We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #54 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently stayed at The Hotel Memphis knowingly that it was the old Marriott East I expected it to live up to those same standards. Boy was I fooled! As soon as we walked in the entrance lobby smelled like Old Dirty Mop water, the elevators had a mind of their own, literally it took forever to get to your desitnation floor going pass my floor up and down before letting me off. The rooms were stale, musty, and smelled like Mold. The floor had food stuck to them and floor which means the carpet needed a really good cleaning or needed to be replaced. The shower tub filled very quickly which meant that showers had to be limited in time. The rooms didnt have a refrigerator or microwave to eat our left over good bags from the restaruants we visited. The mattress were dirty and worn. The entry gate continue to get stuck after it locked at night and we would have to wait in long car lines and some even went thru the out gate because it was taking entirely to long for them to open. Unreal to ask guest to pay $129 per night for such foolery. I will never stay here ever again and I would advise you to do the same. Dont trust those photoshopped pictures of a nice, clean, hotel....very misleading! Hope I saved someone from misery!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! Period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlana_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Although we are always grateful for our guests' feedback, we are saddened to know that we were not able to impress you on this occasion. On behalf of our staff, I would like to offer my heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered while with us. Please know that your experience does not reflect the high standards of customer service we've set in place and we are working hard to improve our property. We are grateful for your insightful review, as it lets us know which areas of our hotel require our immediate attention. We hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    165
    117
    74
    56
See reviews for
124
121
27
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was very excited to stay here one night out of our 2 week road trip. I felt very safe qith the safety fence and all of the staff we interacred with weee fantastic, especially the very kind woman running breakfast. Everything seemed just a little old and run down. Not bad but the lobby was beautiful and I had high hopes for the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Hotel Memphis. It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your 2-week road trip. The safety of our guests is always our highest priority so we are happy to know that you felt safe and secure during your overnight stay. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve for our future guests and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the moment I arrived the hotel staff made sure that whatever I wanted and needed they took care of it. Cynthia at the front desk got me checked in for some needed rest. The Housekeeping Supervisor Dorothy Foundren made sure my room was outstanding. Carl in the Grill saw to it that breakfast was a blessing. Latasha Amos, followed with a warm welcome to Memphis. I will be back to the hotel Memphis.
Sam Jenkins.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
It is always our pleasure to go above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words of appreciation for our staff. We will make sure the specific staff members that you've mentioned are recognized for their extra efforts. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

l was inundated by mosquitoes in the lobby but I survived. The room looked nice and the sheets were cleaned. The floors had not been vacuumed, I slept well but when I woke up the next morning the thumb and right side of my hand was purple and swollen. Something had bitten me during the night. I assumed it was a spider because no mosquito could do that amount of damage. I had packed a first aid kit for the trip and for three days I applied an oil that I had just received from Amazon before leaving home. By the fourth day the color had returned and the swelling was going down. Please clean and vacuum your rooms thoroughly.

Room Tip: Bring Bug Spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 671vagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret to learn of your experience at our hotel and would like to take this opportunity to apologize if anything prevented you from receiving the good night's rest you deserved. We take these claims very seriously and will pass your comments along to our management team for further review. Thank you for alerting us of your experience and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Mr. Anthony Adams is the guy to go to! He's so helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel! Great guy, too!
The hotel staff are great! From the moment we got on the shuttle the service has been absolutely outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amburga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent visit! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Memphis and we hope you'll visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Olive
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

One of the nicest places in Memphis. From the time you drive through the secure gates and enter the grand lobby you know it will be a excellent stay. comfy beds, nice size rooms. Everything seemed clean everywhere you look. was also glad to see tastefully designed iron fencing around perimeter and felt very safe. Would recommend this Hotel while staying in Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are happy to know that you would recommend The Hotel Memphis to other travelers. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review, as we are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of your room. We hope you'll visit with us again, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

To start, check in was awesome! Devin made a great first impression of the hotel and was very professional! The house keeping was very polite and I saw something I never saw before... A member of the crew named Michael Gernandee was cleaning the inside of a trash can with polish! I was astonished! Ms Dorothy Fondren was a complete sweetheart and was telling me about the asset she has in Michael. The hotel was very clean and fresh and the décor was beautiful! The pool and Jacuzzi were also very clean. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our property. Our entire staff is committed to ensuring that our guests' time at The Hotel Memphis is memorable in every way. We truly appreciate your kind acknowledgment of their efforts. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
9.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
2.8 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! As we embark on our multi-million dollar renovation to transform into the newest member of the Crowne Plaza family of hotels, we appreciate your patience and understanding. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing