We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal close to Beale”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #90 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Only 1 1/2 miles to Beale Street, Fed Ex Forum, Autozone Park, Gibson Guitar Factory, Rock and Soul Museum. Sunstudios is half the distance. Would not recommend walking to Beale. This hotel was the best deal we could find after reviewing Tripadvisor. We had a King room. It was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good compared to most hotels. Sausage links, biscuits and sausage gravy, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, english muffins, toast, danish, apples, bananas, make your own waffles, coffee, tea, apple juice and orange ( not 100% juice). The breakfast area was kept clean and well supplied. Located right off the interstate. Would definately stay here again. Burger King and McDonalds nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pg211purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

it was better than average--but not very good. the outside is rather worn, but our room had been updated with new bathroom tile and fixtures. the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean and that is what we wanted for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texaslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay for 2 nights that was close to downtown, under $100/night, and decently clean.

The front desk staff was nice enough when we got there. Asked if we could walk to Autozone Park and was told that they didn't recommend it - - a 1.5 mile walk. They had to call to see if room was clean despite us arriving after 3pm. Room was sparsely furnished. Good king bed but no comfortable chair - only a desk and desk chair. No hangers in closet. They seem to have tried to update the room but it didn't quite feel clean. The security lock had been busted off the door. We were on the back of the building with a view of the storage units. Still decent location to get to places if you ignore the sketchy neighborhood. Lots of police presence during the day.

Second day we spent most of it out and about. Had breakfast at the hotel - - they had Danishes, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal, yogurts, and boiled eggs. Came by the room after 3pm again and they hadn't cleaned just removed the soiled towels. The maid came by while we were there and asked if we wanted the room cleaned. At that point we just wanted towels, a new trash bag, and toilet paper. The sink didn't drain well in our room.

Night 2 our neighbors decided to have a shouting match outside for 1/2 hour. We debated calling on them but it did quiet down after one person told the other that they were going to get kicked out of the hotel. Never heard the police come just a helicopter that sounded like it was going to land on the hotel. The hotel closes 2 of their large iron gates at night supposedly for security.

Check out was quick and easy.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed three nights here on our recent trip to Memphis. Upon arriving later in the afternoon, we were glad to be walking distance to the Sun Studio. Overall, the location was great for most of our Memphis activities. We even could have parked for free at a sister hotel when sight-seeing in downtown Memphis. Our hotel room was clean. We rearranged the furniture a bit, then had plenty of room for one of our kids to sleep on a blow up mattress. The bathroom was very small, but we do prefer that since it had a sink and mirror outside of the restroom. Nice flat screen TV. The breakfast had a nice variety. We prefer staying in "hotels" versus "motels" (the latter we define with the doors of the room being on the outside of the building like this one). Still, this met our needs very well during our visit. The workers at the front desk were very helpful when we asked questions about places or needed extra towels. Our room was close to the office, but still seemed pretty quiet. There is a hospital across the street, and while we did not notice sirens, we did notice an occasional, close helicopter overhead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place is not of real quality and will not be staying here again. I had an unfortunate financial transaction situation with them due to their "computer glitch", which was "not their problem", and have yet to be refunded the amount back into my account. When I asked and then told them I feel as if I should be compensated for my troubles they told me "no, the customer is not right this time." I am still waiting for my money and feel as if a company should hold up to its name "QUALITY INN".

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank True_Man4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were given what appears to typically be a pet friendly room, it had a nice tile floor which makes for a much cleaner room for guests with pets. The inn was clean our room, towels, sheets, fridge, microwave etc were all spotless. As is typical of a more moderately priced hotel the exterior was in good but not perfect shape, nothing that offended us for sure! Bed was clean, new and in great shape, that being said, it was very, very firm, a bit uncomfortable.

Free continental breakfast included biscuits and gravy, sausage, hard boiled eggs, make-yourself-waffles, apples, yogurt, various breads and danish, cereal, oatmeal, milk, juice, coffee and hot tea. For a "continental" breakfast we thought this was great.

Location is very convenient to highway, downtown, Beale Street, Riverfront/Mud Island, Civil Rights Museum etc. Convenient, not walking distance. Trolley is near but we did not take it. Parking near Beale ranged from 5-15 dollars, we chose the 5.00 and it worked out fine. Only downside of location is some highway noise and some loud helicopter noise due to the hospitals right nearby.

Very comfortable for our pets. Grassy areas right near our rooms, don't expect a park, it's a place for them to do their business and it looks like other pet owners or the hotel have kept up on cleaning up after the "business".

Staff were very friendly. The extras like soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, coffee and tea in room were nothing fancy but did the job fine!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally fine it appears, perhaps in summer you might ask not to be next to the pool, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I had a great stay at this Quality Inn. Great location near all of the downtown and midtown attractions. The bed was awesome and one of the best hotel beds I have slept on in quite a while and I travel pretty much every week. The whole hotel has been renovated inside and out and the rooms are very nice!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room at the back of the hotel and did not hear a sound all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasSetser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
9.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#69 of 138 in Memphis
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Gen X Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
902 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 42 S Camilla St, Memphis, TN 38104-3102 (Formerly Union Express)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® hotel in Memphis, Tennessee is centrally located, offering easy access to famous area attractions, including the Orpheum Theatre and Memphis Rock Museum. This Memphis, TN hotel is also near Woodruff House, Memphis Riverboats and Rhodes College. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Quality Inn a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Memphis, Tennessee area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Express Hotel Memphis
Red Roof Inn Memphis
Red Roof Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing