We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #60 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The room was spacious but not very clean. They could vacuum a bit more often. The tv was very outdated. The lobby was enourmes! There were two pools, an indoor and an outdoor pool. Water was a bit too hot for us. Over all our experience in Hotel Memphis was average.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Liekehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We truly appreciate your guest feedback regarding your recent stay. Although it is disappointing to know that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion, we are grateful for your constructive comments regarding our hotel and will certainly pass them along to the appropriate members of our staff to ensure a better guest experience in the future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve our property and we hope you'll choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel. Had a wonderful experience. Great room and great food. I work in the foodservice industry and Chef Richard and he staff was very helpful and inviting. He helped answer some questions I had. I would recomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel Memphis. We are delighted to read about your wonderful experience with us. We will certainly pass your comments along to our Chef and staff! Thank you for recommending our hotel to others and we hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Management team was ruin and did not accommodate us while stay at the hotel stating there family dollar down the street. Any time the staff ask something they stated if it not in it location then go look on other floors . By far this was worse hotel I stayed in. In addition, purses was stolen out one of our rooms and management team was acting like it doesn't exist in this hotel like was simply lying so they didn't really do much to solve the problem.

Room Tip: This wouldn't not be place to go if you are looking for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Losing personal items while on vacation can be devastating. Please be assured that all procedures and protocols were properly followed. If you still have any concerns regarding this incident, we strongly urge you to reach out to us directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After reading some reviews of this hotel, a lot of people had me worried that it would be a terrible hotel. We came prepared since we booked through hotwire.com, we had Lysol and plenty of candles. The hotel was actually not that bad, we did smell the odor everyone speaks of but after settling in it wasn't as strong. Upon arrival we met Devin at the desk whom was very very helpful, he put us in a great room upgraded us to the free breakfast because of the stories I had told him and he also was very helpful with places to eat and visit while in Memphis. I believe the young man name was Jordan who was at the breakfast bar Weds morning and he was quite helpful with do's and dont's in Memphis. We was scheduled to leave Friday and wanted to stay longer Hotwire nor the hotel would give us the hotel at the same rate we booked it at so we left there and stayed at a Hampton Inn a little farther east. But overall because of the staff and how we were treated we would definitely stay here again for $60/night.

Room Tip: There is a Ihop within walking distance you can see it from the windows of the hotel, the street has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome you to The Hotel Memphis and exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to mention the specific staff member who made your visit with us so pleasant. While we are happy to know that you extended your visit in Memphis, we regret that we were not able to accommodate you at the same rate. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope you’ll check out our current hotel offers before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently stayed at The Hotel Memphis knowingly that it was the old Marriott East I expected it to live up to those same standards. Boy was I fooled! As soon as we walked in the entrance lobby smelled like Old Dirty Mop water, the elevators had a mind of their own, literally it took forever to get to your desitnation floor going pass my floor up and down before letting me off. The rooms were stale, musty, and smelled like Mold. The floor had food stuck to them and floor which means the carpet needed a really good cleaning or needed to be replaced. The shower tub filled very quickly which meant that showers had to be limited in time. The rooms didnt have a refrigerator or microwave to eat our left over good bags from the restaruants we visited. The mattress were dirty and worn. The entry gate continue to get stuck after it locked at night and we would have to wait in long car lines and some even went thru the out gate because it was taking entirely to long for them to open. Unreal to ask guest to pay $129 per night for such foolery. I will never stay here ever again and I would advise you to do the same. Dont trust those photoshopped pictures of a nice, clean, hotel....very misleading! Hope I saved someone from misery!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! Period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank carlana_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Although we are always grateful for our guests' feedback, we are saddened to know that we were not able to impress you on this occasion. On behalf of our staff, I would like to offer my heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered while with us. Please know that your experience does not reflect the high standards of customer service we've set in place and we are working hard to improve our property. We are grateful for your insightful review, as it lets us know which areas of our hotel require our immediate attention. We hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was very excited to stay here one night out of our 2 week road trip. I felt very safe qith the safety fence and all of the staff we interacred with weee fantastic, especially the very kind woman running breakfast. Everything seemed just a little old and run down. Not bad but the lobby was beautiful and I had high hopes for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Memphis. It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your 2-week road trip. The safety of our guests is always our highest priority so we are happy to know that you felt safe and secure during your overnight stay. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve for our future guests and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the moment I arrived the hotel staff made sure that whatever I wanted and needed they took care of it. Cynthia at the front desk got me checked in for some needed rest. The Housekeeping Supervisor Dorothy Foundren made sure my room was outstanding. Carl in the Grill saw to it that breakfast was a blessing. Latasha Amos, followed with a warm welcome to Memphis. I will be back to the hotel Memphis.
Sam Jenkins.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

It is always our pleasure to go above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words of appreciation for our staff. We will make sure the specific staff members that you've mentioned are recognized for their extra efforts. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
9.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#22 of 139 in Memphis
430 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#26 of 139 in Memphis
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £76 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing