds. I informed the manager, Raj, about the situation and he said "full beds, queen beds or king beds it doesn't matter, there is no guaranty what room or the size bed you reserve", even though we reserved and paid by credit card. I was going to cancel my room but was told that I would have to pay for the first night anyway. The water was cold in the shower, sink stopped up, no iron, no coffee pot and keys would not work. Don't eat the breakfast ,the whole room is very dirty and the carpet is bulking up. People checking in could not get their keys scanned because the machine was broke. Something is not right somewhere.

When checking out they charged me and extra $20.00 for my dog, even though, Barry, had given me the price along with a comfirmation number.

If you reserve a room at a hotel and submit a valid credit card to hold that room, you should get what you pay for. We traveled 6 hours only to get this. Plus, I have a back injury and cannot sleep well in a full bed. Sweet dreams.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank rebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

I was here for business and pleasure. They accept pets and have stayed at other Days Inn but this one, NEVER AGAIN. The hotel is backed up to the expressway so expect noise. There are no decent restaurants nearby and only a little space to walk your pets. But, thankfully, there are security guards that will keep you safe once it gets dark. The floors were filthy! The carpet made my socks black within minutes and the bathroom toilet ran all night--this was the second room that I was relocated to since the first one actually had toilet water draining all over it. The towels were stained and small-kinda like hand towels. The hotel staff were eating at the breakfast buffet when we arrived which was around 0830. So, the selection was slim. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND DON"T RECOMMEND IT TO OTHERS!

  • Liked — Accepted Pets and at least they had a security guard when it was dark
  • Disliked — Everything--will never stay here again.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2008

One word "Disgusting". To elaborate, our white socks turned black within minutes of taking off our shoes in the room (filty carpet). Our beds did not have fitting sheets. It was a flat sheet draped over the mattress. We had to keep pulling at it to cover the mattress (gross). The bathroom was dirty, floor look like it had not been mopped in ages. The ceiling had mold/mildew in the bathroom. The tile in the shower had soap scum and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages. The bottom of the tub was stained black/dirt. Soap scum on the shower curtain, and hair on the tiles of the shower. We had only one roll of toilet paper, of which was only a half of a roll. The double bedded room only had two towels. What is up with that? The towels were very small and very thin, practically transparent. Also some were dirty with god knows what on them (hadn't been cleaned). Hair on towels, and smelt bad. The towels had a green stripe down the middle (very old towels). We ran out, and asked for more. They said they had some at the front desk, and implicated exactly that (the towels were at the front desk). Meaning they weren't going to lift a finger to bring them to us. We had to go get the towels. They only gave us two more. No smoke detectors! We didn't bother with the breakfast. The faster we got out of there the better. Anything that was in that hotel was washed immediately when we got back home. We only continued to stay there because we were exhausted from our days adventures. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Very outdated and Gross, Gross, Gross!!

  • Liked — Absolutly NOTHING!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motheroftwo9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Excellent service at front desk. 'Tracy' is a super employee. Hotel within walking distance of Graceland. Value for money was good.Clean and well furnished room. Wireless would not connect due to my laptop being Me-OS and our room at lowest level and the furthest back(nice and quiet however). But was able to connect in lobby area. Liked it so much stayed 2 nights.....but the only downside was that their beds were equipped with foam mattresses and not very comfortable, especially for my wife that has a bad back. Only solution was to try to sleep at an angle to avoid the 'memory indentations. In our 12 stays at other hotels during the month this 'foam' experience was not repeated.
Sill would recommend as a great place to stay near Graceland.Make sure you bargain for the lowest rate.....

  • Liked — Great personnel and amenities(breakfast nook)
  • Disliked — Foam Beds!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Artepru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjsidf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2006

we travelled from northern manitoba. took us 4 days io get to memphis tn days inn . we always travel with our pets . we arrived at the hotel to see a woman so angry she was threatening the desk clerk and mannager because they were changing the rates of her whole party of wedding guests. our turn they did the same to us . $10 they tried to charge us extra. towels ere see through . 3 days we stayed the room was not cleaned. asked for towels we got 2 and they said they had no extras. there were 4 of us my husband myself and 2 kids. scarey area rough. breakfast was out late and put away early. disgusting rooms . i would never let my dogs stay in such a dump. never recomend to anyone. i could go on . do not stay there

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank jjsidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

The two rooms we stayed in at the Days Inn on Austin Peay Hwy. were appalling, and bore no resemblance to the descriptions in the Days Inn 06-07 Worldwide Directory or the hotel’s own flyers. In general, the rooms lacked the basic necessities to make our stay comfortable. Discrepancies in the hotel and rooms advertised and what we had were no more coffee at the Daybreak Breakfast when it ran out, no cable, no HBO: the TVs only had FOUR local channels, no alarm clock radio in either room, no microwave oven in either room, no hot tub in the hotel, no free coffee available in the lobby “24/7”, no telephone, no remote control for the TV, no pillows on one bed, no SolTerre shower, only two bath towels of very low quality, and bugs.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boo_Madly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
4.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
#63 of 136 in Memphis
210 reviews
4.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Memphis Northeast
8.8 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn - Memphis / Bartlett
8.4 mi away
Exchange Guest Suites
Exchange Guest Suites
#80 of 136 in Memphis
192 reviews
12.9 mi away
Travelers Inn and Suites Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Memphis

Property: Motel 6 Memphis
Address: 2889 Old Austin Peay Highway, Memphis, TN 38128 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing