We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and nice staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our room was just fine, functional and a nice size, though no safe which was a bit of a pain.

Front Desk and valets were very friendly and the whole hotel is well-kept.

The TGIF restaurant attached to the hotel has a good atmosphere and serves fantastic pork ribs and cocktails and we had a right laugh with the bartender when sat up at the bar, great! The Gibson guitar factory is just round the corner (please book for a tour in advance though) which we went round, they make the hollow-bodied range of electrics there. If you have any interest in music whatsoever, then the tour is a must...

Sun Studios is just up the road and a short car ride away is Graceland.

Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    577
    414
    191
    112
See reviews for
330
600
83
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Check-in is at 3:00, we arrived at 2:30 and was greeted by the valet, who politely handled the parking of our car.
The front desk was very nice; however, there seems to be some problems ... We had to wait in the lobby for almost 2 hours waiting for our room to be ready. In fact, the lobby was full of patrons waiting on rooms. Very chaotic! Especially when I explained to them how my husband became ill on our trip and needed to rest.
The room had a strong food smell at first, a smell similar to that of bacon -- this further nauseated my husband. The curtains are stained and need to be cleaned. Otherwise the room was in good shape.
One of the front desk managers called our room to check on my husband - this was really sweet! Also the restaurant gave him crackers and Sprite at no charge - which is odd these days.
Everyone we met was very nice and courteous ... I'm thinking that hiring extra help may alleviate the problem with the rooms not being ready.
The room rate was pretty steep for what I feel is a 3 star property. However, the property is conveniently located to FedEx Forum and Beale St. There was a lot of vehicular noise, loud talking/hollering, etc on the streets after midnight which kept me awake.
Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LATraveler825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwyn, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel's overall is over rated. There isn't a complimentary breakfast, no refrigerator in the room (couldn't keep medicine cool), if you want one it is available for a fee. The rooms are not worth the price you will pay, they should be in the range of $75 dollars at the most. The valet is a mandatory fee of 22.00 a night. A standard double room pricing is over rated. However, the entire staff was wonderful, great location to Beale Street, just too expensive for the stay, the rooms are not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A short walk to Beale street, the Autozone baseball stadium across the street, and being right next door to the Peabody Hotel, makes this DoubleTree is perfectly suitable. The valet was quick and the cookies were warm when we checked in. The servers at the TGIFridays, which is in the hotel, were friendly. The beds were supercomfy and the room was clean and a good size. There is no hotel bar, since the Friday's is right there, and they'll deliver up to your room. We were traveling with a small child and the crib they offer worked well. Really no complaints (other than maybe the elevators were a little noisy, but overall not bad) here and I review these things professionally.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and the Autozone park as it gets loud when there are events th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfergirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I love DoubleTree, this was a 3 thumbs down! Very noisy late into the night, i.e. 1am, generally clean but tired. The hotel is in the center of downtown and two blocks from Beal Street. At 7pm we noticed city police at he front door and 4 different police officers in the halls.... thats the 'area' its in. Toilet would not stop running...all night, and plugs at dest to charge computer and cell phone didn't work. Very tired facility. I definately would not stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS34134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We take a great deal of pride in exceeding our customer’s expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. Your input and concerns are appreciated. Being a downtown hotel, there is a lot of police presence to help control the crowds. During Redbird game days(stadium located right across the street from the hotel), the police are parked in the front of the hotel to help control the pedestrian and automobile traffic.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We value your business and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a clean, well located hotel with the nicest staff. Special thanks to Velma Hayslett at the front desk - her extra effort made the visit more memorable. Our room was very quiet and we had a good night's sleep. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Doubletree is wonderfully located close enough to Beale Street that it's an easy walk while being far enough away that the noise isn't a bother when you get back to your room. That being said, the acoustics of the hotel's cavernous atrium mean that you can hear almost everything that's going on in the lobby from some (but not all) rooms, which can be particularly annoying during the hours that the piano is in use (earplugs are provided in some rooms, which I'm guessing means the hotel is aware of this).

The rooms themselves are aging but well furnished, with the bed being one of the most comfortable that I've slept on in a hotel. Unfortunately the air conditioning unit in my room was incredibly loud, luckily the weather was cool enough that it wasn't necessary to use it at night but it could be a deal-breaker in summer.

Finally, the quality of the staff at the Doubletree deserve a special mention. From the moment we checked in the staff were uniformly friendly, obliging and willing to go out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Overall, I'd happily stay at the Doubletree again, but if you're a light sleeper or easily bothered by noisy surroundings it may be worth giving it a miss.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better to get away from the noise of the lobby, and some corner rooms seemed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing