We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for overnight but needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good for overnight but needs attention”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The good things: popcorn/cookies/coffee in lobby, free parking, friendly staff, safe location, good location - access to everything (too far to walk to Beale though), comfortable beds, yummy breakfast, clean.
The bad things: Pool was "broken" on an extremely hot day, only weight machine in fitness center is broken, bad climate control (elevators terribly hot, hallways terribly cold, and unable to get a comfortable temperature/humidity in the room), a bit aged and in need of some upgrades.

I would stay here again and would be very comfortable, but I have stayed at much nicer HIEs and I think that this hotel is falling behind. Nothing against the staff, they were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear k86j84,

Thank you for posting feedback on your recent stay. You have covered all aspects of your stay and we thank you for your positive comments with regards to our cleanliness, amenities, and staff service. On the other hand, it is unfortunate that our pool, fitness area and climate control system prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We will certainly work on the points that you have raised to ensure we provide the best customer experience. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    144
    79
    34
    24
See reviews for
87
111
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for a week. The location is perfect for a visit to Sun Studios, Stax and Graceland. You can actually walk to Sun Studios and take the free shuttle bus into town or to Graceland. Or public transport is available just up the road. Our prime reason for the visit was Memphis in May music festival and the hotel had shuttle transport organised to get people into town easily.
It is good value with a free breakfast and all day coffee plus some extra treats like popcorn and cookies in the afternoon. However, the breakfast is typically American with not much in the way of healthy options.
The hotel is quiet, has very friendly staff and a clean room. All in all, a very decent stay and recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
339 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pretty much a typical representation of this brand. Older property is a bit worn. Friendly staff...little touches like cookies and freshly popped popcorn. Simple request (extra towels) ignored by desk clerk, but supplied by maid next day with a smile. Executive room was same room, with a sofa stuck in. Third day.. pool not serviced...no towels, no one straightening chairs, etc. Pool needed skimming, water seemed murky. Filter doesn't seem to be running. Beds a bit soft for my taste. Air conditioning....cold on window side of the room...Air flow poor. We purchase an air sanitizer...room seemed musty. All this is pretty nick-picky.....pretty much your average experience...convienient location, free parking, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bflobear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear bflobear11,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad you liked our convenient location as well as out friendly staff. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel has free parking and is located off the interstate. It is just a short drive to downtown Memphis. It is a good value with a fabulous free breakfast and all day coffee plus some extra treats like popcorn and cookies in the afternoon. The staff was most friendly, especially Katherine and the other lady serving breakfast. The carpets could be a bit cleaner but other than that, our stay was most pleasant and I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, perfect for a visit to Sun Studios, Stax and Graceland. The location is excellent (right in the middle of those venues) , and only a 10$ cab to Beale St.
Very friendly staff, very clean room. We did have to take a smoking room, less great since the windows don't open (although I'm a smoker myself, the smell wasn't so nice. I didn't smoke in the room).
All in all, a very decent stay and recommended for a short musical Memphis trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful with big smiles every time we arrived back. The hotel is a little dated and could probably do with a bit of a face lift however this didn't stop us from having a great time - after all your in memphis! Who stays in the hotel the whole time?! Would have been nice to have used the pool but it had the cover over it all the time, however this could have been because of the time of year (early May)

The location was ok, about a 15 min walk from sun studios, a short taxi ride to Beale St (between $10-15 depending who you got!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matnsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Matnsam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very delighted to know that, even though we were not able to meet some of your expectations, you still had a great time during your stay. I also appreciate your kind words meant for our friendly hotel staff.

I sincerely apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, it was real pleasure that you chose us for your travel needs. Your satisfaction is of utmost concern to us as we always strive to make your experience a great one.

Rest assured that your comments will be used to consider improvements where necessary. Once again, thank you for staying and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recommend this hotel the staff where most helpful and couldn't do enough for you .every thing you asked them they went out of their way to help .myself and my friend stayed there as we were visiting gracelands.2 lovely ladies glenys and rena drove us anywhere we wanted to go in their taxi for a donation ,yes they didn't charge you a fare they would say whatever you can afford that will do .how kind of them .hotel breakfast was really good and set you up for the day ,lady on reception kept setting my phone up for me .never will forget all the lovely people at that hotel,

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#30 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Address: 1180 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-6669
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers. Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip. Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access. This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing