We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Ronkonkoma, NY
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While the room was very comfortable and very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable, and smoke free, and the buffet breakfast was fresh, plentiful and there was an omelet station, the TABLE service for coffee, milk and juice was VERY slow because they were short staffed. Otherwise our stay was most pleasant and yes, I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Smoke FREE rooms are not really smoke free. They are cleaned to be smoke free. Also, ask from a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2travel271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Loves2travel271,
What a nice review you wrote of your experience at the hotel. I agree with you, our beds are the BEST in the industry! We were able to put all new beds in the hotel last August and our guests love them. One of the best sleeps I've ever had. So glad you enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Our Chef will be thrilled to read this! Have a wonderful day.
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    379
    231
    90
    75
See reviews for
256
361
43
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

...but the rooms could definitely be improved upon. We stayed at the Sheraton Memphis Downtown on an EXTREMELY busy weekend that saw a large number of visitors and a sold out hotel. Nonetheless, the staff was extremely helpful and courteous, despite the large number of guests to which they were attending. My one complaint was the actual room itself--it was quite out of date and the furniture and carpet seemed ill-suited to the warm climate of Memphis (the room was pretty musky).

TIP: Go to the gym & pool area! Although the rooms are in need of a makeover, the gym and pool are magnificent and really give this hotel the star-rating it possesses.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hello Jsleos,

Good news....our rooms are getting updated starting June 22nd. I'm so glad you enjoyed the pool and fitness center...these are two areas we recently renovated and now we look forward to the rest of the hotel undergoing a major transformation. So glad you stayed with us and I hope when you come back to Memphis you will stay with us again.
Warm Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We are a couple from Australia that travel extensively around the world. This should not have the Sheraton name. Check in was quick and simple but gave no explanation of any of their services etc... We arrived in our room after a 20+ hour flight and it was dirty and to top it off, no refrigerator!! Beds were quite comfortable though. Would certainly not stay here again (we checked out 3 night early)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Andrew S,

I was very disappointed to read that we did not deliver an exceptional experience for you. We strive to do our best every day and I'm so sorry we failed you. Please know that I will be sharing your comments with our team to improve our services for every guest.
Sincerely,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Clean comfortable rooms with a great view of the city. Tia was a great concierge. Arenzo was a great waiter in the hotel restaurant. Shirley the valet was a pleasure, too. Food was great! The eclectic trolley service to Beale St makes seeing the city easy and fun. When in downtown Memphis, stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingJew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear WanderingJew7,
Well, you certainly found the right place in Memphis to hang your hat for the night! We appreciate your kind words and for acknowledging Tia, Shirley and Arenzo. These are exemplary employees who always go above and beyond to ensure our guests are well taken care of. I will be recognizing them for a job well done! We look forward to having you back in the future. Safe travels my friend.

All the best,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First of all, you expect a certain level of creature comforts at a Sheraton (Starbucks coffee in the rooms, etc.) They delivered. The restaurant in the lobby has a wonderful breakfast buffet with omelet chef present (about $18, or $12 for continental breakfast w./o hot food). The bar in the evening was decent. The place distinguished itself in my mind because of the care and attention to our service dog. Seems the 4th floor is dog friendly and they were not put out in the least by the request to bring our dog. The Bell staff (particularly William) ensure a great stay and gave great food suggestions in town during our 4 day stay .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BamaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Greetings Bama Tourist,

Thanks for taking the time to write of review of our hotel. I'm happy to read that you had a great stay with us and that William took good care of you. I will be recognizing William for a job well done! Your pets are our guests and we are thrilled to be able to provide accommodations that are just as comfortable for your dog as they are for you! Come back and see us soon!
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a pleasant hotel all the staff were friendly and helpful especially our breakfast server it
was a full American breakfast we had room 919 very comfortable with all the extras like shower gel,shampoo etc some of the residents were rather noisy returning to their rooms banging doors and yelling to each other at 3am

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Greetings Cornishdragon2,
One thing that really irritates me is when guests that are staying in the hotel are not respectful of others - especially during sleeping hours. So on behalf of the guests who so rudely disturbed you and probably others that were sleeping, I truly am sorry. Kudos to the server in the restaruant! We are happy you had a great experience overall with the hotel. Come back and see us soon...we are making alot of changes!
Warm Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here this past weekend for an event. When I arrived there was some confusion with the reservation that was quickly resolved by the reception. Also, when I left something behind at the valet desk, and someone called me right away to say they had found it. The bell staff was incredibly courteous and friendly, providing expert advice on the weekend's events. The room was clean and well-appointed, no real "wow" factor, but honestly I wasn't expecting it. The location is a bit away from the downtown area, but easily within walking distance of some good restaurants and right next to a trolley stop. The gym area is probably one of the nicest I've been to in a hotel, with a lot of weight options and updated cardio machines. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear CZ,

WOW....thank you for the great review! I'm glad to read that the staff went above your expectations. We just finished the renovation on the Fitness Center so if you really enjoyed that, wait until you experience our new renovated rooms that is starting in June. We will be completed by the end of September and this hotel will look amazing! I truly appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our staff as they work hard every day to provide great service to our guests. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Cheers,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#7 of 136 in Memphis
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103-1624 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#27 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing