We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M. Roy "The Good and the Bad!!!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The fact that the property is gated and locked at night would seem to be a plus..Unfortunately our housekeeper didnt feel the need to lock our room door!!! Our room was the first room off of the elevator which meant everyone passed by all day long and could see that our door was ajar by about an inch and a half!!! Thank goodness that there were all good people on our floor at that time because nothing was missing (there were several electronics that could have been taken) not to mention that we were gone all day until late @ night and my sister and I came back to an open room that could have had anyone sitting inside of it!!! The on duty manager was apologetic and said that measures would be taken so that it didnt happen again!! In the morning I questioned the housekeeper, she said she had been responsible for the room the day before and when I told her she left the door open her reply was "oh sorry" I must agree that the rooms could be cleaned a little better they are full of dust and things that we purposely left to see if it was vacuumed still remained. The up side was we did encounter two of the nicest ladies ever, which made our trip worthwhile. Mahagony at the front desk and Denise who was at the bar...provided excellent service ....only because of these two lovely ladies would I consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kele05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

On behalf of our housekeeping staff, I'd like to extend my heartfelt apologies for this oversight from our staff. Please be assured that this issue has been addressed with our team to ensure that this incident does not occur again. Please know that your experience does not reflect the high standards of customer service that we've set in place and we hope you will consider staying with us again, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. It was a former major chain hotel with much of the previous decor and trimmings left behind. Only real task left is hospitality and upkeep. The hotel team was VERY friendly, superbly cordial, and very attentive. Room cleaning lacked thoroughness. Specifically, first day at the hotel we saw that the toilet was soiled/stained.

One cleaning focused on the bedroom, no new towels. Second cleaning focused on the bathroom, unmade bed. Room cleaning therefore, half-done. Other than that we had a good stay for a great value.

Room Tip: Ensure the hotel team stays on top of cleaning the room THOROUGHLY. Free breakfast is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

While we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Memphis, it is disappointing to know that the standard of cleanliness in your room fell below expectations. We highly value all of our guests' feedback and will pass your comments along to the appropriate members of our staff for further review. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Room s need updating such as carpet and chairs but the housekeeping service given was efficient and courteous. LaTasha and Shantela were really great! THE WALKWAY OUTSIDE THE FRONT LOBBY IS SOMEWHAT OF A HAZARD! THE LOBBY IS A NICE HANGOUT. JUST NEED NEW FURNITURE. NEED MORE OUTLETS IN THE ROOM

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We greatly appreciate the feedback that you've provided for us in your review. I assure you that we have taken good note of your concerns and will pass them along to the appropriate members of our staff for further review. We are grateful for your kind comments regarding our courteous and efficient staff members and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to The Hotel Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Memphis and after reviewing several hotels we decided to state here, never again. The hotel smelled of mole from the moment we stepped through the doors and it didn't get any better in the rooms. The electronics and furnishings were outdated-the loveseat had so many stains we were afraid to sit on it. My husband takes medicine that requires refrigeration, for three days we requested a refrigerator and never received one. On our last night one of the staff members told us several people needed refrigerators for medical reasons and they just didn't have any to offer. This was surprising because no one else mentioned a waiting list before. The photos on the web are enhanced, do not be fooled.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Your experience falls below the standards that we have set for our hotel and we would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. Your comments will be shared with our management team so the necessary improvements can be made. We deeply regret that we did not have any refrigerators available at the time of your visit. We can understand your frustrations and hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were in town for one day to visit Graceland and found this hotel to have reasonable prices for the 4th of July weekend. The pictures looked great, and when we walked in, the facility and rooms looked great too. We soon learned that this was just surface looks. We found our room, upon closer inspection, to be dirty. The sink faucet and handles had fingerprints on them; either from the last guest or house keeping. There was hair all over the bathroom floor, dirt and hair on the box spring where the mattress didn't quite cover against the headboard, and the shower had a very bad clog and filled up quickly while we took our showers. It filled so fast that the tub was almost completely full by the time our showers were done. Then, we had to wait about 20 minutes for the tub to drain before the next person could take a shower. We told the front desk about this and all she said was "sorry" and took a few notes. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Birgitte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

While we are grateful for your feedback, we deeply regret to learn of the inconveniences you experienced throughout your holiday visit. Please accept our sincere apologies if your room was not at its best upon your arrival. We assure you that the head of our housekeeping department will be reviewing your comments. We are saddened that we may have missed this opportunity to welcome you again and we hope you'll someday give us another chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for our 4th of July Memphis vacation. We were 10 minutes from Graceland, 10 minutes from downtown, and 30 minutes from Tunica casinos. Great highway access. It worked out well for our visit to those places as well as the river boats, civil rights museum, and Gibson guitar factory.

We did have a slight issue with our room upon check-in (a musty smell), but it was immediately remedied by Mahogany at the front desk. She worked quickly to assign us to a new room, offered us free breakfast for our trouble, and followed up on us after the change. When we got to our new room on the 12th floor, we could see the fireworks across the city from our room for the remainder of the evening! Beautiful. Mahogany also gave us BBQ recommendations, with directions. We stayed for three days, and each time we passed the front desk, she waved and said hello. This made us feel very welcome and valued.

As far as the room itself, we had a wonderful down comforter and pillows. Granite in the bathroom, and a large picture window looking out on the city. The staff cleaned the room well each night, and had no problem cleaning our room later in the day, when we slept in.

Breakfast was new each day. It offered home-cooked options, such as small cheese omelets, pancakes, french toast, and potato/pepper hash, as well as the typical cereal and store bought muffins/bagels etc. Yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, milk and juice were always available.

We enjoyed this stay and would stay here again!

Room Tip: rooms on the west side of the building have downtown views, in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for spending your Fourth of July weekend with us at The Hotel Memphis. We're glad to learn that our convenient location to downtown Memphis worked out so well for your trip! We deeply regret the inconveniences that you encountered with your room accommodations and are glad to see that our staff could quickly remedy this situation by relocating you to another room. We are all looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We found this hotel on priceline and after reading reviews decided against it. However, at the last minute our other reservation fell thru and I'm glad it did. For some reason other reviewers say that this hotel is in a bad part of town--its definately not in the "hood". And others didn't like the security fence around the property--my family loved it for of all things the added security. And lastly the property while dated is well managed and kept up well. The only thing we didn't like was since we were here for a week it would have been nice to have a refridgerator in the room(although we bought a cooler at the dollar store). Lastly the hostess in the breakfast buffett was awesome as was devin at the desk. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We truly appreciate your kind and encouraging remarks regarding your recent visit with us at The Hotel Memphis. We are working hard to improve our property and are glad to see that your stay reflected the high standards of customer service we aim to achieve. It was a pleasure to accommodate you at The Hotel Memphis and we hope you'll think of us again. Please keep in mind that refrigerators are available upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#21 of 138 in Memphis
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
9.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £70 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing