We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great looking hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great looking hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Pros: Large room, Spacious bathroom, great views of downtown and Mississippi River, new gym, very attentive staff, free wifi, free bottled water
Cons: Old manual thermostat - diffuclt to adjust/maintain, no towel rack in bathroom, only valet parking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MapBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Sounds like you enjoyed our new Sheraton Fitness Center powered by Core Performance. I love the new facility and many of our guests have complimented on how nice the center is for working out! Our rooms and public space will be the next phase of improving our hotel and that will start in June....and I think new thermostats are on the list! Thanks for the review and for staying with us. Hope to have you back at the hotel the next time you are in Memphis. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    377
    231
    89
    75
See reviews for
256
360
43
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Seriously, if you need to stay in Memphis, come rest your head here! Super comfy beds, lovely rooms with great amenities (loved waking up to Starbucks coffee in my room), and very friendly, attentive staff. Not to mention Gus's World Famous fried Chicken is only a mile away. Great perk! Very family friendly as well, and we know what we're talking about with our family of 6! Bravo Sheraton!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Fabulous is one of my FAVORITE words! You brought a big smile to my face after reading such a "fabulous" review! Our commitment is to provide a clean,safe, inviting atmosphere for our guests to enjoy and it sounds like we were able to deliver that to you and the family. Thank you Heather for taking the time to recognize the staff at the Sheraton Memphis Downtown. We look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We've been to Memphis many times, stayed in a lot of hotels in that city. The Sheraton downtown Memphis will definitely be a place to stay again because of the (1) great service, (2) location to the downtown area, (3) cleanliness of the rooms, (4) roomy bathrooms, (5) proximity to the trolley station on Main Street -it's literally 10 steps from their lobby! - So easy to get anywhere in downtown Memphis for $1! Kudos to the housekeeping staff and the bellmen for their genuine smiles and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Anne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests with our honest, southern hospitality and I am so proud of this team for always wanting to do their best on a daily basis to serve our guests. It is people like you who take the time to acknowledge them that keeps the spirit of hospitality alive. I can't wait to share this review with the team. We thank you and look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I enjoyed everything about the hotel experience. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was convenient. It's a hike from Beale Street, but the trolley can take you right there. The only thing I didn't like was that though there was a computer to print boarding passes, if you needed one for anything else, you had to swipe a card and pay by the minute. I had to print tickets to the Grizzlies game, and it cost me 3 bucks. Not a huge deal, but just a little nickel-and-dimeing that some other hotels don't do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike6479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Getting to Beale Street is very easy as the Trolley stops right outside our back door...and the nice thing is it only costs a buck each way! We are starting a renovation in June and will be putting in our "Link by Sheraton" offering complimentary internet accessible computers, ethernet data ports for laptops and easily accessible electrical outlets for power. The entire space is enabled with complimentary WIFI access and printing. So we are very excited to get this in place for our guests. Thank you so much for the review and for staying with us. Hope to see you back soon! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for convention in October 2013.
Very nice accommodations. Front desk staff is great, hotel is very clean.
Must use valet for parking, self park not allowed.
Request high floor with south view. Low floors on north side are obstructed by parking deck.

Room Tip: South view-high floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you Jon for your feedback on the hotel. Our parking is outsourced with the best Valet Parking company in Memphis and I know they always do a great job in welcoming our guests to the hotel. We also have one of the highest hotels in Memphis with some great views of the Mississippi River, downtown Memphis and the Pyramid which will soon become Bass Pro Shop! We are exicted to add that addition to downtown. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had a great stay from start to finish. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very clean and well maintained and had very comfortable beds along with all you have come to expect from modern accommodation with Starbucks coffee making machine in your room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
What more could you ask for than to be able to sleep on the only 5-Star Triple A rated bed in the hotel industry. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper is my favorite and our guests love it. I'm glad you enjoyed it too. Also.....the in-room Starbucks coffee is a BIG hit. We are so proud to deliver brand products to our guests! Thanks for taking the time to write this review and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here recently while attending the Liberty Bowl. The hotel was recently acquired by Sheraton so is undergoing some renovations. We had a room on the 10th floor that had clearly been recently renovated. Beds were comfortable, room was very clean, a/c worked well, free wifi was nice and had a great connection/speed. I was happy to find additional electrical plugs in the lamp bases to charge all our various electronics rather than having to dig behind a dresser or something. The restaurant had a good breakfast buffet that was reasonably priced for hotel food. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and it is a very short trolley ride to Beale Street. There is not much immediately around the hotel to do wise, which is why I didn't give it 4 stars. If you are going to the convention center though, this is an excellent choice because its right across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
The Liberty Bowl was great for Memphis over the New Years Holidays as it brought alot of people to our city filling up hotels, restaurants....and even the Trolley had some good business. I hope it was your team that won - that always seems to make a trip more enjoyable! Thanks for the wonderful review and we look forward to having you back next year for the Liberty Bowl! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103-1624 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#27 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing